Fiction logo

Libby's Laugh

In memory of my best friend who always made me laugh.

By Mary SkinnerPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5

Libby loved to laugh.

She loved to chuckle. She loved to giggle.

She even loved an occasional snicker.

But most of all she loved those big, nose scrunching, unexpected belly laughs.

Almost anything could trigger one of those loud, shrieky laughs.

A friend’s funny story.

Her dad’s silly faces.

A goofy joke from her best friend, Kev.

Sometimes she would laugh so hard her face would turn bright red and a tiny little toot would escape!

Of course, all that did was make her laugh even more.

Libby didn’t always laugh though. Things couldn’t be funny ALL the time.

Sometimes she was quiet.

Sometimes she was angry.

Sometimes she was sad or even scared.

Having nothing to laugh at wasn’t easy for Libby. There were times when all she wanted to do was laugh but it felt like there just weren’t any laughs left.

She knew a secret though.

She knew that it was impossible to run out of laughs!

She knew that even when they seemed far away, those laughs would still show up!

It may be just a little giggle at first but, if she just waited a little bit longer…

BOOM!

Suddenly she would be smiling bigger, her nose would scrunch and she wouldn’t be able to hold it in anymore!

She’d find a belly laugh.

Libby’s favorite thing.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Mary Skinner

Co-High Chief Creative Writer and Editor of the Magic Man fiction writers club of Texas.

Inspired by my partner Sam Vela's works also posted on this site I am excited to be sharing my stories, ideas, and dreams.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Mary - So glad that I've just discovered your 'Original' work. This caught my eye since I have (2) Corgis 'Lola & Libby' *As I've read them I've subscribed to you with pleasure in anticipation of what you may present to us next. I've stood back a little since the "Creative" new ways to write writer's among us with filler (4) letter words and (4) line poems have made simple StoryTellers such as myself a dinosaur. I'm just a retired, highly scrutinized, legal writer morphed into a self described 'Goof-Writer' nothing more. I don't count stats-contests-rewards; this was just fun, at first, in retirement for me. May I introduce myself: See current photo under my story 'Wheelchair Etiquette' that I was asked to insert there since it might help to identify me since - of all stories - that one was plagiarized among a few of my others. Please check your stories - especially your TOP to see if it's been reworked simply with a different title: It's an awful feeling when this is done to us. Thank you Mary, I only wish you and Sam the best. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Sam Vela10 months ago

    💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.