Fiction logo

Lighten Up

Stop being so serious!

By Mark GagnonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
7

Michelangelo experienced an epiphany while lying on his back, staring at a blank section of the Sistine Chapel. This place is possitively humorless. All day long, I’m subjected to the droning of Gregorian chants. Nobody ever laughs or even smiles. The priests, monks, and nuns dress in lackluster clothes that purposely hide any suggestion of their human form. It must be the most depressing place on the planet.

The people who populate this place are a definite reflection of their surroundings. Most of them don’t realize that I’m lying on this scaffolding, twenty feet in the air when they come slogging in. The acoustics in the chapel are such that I overhear most of what’s said below me, and quite frankly, it’s very dull. Complaints about the food, about a fellow priest, or a new proclamation that’s been handed down. A common phrase is, “I’m sure that’s not the way God would want it done.” They know what God wants, how?

Well, I’m able to put some color in their lives, and that’s what I’m going to do. This Sistine Chapel ceiling will pop with color. No more drab décor in here. I’ll show scenes from Judgment Day and the Creation in vivid, living colors. In the center of it all, I’ll depict God extending his arm towards Adam, finger extended. Adam will reach for it. Hidden in the background art will be God’s words to Adam, “Pull my finger and see what happens.”

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Hahah!!! How did this not get TS??? I needed a good laugh and that ending was it!!! 🤣

  • JBaz6 months ago

    This has to get Top Story

  • JBaz6 months ago

    lol....oh you got me with this. Damn if I didn't zoom in, hoping to see those words.

  • Omgggggg hahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I laughed soooo hard when I read pull my finger and see what happens!!! You're brilliant!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    😅... Finally!!! Thanks for giving us the backstory to such an important work of art.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.