Fiction logo

Last Bloom in May

I could hear their echoes as if songs in my heart

By C. H. RichardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
19
Last Bloom in May
Photo by Marina Yalanska on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. As soon as dawn would break, they would blend into horizon as a new day awakened.

I know because I was there. I watched and waited for the rain of April to retreat so that the season when our village becomes whole again could begin. As soon as the first bloom of the lilac trees on the Pax Family Farm appeared we would all smile with anticipation. Our loved ones would appear. The void of all the months apart would be filled.

Yes, I’ve caught glimpses of my daughters Savannah and Joline when they stopped to buy fresh fruit or looked at a garden. I could hear my grandson, Kyle, and my son in-law Phil as they laughed playing in the ocean waves or smell the scent when my sister Rita baked her famous zucchini bread, but they have moved on from this life. Yet during May, that is when we see them by way of the lilac buds. Once the perfumed scent of the colorful flower reaches the atmosphere, the purple clouds remain on the horizon letting their light shine. We connect as no other time since our loved one's flames relocated.

“It is almost time!” I yell for my husband Mel, “I do not want to be late this year! Bring the ambrosia I made, some cookies, yes fruit too!” I remind him as I gather up my tomato soup that Savannah loves. I know she will have coffee for us.

“I hope we can get the bench by the bridge. That jackass, George better not sit his butt there the whole time like he did last year!" Mel yelled back as he gathered up my daughter’s pup Finn who has been staying with us.

“Do not start about the bench again! George wants to see his family too. If we get there early enough, you’ll have plenty of time to watch the river and talk about the Red Sox with Kyle and Phil.” I also packed up some of the pictures from days long ago so we could reminisce. “We have to pick up my parents and my sister, Joan too,” I shouted as I helped Mel load Finn into the station wagon.

When we finally turned the corner to the Pax Family Farm the cars were already starting to fill up any of the available spaces. There was music and so many smells. Everything from baked goods to an array of floral scents. We did get over to the bench where Mel could sit. My daughters were already waiting, and Rita held out her arms around them. We danced, we sang and played with Finn. Kyle, Phil talked sports as Mel listened. My sisters caught up on the latest town affairs. My mom gave Savannah some guidance about when to plant her sunflowers.

We breathed in the lilacs that glowed from the radiant amethyst light. The days transcended around us as the buds continued to bloom. More people from the village joined and more food was passed around. We slept under the stars, and I watched as Savannah held Finn close. I held Mel’s hand as we had made it another year.

We knew it was only temporary yet when the first bud on the lilac bush became dry and we saw the last of the bloom, it still caused the same sharp shooting pain as before. They would leave again. We tried not to look as the blooms continued to fade and the purple hues along with flowery aroma slipped away. We hugged as we departed and held Finn close. I could hear their echoes as if songs in my heart. I turned to Mel as he patted Finn who barked a goodbye and a wave with his paw.

Phil packed up the campsite at the Gateway Campground which was on the old Pax Family Farm. Rita helped Kyle to the car. Savannah and Joline wiped tears from their eyes as they left the camp holding the last of bunch of lilacs to bring home. Savannah finally spoke.

“Every year when we come out here it is like I can feel their presence, like they never passed. It is like we aren’t left behind. I swear I heard Finn’s bark too.” Joline nodded in agreement as they both smiled through tears. They joined arms and planned the trip for next year as they walked out to the car.

This story is dedicated to all who have lost some one that they are still longing to see for one last lunch or camping trip or maybe to pick lilacs. For me that is especially my own mom and dad, Adrienne and Mal who I know will take care of my pup, Freedom, who was recently diagnosed with cancer and is living his best last days. My comforting thought is that my parents, grandparents, in-laws, aunts and uncles, nephew, cousins and friends who have all moved on to the other side of life will be there to watch over him.

family
19

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    What a beautiful and heartwarming story! You've captured the essence of longing and love that we feel for those who have passed on. The way you describe the lilac blooms as a connection to our loved ones is particularly poignant.💗💗💗

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh this was so heartfelt and touching. What a lovely story :) I'm so sorry to hear about your sweet pup. Beautiful work.

  • A lovely story , and the last one I will read before bed

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    What a touching story and so beautifully written. <3

  • The story speaks to the bitter sweetness of life, as it unfolds with the cycle of birth, death, and the lasting impact of memory. The language is rich, conjuring up vivid images of the natural world and the emotions of the characters within it. The lilac buds serve as a powerful metaphor for the return of loved ones who have left this world, a reminder of the significance of keeping those who have passed close in our hearts. Loved it

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartfelt, and relatable story. Comforting to think we have help from the other side, from those we loved in this life.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This piece captured the longing we feel for those we have lost. So beautifully written. I am so sorry to hear about Freedom’s diagnosis. Hugs!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Very well written. Heartfelt and relatable. And you did a great proofreading sorry for your loss but love the sentiment you turned it into

  • I'm so sorry for Freedom but I'm so glad that there are so many loving people on the other side for him. Sending him hugs and love 🥺❤️

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wow. Such a beautiful and heartaching piece and with a clever twist too! I thought it was the other way around but no. Well seeded and subtly done 🤗

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love your heartfelt & heartwarming story that incorporating one of my favorite flowers. Hitting all the senses, bravo!!!💖💖💕

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Oh, my heart. What a lovely piece. I will look at lilacs differently now

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Lovely piece, touching, so poignantly written. Both magical and all too real for all who miss loved ones.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    This is a beautifully composed story that gins images of my own family. You touch all the senses and most of all the heart. 🥰

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is so touching - and I love lilacs, too - I could smell them reading this. ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. I welled up a little at the end. Well done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Very beautifully told and heartfelt, Cindy! 🥹❤️ I could smell the lilacs and beautiful flowers of spring. Lovely job. ❤️

  • Beth Sarahabout a year ago

    A beautiful and well-executed take on the task - the descriptions of the flowers were excellent 👏💕

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was so beautiful and heartfelt….it definitely pulled at my own heartstrings!! And I’m so sorry about Freedom ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.