Fiction logo

Last Arrest

story

By Alex TrufiaPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Last Arrest
Photo by niu niu on Unsplash

The Police Chief found it difficult to understand the Lady Inspector's adamant stand. He tried to impress upon her that discretion is the better part of valour. Though Brinda did not appear amenable to reason, Mr. Goswami tried his best to convince her against going alone on the mission.

"Miss Brinda, today is your last day - tomorrow you're leaving the job, getting married, and starting a new, beautiful life. Must you take such unnecessary risk at this juncture? He's a dangerous criminal, probably armed. If anything happens it'd be too bad for all of us."

Brinda, brave and confident, insisted that she would go alone and capture the man, dead or alive.

"Why, Miss Brinda, why? If you want to arrest him, it's all right by me - you're one of our best officers - but why not take a full force? Why this craze to do it alone?"

Brinda debated for a moment, and then decided to be frank. She told him the truth.

"This criminal - Subendu - is the twin brother of my prospective husband, Dibyendu. I've heard a lot about him, even things that are not in police records. Dibyendu rightly dislikes this villain and has a score to settle against him. He burgled into his house, tried to kill him; he killed my sister; he swindled Dibyendu of his due share of their paternal property - and there are many other acts of notoriety. I wish to capture him, dead or alive, for a personal satisfaction that I've avenged for my husband's sufferings at his hands. It would be the best wedding gift to Dibyendu before I resign from the police force."

More arguments followed; at last Mr. Goswami gave up further attempts to dissuade her from her set determination.

"However, do not hesitate to shoot him dead, if necessary," warned Mr. Goswami. "I'll be equally satisfied with his body."

Brinda successfully arrested Subendu - this was her last arrest. From tomorrow, it would be a different life, with her beloved Dibyendu. No more in the world of crime-only love and happiness, and thereafter, joys of motherhood.

Brinda and Subendu were alone, and as they prepared to mount on the jeep someone said, "Congrats!" She looked back and saw Dibyendu on his moped.

"You shouldn't be here," reproved Brinda. "I'm here on duty. But since you've come here anyway - however illegal - you'll follow us at quite a distance, so that no one may see us together."

As they headed towards the police station, Brinda said to her captive, "Subendu, my work is finished when I put you in the lock up. But will you please answer my questions, just to satisfy my personal curiosity?"

Subendu said, "My brother, your friend and future husband, will be able to tell you all wish to know. Why to me; even if I say it won't be convincing - whereas you'll fully believe him.

"Because there are areas about which he's silent or vague. I've tried many times, but he's not freely forthcoming in regard to certain matters."

After much persuasion, Subendu finally agreed to come clean, promising that what he said was the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

From our childhood (said Subendu) he always got the better of me, although I was stronger and more intelligent and surpassed him in both studies and sports. At first I couldn't believe that he nursed any serious grudge against or jealousy against me. He would stealthily remove my homework copies, so that I would be punished by the teacher. He would put stolen money in my pocket and then complain to Mother, who used to beat me. But I thought of these pranks as practical jokes. Little did I realize that a more sinister motive existed.

My parents were almost illiterate. When I went abroad on scholarship for higher studies, he made a very cruel and cunning plan. Somehow by deceit he got my parents to sign all the property to his name, though my parents were under the impression that they were transferring it to my name. Thus although I was penniless - and that's why I couldn't complete my studies - all our relatives and neighbours knew me to be wealthy and Dibyendu to bee a dependent on me. I was blamed for leaving my studies halfway. I was also blamed for being stingy and not giving my brother sufficient money for further studies - although the truth was that he'd been actually expelled from college. But the worst was yet to come.

You'll remember that we all, including your sister Lakshmi, planned to go on a picnic, which proved to be the last day of her life. You fell ill, and we three went. Dibyendu had asked me to buy and bring all the eatables. At the lonely spot, Lakshmi died of poisoning, and I was suspected. I myself couldn't make head or tail of the episode at the time. Later I learnt that he had smeared the plate with prussic acid; people would always suspect poison in the food, not on the plate. You'd yourself agree that Lakshmi was more beautiful than you, and he couldn't digest the reality that she loved me, and spurned his advances. Moreover, after she was killed, you became the sole heir to all the wealth, which he gets after marrying you tomorrow.

As the police were after me, I went into hiding. Our parents were very ill, but Dibyendu didn't look after them. He spread the rumour that I was holding back all the money, and that he had no money to take care of their treatment.

When I heard about my parents' pathetic state, I decided to burgle the house, steal some cash or jewelery and, by some devious method, admit them in a nursing home. I was unlucky, for I was nearly caught, though I managed to escape and shake off a dozen pursuers. This only confirmed that I was really a criminal and set the police after me.

After a brief pause, he said:

"Even the fact that I've been caught today is due to his treachery. The scoundrel - er, sorry, I forgot that you're marrying him."

Brinda held up her hand. "Now I know everything. I also know that you speak the truth. Lakshmi had told me that he had proposed to her many times, telling her that he was a rich man and you were a pauper. However, we never took him seriously, as we knew exactly the opposite. My uncle, who was Dibyendu's college principal, hinted something the other day about his incomplete studies, only now I get its meaning crystal clear. And now I know why he doesn't talk to me about certain aspects of his life."

"Forget it - marry him and be happy," advised Subendu. "My life was anyway finished the day my Lakshmi died. Keep the secret to yourself."

"I've pledged to my superior, Mr. Goswami, that I'll bring the criminal, dead or alive. I've also promised my parents that I'll marry a good husband. I've to fulfill my obligations," said Brinda solemnly.

"Do so, by all means. I wish you a happy married life," said Subendu, without understanding the deeper meaning of what she said.

Brinda suddenly turned the jeep into a small by-lane, covered with thick bushes on either side.

Subendu, who had no idea of what Brinda was up to, watched her in silent stupefaction.

She waited for sometime, and then called out: "Dibyendu, come here. I need you at once."

Dibyendu who was passing immediately stopped.

"Is the rascal giving you trouble, Brinda? I'll be there in a moment and fix him. Keep your revolver ready, though - he can't be trusted."

As Dibyendu proceeded towards them, Brinda fired on him point blank. He instantly fell down lifeless.

Subendu cried out, "What've you done? Are you mad?"

Brinda said, "I told you, I'm going to capture a criminal, dead or alive, and I'm going to marry a worthy husband. Only the roles of the dramatis personae have been interchanged. Quick, exchange your dress with his,; you two look alike and no one could tell you apart."

She took off her gold chain and put it around Subendu's neck.

When they arrived at the police station, Brinda told Mr. Goswami, "I'm sorry, Sir, I had to shoot the captive, for he made trouble in the jeep mid-way. Here's your criminal's dead body. And meet my future husband - we're marrying tomorrow."

Mr. Goswami blessed them, and they came out. Brinda took out a small silver idol of Lord Krishna. She told Subendu, "It's Bhagwat Gita which guided me on the right path today. A lie for a good and noble cause is better than the truth."

Classical
Like

About the Creator

Alex Trufia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.