Fiction logo

Living Dead

The Deal

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Living Dead
Photo by Angus Gray on Unsplash

It started out like any deal. He was lost. Alone. Dying. That’s always how it happens. Humans are so fragile. And so desperate. They fear death so much that they will give up anything to stay alive.

But they have no clue how much worse life can be. They fear death, yet death is the least of their worries. At least death is the end of suffering. In life, you continue to feel. Continue to suffer. Continue to come closer and closer till the end, only to run away all over again. A tragic cycle, yet it’s all they desire. To live forever.

Why do they do that? It’s always been puzzling to me. Why keep running from death, when no matter what you do, you will always come back to it? Sooner or later, you will give in. Even those who had gained immortality throughout the centuries would always give it up in the end.

With life must always come death. It’s the natural way. Somehow, the human mind seems to have forgotten that and has developed this nonsensical fear of it. But why? Where did it start? Where does it end? What is the final string that makes a human realize just how little life is worth living forever?

No matter.

What matters is the boy. His name was Nicholas Darren. Super goody-goody kid with great grades, a sexy girlfriend, rich parents, was popular in school, and had a very bright future ahead. I guess when you look at it that way, he had a lot to live for. Dying that day would have put a real damper on that.

Not that I had any complaints. It just made my life an awful lot more pleasant.

Or rather, it should have.

But when does anything ever go our way? Even a demon’s life is full of suffering. Life is life, no matter what you are, no matter where you’re from. And trust me, life sucks.

Sometimes, even a demon wishes they were dead.

I remember it was snowing, and the night was dark and cold. A perfect night to find death. Thus, why I was there, looking for a quick, easy deal to make.

The forest called Quellwood was one of my regular haunting places. You’d be surprised how many stupid people wondered in there and got themselves killed. That’s where I was when I heard him.

I found the horde of vicious mutts by the frozen pond as the figure cried for help. I walked over, making the beasts stop their growling and look at me. They could smell my power and were tamed by my presence, as all dogs are. You’d be surprised how much dogs know of evil beings like me.

I looked out over the icy pond covered in a layer of snow. I could see the cracked ice when he’d fallen in and was desperately struggling to pull himself out, calling for help into the dark night sky. Of course, no one would hear him. Even if they did, none would be foolish enough to come to rescue him. The mutts weren’t the only danger to wandering those woods.

I only stood and watched, listening to his frightened cries. Too bad for him that he ran into those beasts that fateful night, and in trying to escape, he only sealed his fate on the thin ice. This was why people should never wander around at night alone. That was when the monsters would pounce, looking for an easy meal. Very unlucky kid.

Finally, his cries were subdued as he slipped under the water’s surface. In no time at all, the world was quiet and still once again. In a matter of moments, Nikky Darren would cease to exist.

These were always some of my favorites. Less messy than if the beasts had gotten him.

I walked patiently out onto the ice, not a print left behind me. I strolled over to the broken ice, where the water was already still. My, he didn’t last long, did he? Already giving into death. I suppose the cold was too much for him.

I waited there at the edge of the hole, waiting. I could still hear his heartbeat. His body would hold out as long as it could, even if I could tell his mind had already let go of hope.

Such a lonely, hopeless death. How delightful. His soul would be perfect.

The beats of his feeble human heart continued to beat slower as I waited. I could imagine how he suffered. That icy grip on his powerless form, the suffocation of water in his lungs, the blaring instinct to survive that could no longer save him.

Death truly was a beautiful thing. The suffering before the final release. The moment when pain reaches its peak and begins its descent into sweet freedom.

But not this time. Not for little Nikky.

Death would just have to wait for this one.

This one was mine.

Finally, I felt the ties of his life snap as he heart finally came to a complete stop. It was time. How very exciting.

I held out my hand over the still water and waited. After a moment passed, a faded form rose up. The transparent form was none other than Nicholas Darren’s spirit. I had no use for the physical body still floating under the ice. I only grinned as the white figure floated before me.

It was time for proper introductions.

“Hello, Nickolas Darren.”

The form’s eyes opened, only revealing the glowing spheres in their sockets. He seemed confused as he watched me, “Who are you? Where am I? What happened?” This was usually how the younger souls responded.

I was patient as I explained, “Afraid to break it to you, but it would seem you’ve finally ‘bit the dust’ as your generation calls it.”

He only blinked at me. Emotion was rather limited in that form, thankfully. I couldn’t stand the spirits who wept and begged the whole time. Seemed Nikky had some acceptance to his death.

Making him that much more… valuable.

I gave as friendly a smile as I could muster, “You needn’t worry, however. You won’t be dead for much longer. I can see to that. After all, I’m sure you’d much prefer to keep the life you have, wouldn’t you?”

I watched his expression shift. Perhaps pain… a little heartache… certainly negative emotions as the idea of leaving his old life behind sank in. He really was a perfect candidate for a deal.

“How about a deal?”

“A deal?”

I grinned, trying not to show how deviously pleased I was with this arrangement, “But of course. After all, I can’t just hand you back your life just like that, can I? No, no, my boy, everything comes at a price.”

“What price would that be?” Smart boy.

“In your case, I only need one thing. I want your obedience. If I allow you to return to the world of the living, I need you to offer me your… services.”

Clearly such a request was vague enough to make him suspicious, yet there was a clear desire to simply say yes. Oh, he was going to make for a wonderful addition to my little collection.

“What kind of services?”

“Nothing too demanding. There are simply things humans can do that someone like me can’t. I need a strong young man like you to do those things for me. Should you do that, I will have no trouble restoring your lost life." He was hesitating.

I would have to play a little more to his desires, "Surely you're not ready to say goodbye to your poor parents, or perhaps to that beautiful young lady who will wake up tomorrow getting the news that she'll never see you again. Isn't it worth it to stay with them? What's a few small errands in return for the rest of your life? Just say yes and it's all yours again. It’s that easy.”

The moment of truth. Would he take the bait, or would he choose death?

They never choose death.

“Ok.”

“Deal.”

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.