Fiction logo

Lords of the Wings

Angels among us

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
5
Lords of the Wings
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

Butterflies come in different colors but The Lord of all butterflies are the Red Ones. Birds comes in different colors but the massagers are the Cardinals.

In this forest Red , the king of the butterfly rule, nothing get pass him but Blue. Blue is a serene butterfly that just never stay in one spot to long. She never hang out with anyone. When anyone get to closed, she fly away too fast.

Blue hide in a cave and keep to herself. Red tried to make it a Royal decree that Blue must spend an hour in Royal Butterfly tower and sing to King Red everyday. Blue spend only 15 minutes singing . Blue singing put everyone to sleep. No one knew that Blue only sing for 15 minutes.

Blue was curse by Giant Beetle because she was at the wrong spot at the wrong time. Blue was enjoying a beautiful flower, taking her time admire it's beauty.” Had enough ? Don’t stare at it to long it might disappear! Cause you were in my way I curse you,when you sing. Everyone will fall asleep when you sing.”

“What did I do to deserve such curse?” She asked

“Nothing, you were just in my way. I don’t like you for no reason. I just like to used my power. Now, get out of my sight or I will put another curse on you.” He told her.

That’s how blue live in the cave. Blue love to sing. She sing wherever she was at. She song her parents to death. The only one she cannot put to sleep with her singing was Cardinal the bird. Cardinal is Blue best friend. Blue never flies away from Cardinal. They hang out for long period of time together.

Red was jealous of Blue spending so much time with Cardinal. He command Cardinal to never enter the Butterfly kingdom again and Blue must sing to him everyday. Blue became very sad and depressed.

****

I love my imperfections over my standard of beauty. My strength and knowledge comes from my imperfections. Men do unspeakable things to own standard of beauty. My standard of beauty just give pain. I love the term beauty to ashes. Once you free yourself , you start to fly and be your true self again. We give ourselves the power to judge but our standard of judgement is sometimes wrong. We have to stop imprisoning the innocents. Always be kind to everyone. Don’t let the ruthless and cruel people hurting the innocent to fulfill their selfish needs. Being poor , you know who your true friends are. I love reading cause it take me places and situations, I would never experience for myself. Everyone describe /interpret Red and Blue differently. Cardinal for me is hope and genuine friendship.

The Giant Beetle is everything that represents our road blocks in being our authentic self. We either keep allowing our codependency of society from letting us fly free or stay stuck in our prison.

Who is really the Lord of the Wings?

****

Cardinal return to visit blue in secrecy. “ I don’t not have much time but I found a solution to set yourself free from the curse. You must fly away from this kingdom and start a new life. Live among others who does not get affected by your curse.”

“That sound so simple.” Blue answer with disbelief.

“ How will you know if you don’t try ?” he asked .

“ I can’t just leave everyone I care about?” She was thinking to herself.

“This is your life, you are the one holding yourself back not the curse.You must not keep living in fear or under Red’s control.” he answered.

“Red will punished those, I care about if I leave.” Blue start to cry but she know deep in her heart, she must do what Cardinal adviced her to do.

“ They must have their on courage to not be controlled by Red. You have to think of yourself. If they see you can set yourself free and so can they.” he told her.

“You won’t be alone when you fly away. I will be waiting for you on the other side of the river.”Cardinal left with these parting words.

“ I must do this for myself. “ Blue flew across the river at first light without saying goodbye . She knew her family and friends will talk her into staying.

Cardinal kept his promise and waited for Blue across the river. He introduced blue to his new friends. Blue saw new flowers,she never seen or smell before. Blue felt so free in this new kingdom.

I end this story with a song video :

Adventure
5

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed 2 years ago

    What a great stories. Love this piece.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    beautiful

  • Love this , and I love butterflies

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely and inspiring!!!💖💕

  • Such a beautiful and inspirational story! And thank you for the song, I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.