Fiction logo

Looking for Love

A Story Every Day in 2024 June 14th 166/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 10 days ago 2 min read
Looking for Love
Photo by Rob Hampson on Unsplash

"So, let me get this straight. You've been in a relationship for weeks online?"

Lisa felt uncomfortable. Susanne always asked direct questions, like darts.

"I don't need to be next to him to know that he's a good person," Lisa countered.

Susanne worried for her friend. She wondered if need had a scent and men were sensitive to it, either running a mile with one whiff or, if predatory, sensing the potential for emotional exploitation. For Lisa was one of those women who had to have a man and didn't feel like she was anything unless there was one in her life. Susanne found this really sad.

"Tell me about him," Susanne said and watched as Lisa's eyes lit up.

"He's a vet. He's always sending pictures of animals he's saved." Lisa's eyes widened excitedly as she talked. "He's based in Manchester and he lives in a flat in the centre. He loves walking, going to concerts and travel. He's funny too!"

"He sounds nice," Susanne said, and added, "So where do you see it going?"

Lisa looked at her friend and burst into tears. Susanne was completely surprised by the reaction and reached for her friend.

"Hey! Hey! What's this?"

"I'm never going to find anyone!" Lisa sobbed.

"You will, you will," Susanne soothed. "Of course, you will. I mean, this vet. He's interested, right?"

Lisa sniffed. "He seems to be but he lives bloody miles away!"

Susanne didn't know what to say.

Lisa gulped and mopped her eyes. "Do you know that this is the most stable relationship that I've ever had? How mad is that? And I've never even met him in person!"

Susanne stayed quiet.

"I know it's not right but I don't want to let him go."

Lisa continued, sniffling. "I'm scared to. In case there's nothing else!" She visibly shrank, her shoulders slumped, a weight lifted but its imprint still felt.

Then, looking directly at Susanne, she asked, anger and frustration in her voice:

"What sort of world do we live in if I'm looking for love through an app?"

Susanne did not have an answer for that. So instead, she held Lisa and gave her the warmth of friendship.

***

366 words

"I want love."

"There's an app for that."

There seems to be an app for everything. Perhaps we should all be reaching for "Appiness"?

The modern world sometimes makes me feel like I no longer belong here.

200 to go! This last 66 have felt like an absolute age!

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

166/366

PsychologicalMicrofictionLove

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • L.C. Schäfer3 days ago

    Oh bless her, it's so easy to lie online to be anyone at all 😞

  • D. J. Reddall9 days ago

    A sensitive and compassionate representation of contemporary dating culture, which makes me glad to be a monk.

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    Ah the dating apps, what a minefield! Great dialogue in this, Rachel! Love the end note lingering on friendship!

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Loved this work, Rachel. This line was a knee slapper: "She wondered if need had a scent and men were sensitive to it". I know people on both sides of that headache, and it's difficult to see it. You've written an insightful piece with compelling characters, reminding me how delighted I am to never have had to deal with modern day dating. Hats off to all who do.

  • John Cox9 days ago

    You make your characters come to life. In all their flaws and hopes and neediness. Quite extraordinary, really.

  • Oh no, we don't have an app for everything... Even if many seem to believe we do.

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    Ach, been there, done that. Not through an app...and more will be revealed in my response to Hannah's challenge. But...it's a sad story and sad situation. Really felt like I was eavesdropping on a real conversation. Another well-written viginette. I didn't even Google to check that I spelled that right...until I click comment...I won't check. Anyway, chum, nice work on this!

  • I was able to relate so hard with Susanne because I too ask direct questions, like darts. Lol. And just like Susanne, I was so shocked when Lisa burst into tears. I just hope this vet is a good guy, for Lisa's sake. Also, yes, there seems to be an app for everything. There's even an app to remind a person to drink water and to pee. I was speechless 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.