Fiction logo

Lost and Found

To those who find the courage to walk away from what’s not working in their life so they can really start to live.

By Heather Zieffle Published about a year ago 1 min read
3

The trees sound like they're whispering. It’s dark, and the forest is dense where I’m standing. I’m lost, but that’s okay, that’s what I wanted. Closing my eyes, I breathe.

There’s no noise except for the insects, and I revel in the quiet darkness. Hefting my pack, I pick a direction and walk, the moon's glow lighting the way.

I’ll survive out here, away from the rest of humanity, or die trying. I’d rather die from a wild animal than a stray bullet from my neighbor.

I might be lost, but I’m closer to being found than ever.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Heather Zieffle

I've been writing for a few years, and I'm grateful to have found my passion! I've self-published several sci-fi romance novels on Amazon, but want to branch out into fantasy soon. Any feedback is welcome!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Wow this was so impactful! Truthfully a story to keep in mind whenever trying to make a difficult change in life ❤️ Well done❤️

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    There is something to be said about the effects that sequestering oneself in nature for a time has on the human body and mind. It grounds us and brings us back to our roots. Sometimes we need that as a reminder, or as a compass to point us in the direction forward. At least that's what this makes me think of... Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.