Fiction logo

Life Beyond

Intro

By Skyler SullivanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://pngtree.com/freebackground/pure-original-beautiful-hand-painted-watercolor-meteor-night-sky-background_1140468.html

My world has come to an end. Or so I thought it would. Thirty humans, trapped in an underground safe house until it was safe enough for everyone to emerge into the great unknown. That great unknown being the new world we have yet to meet.

   My name is Novalea Tirany Scott. You can call me Nova. My parents were scientists. They loved anything and everything about the studies of the universe. They were the ones that discovered a huge meteor would collide with Earth. Sending waves of radiation in vast amounts all around the planet. Sending a select amount into hideaways.

   Those that were lucky enough to secure a spot in these hideaways all have distinct skills that will help mankind thrive after this devastation. I have followed in my parents footsteps. Learning everything I know from them.

   Unfortunately, my parents won't be here to witness life after this post-apocalyptic devastation. They gave their lives to the love of their work. Sacrificing themselves to study the impact of the meteor. All they left me with was their knowledge and studies, and a small heart locket with their pictures and a voice recording from them.

   Thankfully I get to carry on their life's work and transfer it on to the future. In the dwelling confinement I am located in, there are various other candidates all with different skills. We have a farmer, writer, painter, architect, teacher, chef, and the list goes on. We are all unique in our own special way. Our dwelling confinement was built to withstand the meteors impact. We have been provided with enough air capacity, food, and water. Including various activities to help us get through.

I'll be honest, going into this, I was overwhelmed and stressed at the thought that we wouldn't withstand the impact of the meteor. Now looking back, I know I had nothing to worry about. We have everything we need provided for us. Knowing not all of mankind is able to secure their own spot is honestly a devastation in itself. How would it feel to know your world was about to come to an end? knowing there is nothing you can do to save your own life? Are these thoughts I should be having?

My parents always told me to never dwell on my past. My future would always be bright and meaningful. They were always thinking so positively. I just wish I could be the same. With them gone, it's hard to have a positive outlook. I know going forward, I should think like them. Thinking otherwise, I don't think they would like the person I have become.

Luckily, I was able to secure a spot in the same dwelling as my best friends. They are able to help me get through my hardship. They understand why my parents did what they did to help secure everyone's future.

The future of mankind has changed. Just like the impact that changed the lives of prehistoric dinosaurs. The course has been changed for all, but would this be a change that we can surpass, manage, and live through? What if there isn't enough oxygen after we get out of this? How will we live? What will jobs be like? These are the kinds of questions that fill my mind each and every day. My parents had answers for everything. Would they have the answers to these questions?

For the past year, this is how I've been living. All I can think about now is, what will life be like beyond this cell. Can we live after the devastation? What will my future hold?

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.