Fiction logo

Let The Adventure Begin

Do Not Turn Back

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Let The Adventure Begin
Photo by Alexandra Tran on Unsplash

Turn Back Time

Looking back over the last ten years of my life, I can’t believe how I got here.

“Hi, I am Melody.”

The journey has been a long one, yet interesting. Ten years ago I ran my own yoga, spa company. I was fit and most of all I was the most determined business woman you would have ever met.

I have been living most of my life in a very tropical part of the world. The rainforests, where I jog daily and the trails are phenomenal. From the wildlife to tropical plants, beauty at its best.

I married at the age of 27. Carlos is a doctor here on the island, he is such an amazing one at that. We still have hopes of having a baby one day, but for now we have each other.

By David Clode on Unsplash

You Can Start Over At Any Time Or Age - Make It Better

My business was running really well, I could leave and rely on my coworkers.

I talked it over with Carlos and we finally descided to go down the rapids. I had been looking online for quite some time. Not far from where we lived was a great touring company that had, “Ride The Falls - Camp A Night-Foods On Us”.

It was a green light, and we were booked and ready to go this weekend.

By Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Our Luggage or should I say our backpacks were packed.

It was exciting when we arrived, including us there were eight couples. Robert , the instructor started welcoming us and sharing the details of the trip.

What to do and of course what not to do.

The rapids were rougher than we expected, also it didn’t help with the wind. We just kept paddling and singing,”row,row,row your boat gently down the rapids”, it was amazing, quite the rush.

Before the sun went down we made it to our camping grounds.

Tent was set up, steaks were on the grill.

Carlos and I had a wonderful time, the meal was amazing, the late campfire was fun. We met people from all around the globe.

By Elijah Boisvert on Unsplash

The Sun Came Up Early

After a fantastic breakfast, all packed up, we were ready to go and ride bigger rapids home.

Starting with our stretches and our good mornings. We were ready.

Starting out was a nice smooth ride. The sun was shining, Carlos and I were so happy. Life couldn’t get any better ,until.

Rapids started to pick up, our boat was tossing around, we all paddled hard, and then.............

By Daniel Klein on Unsplash

“Hi,I am Dr. Carlos “

It’s the worst day of my life, my wife Melody was thrown out of the boat.

For quite some time we worked hard trying to find her.

The rapids got so high on her side and she flew.

When we got her to shore she had no heart beat. I did CPR, compressions over and over, finally the helicopter came and air lifted her. I wasn’t able to go with her, but as fast as I got to shore, the boating company drove me to the islands hospital.

I have never waited on this side of the hospital,I was so scared and the tears would not stop.

I couldn’t loose my Melody, my beauty, my life.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Surgery”

Melody was taken immediately to the operating room. Apparently she had hit her head hard and had a bleed. The doctors had to get in and stop it. Her heartbeat was slow but this was all they could do to save her.

I quickly called her family to let them know and my mom.

I watched every minute on that clock tick, I ate more from the vending machine than I had ever eaten. My patience were running thin. I had so wished they would have allowed me to do the operation or view in on her. Sadly the hospital does not allow it.

Finally, “The Doctor”

Our family had arrived, right at the right time. The doctor came out and told us that Melody’s surgery had went really well, her heart rate had come back up, but as far as recovery would go. One day at a time.

Walking in to see my beautiful wife was horrifying,so many plugs and the machines going off. I was truly scared.

The journey ahead of us was a hard and frustrating one. Melody had to almost start her ability to walk and talk all over again. The one thing I love and admire about her (I always will), was her determination.

Small baby steps from trying to pull herself up in the bed, feeding herself. It was so slow, frustrating but my girl, my beauty did it.

Melody after two years in the rehab department of the hospital was moved to our home. Our house had been set up with a seat in the tub, ramps and a lifter for her wheel cheer. Often she would sit meditating to her music.

Her mom and sister stayed with her when I was at the hospital. We even hired therapists to keep working with her.

By Sofia Tang on Unsplash

Ten Years - Miracles Can Happen

Melody had shocked the doctors, our family and most of all me.

As the bright green lights (fireworks) lit up the sky, Melody was ready to go back to living her life. Her memory was right on que, her health was perfect. Most of all she was happy.

We were happy.

Melody wanted you to know “ life may bring you hardship, turn it around and bring as much joy as you can everyday”.

That’s my wonderful wife.

Don’t allow anything to get in the way of your life, after all it’s the greatest blessing of all.♥️

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.