Fiction logo

Long Distance Calling ...

... please accept

By Joe LucaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Pixabay - by Greyerbaby

I awoke to the guitar riffs of Stairway to Heaven on my phone.

“Hello?”

“Hi Billy, it’s me.”

“Mom?”

“How’ve you been, sweetheart?”

“Who is this,” I shouted, “this isn’t funny.”

“It’s me baby.”

“No. No, it can’t be, you’re …”

“I know, I’m sorry.”

“But how, Mom?”

“A long story baby, and I’m out of time. You only get the one call here.”

“What?”

“I wanted it to be to you.”

“I didn’t mean to …”

“It’s okay sugar. I love you, remember, ya hear. Bye.”

“Billy, who’s that?

“Go back to sleep, hon, I’ll explain in the morning.”

Love
1

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Katherine D. Graham10 months ago

    Delightful. Transports me to another time. thanks

  • Suzanne 12 months ago

    Nice one, Joe. Really made me smile. Nice to see you here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.