Fiction logo

Landscape

A reflection that was not my own.

By Kyleigh Richard Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Landscape
Photo by Михаил Секацкий on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a twisted version of myself, with hollow eyes and a twisted grin. I tried to look away, but something compelled me to keep staring. As I watched, the mirror began to ripple like a pool of water. And then, it was like I was falling into it, tumbling headlong into another world.

The world I found myself in was like something out of a nightmare. The sky was a sickly shade of green, and the air was thick with the stench of decay. The buildings were twisted and distorted, as if they had been warped by some malevolent force.

As I stumbled through this twisted landscape, I realized that I wasn't alone. There were others here, too. But they were different, somehow. Their eyes glowed with a sickly green light, and they moved with an unnatural fluidity.

I tried to run, but they were too fast. They caught me, and I felt their cold, dead fingers closing around my throat. And then, I was back in my own world, gasping for breath.

At first, I thought it was just a dream. But then, things started to get weird. I would catch glimpses of that twisted reflection in other mirrors, and sometimes, I would hear whispers that weren't really there.

And then, one day, I woke up to find that my reflection wasn't in the mirror at all. Instead, I saw that twisted version of myself, grinning back at me with those hollow eyes. I tried to look away, but I couldn't. It was like it had some kind of power over me, like it was drawing me in.

As the days went by, that twisted world began to bleed into my own. I would see things that weren't really there, like shadows that moved on their own and doors that opened and closed by themselves.

And then, one night, I woke up to find that I wasn't alone in my own room. There were others there, too. Those twisted, otherworldly creatures that had chased me through that nightmare landscape. They were here, in my own world, and they were coming for me.

I tried to run, but they were too fast. They caught me, and I felt their cold, dead fingers closing around my throat. And then, just like before, I was back in my own world, gasping for breath.

But this time, things were different. That twisted world was no longer just a reflection in a mirror. It had become a part of my own reality, bleeding through the cracks and taking over.

I knew then that I had to face my fears, to confront that twisted reflection and the horrors that it represented. And so, with shaking hands, I reached out and touched the mirror.

At first, nothing happened. But then, the mirror began to ripple again, like a pool of water. And then, I was falling, tumbling headlong into that twisted world once again.

But this time, I was ready. I had come to terms with my fear, and I was ready to face it head-on. As I ran through that twisted landscape, I could feel the fear and the dread beginning to lift.

And then, just as suddenly as it had started, it was over. I was back in my own world, standing in front of that haunted mirror. But this time, there was no twisted reflection staring back at me.

Instead, I saw my own reflection, clear and true. And I knew then that I had faced my fears and conquered them. That haunted mirror may have shown me a twisted reality, but it had also given me the courage to face the darkness and come out the other side.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Kyleigh Richard

Just a human experiment in consciousness.

(Self-proclaimed Moss Maiden)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.