Fiction logo

Levers

Tense Microfiction Magic Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Levers
Photo by Florian Olivo on Unsplash

Mike awakes strapped to a chair with access to two levers. As his eyes widen and he familiarises himself with the surroundings, two airtight chambers are in front of him. One has the love of his life inside it, while the other has a classroom of children.

The levers control the oxygen in each chamber. One container will lose oxygen, depending on the lever he chooses. If he doesn't choose, both chambers will lose oxygen.

"The decision is yours, reader. What would you like me to do?"

He turns to you with dread and an infrared light on his forehead.

ExcerptShort StoryMysteryMicrofictionLoveHorrorfamily

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Test12 months ago

    Oh damn, I feel like I’m in a scene from Saw! Luckily I hate the love of my life and classrooms of children equally, so my decision would be easy. I kid! I kid! 😂

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I put Dharsheena in as the love of your life. Now do what she said. Ha ha ha ha ah ha ha ha aha hahahahahahahahahahah. I love you Dhar. It was nice to know you.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Yikes! I’m so glad this is a hypothetical situation 😅

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Tough choice! Nicely done though!

  • I feel as though I long ago chose the children, & have been grieving alone ever since.

  • I want all of them to die 😈

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh, an interactive story! Very nice, but I can't pick!

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    Ah yes. The old who dies first. I thought one lever would be for Mike's oxygen at first. But I guess living with his decision would be worse than dying. Nice use of the name Mike! 😘

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    How horrible! But still delightful to read.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Nope, nuh uh...you can't make me choose. I didn't sign up for this...hahaha!! You'll be docked one pastry. But honestly, this was quite twisted and clever. Bravo :)

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.