Fiction logo

Lake of Souls Chapter 7

Water Kingdom

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 17 min read
6
Lake of Souls Chapter 7
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Previous Chapter

As I was pulled under the water I was able to see what had grabbed me. A blue scaled creature that looked like a massively enlarged frog. Before I could even attempt to muster a defense it let go of my leg to shove a glowing sac in my mouth and then cover my mouth and nose. I swallowed the sac out of some reflex. As soon as I did the creature removed its hands, "Now breathe as I do." I took a deep breath, finding that I could now breath under water and move easier.

I looked at the creature, "You could have asked me when I was still above the water. Maybe explain yourself first. I would have swallowed it had I known what it was for."

The creature shakes its head, "It is much easier for the King to find you on land. In the water you blend in with everything else. He'll still notice you eventually but it will give you longer before he does. Right now he's in the middle of torturing some people so you've got even more time."

I tilted my head at the creature, "Torturing people? The Water King is torturing people? Who is he torturing?"

The creature turned and started swimming, beckoning me to follow, "Right now I'm not sure what poor sap he's got locked up but I can guarantee you they didn't deserve it. I don't know what happened but sometime in the last ten years he went a bit mad. Some say his queen left him. Started lashing out at anyone and everyone around him. Now he sits in his city alone. Once we get close enough you'll be able to hear the screaming. Of both him and whoever he's captured recently."

I matched the creature's speed, noticing that the longer I was under the water my eyes were adjusting to the low light. The water kingdom was not a pretty place to be right now. The water seemed tainted somehow as if it was reflecting what was happening to the Water King. I hesitated asking the creature its name considering what happened the last time I asked someone their name. Eventually though I did, "So what is your name and where are you taking me? Also I'm assuming you know who I am from the way you've been talking."

The creature nodded, "My name is Curant and yes I know who you are. You are Xea the vessel. The wanderer who has been killing all the Kings. I'm assuming you've come here after killing the arrogant smug fool who was the Air King. I hope so at least. Have you come here to kill the Water King? We've all been hoping that you would come." Curant started diving deeper down towards a set of caves that were almost impossible to see if you weren't looking for them.

I pulled in front of him and stopped him, "Wait you just expect me to go and kill him? I don't try to kill people! I've never wanted to kill anyone but people just keep attacking me again and again. I don't want to kill anyone."

Curant moved past me still going to the caves, "Take a look around and you might change your mind. I'm sorry for you. I really am. But we need your help regardless of why you came here. So please come with me. Meet the others." With that he went into the caves.

I sighed and followed him into the caves. As soon as we entered I saw at least some of what Curant had been talking about. There were other creatures like him in the cave all huddling together. Many of them looked sickly and something else I couldn't identify. Their heads were down with sunken eyes. I feel like if I could see their souls they would be tiny broken little things. I looked at Curant, "Why are they like this? We're far enough from the Water King they shouldn't be hiding right?"

Curant shook his head, "Maybe but probably not. If the King wants to find you he will. We hide so that no more of us disappear. They look like that because the water has become tainted like the King. We can't find food like we once did. The larger predators have all gone mad from the King's madness so they hunt us too. This land used to be pristine and blue. Yes we hunted and killed each other but we did it within the natural cycle of things.

Many were afraid to come here and see our kingdom. It's part of why no one has really known how bad things became here. We lived like a wilder untamed version of the past. But it all existed within the cycle. After the King went mad though the cycle was broken. So many have died for sport rather than food. Our kingdom rots with the carcasses of the dead and those of us left will soon join them. So I ask you again. Will you kill the Water King for us? Remove his blight from the land. Yes we will probably suffer some more for it but after that we can begin to heal finally."

I looked around at all of the creatures and I felt something begin to boil inside of me again. It was very similar to when I had been talking to the Air King. I didn't know what this feeling was but I knew that it made me want to take action. I looked at Curant, "I'll do it. I'll go kill the Water King. If he truly is as mad as you say then he won't be willing to talk to me anyway. Just point me in the direction and I'll start heading there."

Curant placed his hand on my arm shaking his head, "You will need a guide. To help you avoid confrontation with the larger predators. Also I can show you a secret way into the city. One that will help you get close without hopefully being detected. You may even be able to get close enough to surprise attack him. Trust me when I say that the more advantages you have in this fight the better."

I wanted to argue with him especially after what had happened to Baunt. I didn't want anyone else getting killed because of me. I could tell by the look in his eyes though that it would be pointless so I simply nodded, "Lead the way then. I'll follow you to whatever depths you take me."

With that Curant swam over to one of the small groups of creatures. I could hear him clicking in a tongue I did not understand. The smallest creature began to cry and hugged Curant tight. The other creature which looked more feminine than Curant pulled the small one away comforting it. She hugged Curant as well, talking back to him for a brief moment before she nodded and kissed him. There were tears running down her face highlighted in a crystal blue against the murky waters. Curant swam back to me wiping away his own tears, "Let us go. We have much water to travel before we reach the King's city." With that we left the caves and headed off.

We swam in silence for several minutes before I spoke, "Who were those people you spoke to? Why were they crying? Also what language were you speaking?"

Curant looked at me and laughed bitterly, "I guess you wouldn't know what a family was would you. That was my wife and child I was talking to. They were crying because I told them that I was leaving to help you get to the Water King. They both know that if I'm caught out here that I will die. Our language is that spoken amongst us in the time before a worldwide language was formed. Many of us here still speak it."

Again we swam in silence after that. I thought on what he had said. I didn't know what a family was. I had never known the embrace of another or having someone actually care enough about me to shed a tear. I was an outcast from the beginning of my existence with no one. However during this journey I had met a few good people. People I wouldn't have minded knowing and becoming friends with had I been allowed to. I was so lost in thought that Curant actually had to grab my arm to get my attention. He pointed down and then put his finger to his lips to let me know to be quiet.

We dived down to where the water was so dark I could barely see Curant in front of me. He pointed back up now letting me know to keep an eye out. I watched the waters above us waiting trying to keep my body still. I could feel something in the water above us but I couldn't see it. After what seemed like hours of waiting but was probably only a few moments a shark swam over us. Easily three times as long as I was tall it swam slowly as if it were looking for something. I could see the light glinting off of its teeth as well as several scars across its body though it didn't seem perturbed in the least by them. This was a true predator that would have no interest in talking but instead it would simply view me as a large meal.

It finally passed over us and Curant waved us back up to continue on. As we swam I looked over at him, "How did you sense that so early? You felt it coming from so far away especially given how slow it was moving. That was truly impressive."

Curant shrugged, "This is my home regardless of how much it has changed. Being able to notice small vibrations in the water is something we sea goblins are just inherently born with. Most of us have it from about a month after birth. It's why at one point we were one of the most numerous of the races here in the water kingdom. We aren't anymore but we were. Those that you saw in the cave are about a tenth of our entire surviving population. It used to be that many were a drop in the bucket."

I closed my eyes feeling that sensation rising up in me again. It was getting harder to control this feeling in me. I just wish I knew what it was, a name for it. I looked at Curant, "As fast as we can let's go. This needs to be handled now."

With that Curant grinned, "Then try to keep up." He took off away from me swimming a little deeper than before, "Just in case we need to make a quick escape. The bigger predators won't chase us down there. There are things that live in this kingdom that could probably fight the King. The problem is they simply don't care enough. The King leaves them alone and so they leave him alone."

We swam at the new faster pace for quite a long time. Though it was almost impossible to really judge time down here since I couldn't actually see the sky. Seeing nothing the entire time except the occasional large fish swimming by in a state of mild panic. Curant informed me that was just the overall feeling that most creatures had these days so it was nothing to be concerned about. Finally we came upon what looked like a settlement of some sort though broken down in a state of abandonment. There was a statue in the middle of it that resembled a beautiful but mysterious woman in armor. Whoever had sculpted it had been a remarkable craftsman. Every feature of her was shown in exquisite detail. From the fierceness of her face to the study curves of her body even her hair was shown in a small but curly style. I asked him, "Who is she? She must have been rather important to have a statue in such detail."

Curant looked at the statue and nodded, "She was very important. She was the Queen. The one who I believe died ten years ago. He now took us into the settlement and did a quick check through the homes. I asked him what he was doing. He gave me a sad look, "Hoping to maybe find a survivor who's been hiding out here. Occasionally I can. I'll send them to the nearest refuge I know of. But I haven't found anyone in a long time. Still have to check though. It's part of how I keep my hope alive. Though I guess that doesn't mean anything to you does it?"

I shrugged, "No it doesn't. However it doesn't mean that I can't take your word for it. I'll help you look." We searched every house in the settlement before moving on. Curant was moving a little slower than he had before. I gave him a small smile. Something I was still trying to learn how to do, but amongst all the creatures I had met, a smile seemed to be a universal language. "You alright there? Moving a little slower now."

Curant nodded, his face twisted slightly in concentration, "Yeah I'm just hungry. Haven't had any real food in about a week. Thankfully I don't have to eat every single day but I've burned a lot of energy on this trip. We're getting closer though. You should start hearing the screams soon."

Soon we heard the screaming. At first it was a light noise traveling through the water that caused my ears to tingle. Soon though there were several high pitched wails and one low roar that filled the water. I couldn't even tell which direction it was coming from, it was all so loud. Pain filled those wails to the point that the burning sensation in my chest was becoming almost unbearable. I couldn't believe the Water King was doing this to his own people. I didn't even care why anymore, I just wanted it to stop.

Curant started diving deeper again, "There's a set of underground caves that will lead us into the city. Once there I'll point you in the right direction and start working on returning to my family. Something to know is that the inside of the city is actually dry. There is a large barrier that keeps all of the water out. So you'll be able to fight him on dry land. Which trust me is better than in the water."

I nodded slightly, "Yeah I don't know if I could fight him in the water. I feel like it would just end very poorly. So thank you for helping me like this. I realize that helping me puts you in a lot of danger."

Curant smiled slightly, "I'm not really helping you. I'm helping myself and all of my people. You just happen to be the one who can help us. So don't thank me instead I thank you Xea. It doesn't matter if you understand or acknowledge it, but you are our hero."

After that we both went silent reaching the entrance to the caves Curant had mentioned. I had to actually hold on to him as we swam because it was so dark I couldn't see him in front of me. After what felt like several twists and turns we came to a grate. It didn't look like it had been placed there naturally, instead it had been carved into the ground. There was a small amount of light streaming down into the water from it. Curant came up to the grate and tugged on it a couple of times. Someone on the other side pulled it up and I climbed my way out. Taking my first breath of air on dry land caused me to choke a little and cough. After that though I was fine. I looked down at Curant, "Thank you friend. I hope the next time I see you that things will be on the right path once again."

Curant nodded at me, "Go forth great hero Xea. Please bring peace to this land." With that he swam away.

I now looked at the person who had pulled up the grate. A small wizened elderly man who possessed more strength than his frail body suggested. He lowered the grate down slowly and then looked to me, "The vessel Xea has arrived. I welcome you to the city of the Water King."

I took a few steps to readjust my body to the sensation of walking instead of swimming. The first few were a bit wobbly but after that I was alright. I looked to the old man, "Thank you for your welcome. Though I have to ask, how can you be so close to the Water King and have him not notice you?"

The old man chuckled softly, "Simply put because I am the last person he even recognizes anymore. I used to be his advisor before he went mad. I have stayed here for ten long years waiting for the day that someone would finally come to put a stop to him. That day has come and once you have removed him I may die in peace."

I knelt down, lowering my head to the old man. For some reason I felt the need to show him as much respect as I could, "Thank you for your words of kindness to me. I will fulfill your final wish and let you pass. But I do have one question before I go forward. Do you know why he went mad?"

The old man walked away from me sitting down at a small table. He poured himself a small cup of clear liquid that had an odd smell to it. He took the entire cup down in one swig and pulled away from the cup with a contented sigh, "There is actually a simple reason. His wife was taken from him. Ten years ago when the kingdoms were hot in war with one another the Air King made a bold decisive move. He brought many of the great beasts from the air kingdom with him. They struck at the Water King's city with enough force to push through the barrier.

The Queen was a capable warrior and stood alongside her King in battle. It became obvious quickly that the Air King had not come here to fight though. As he used his great beasts to distract the entirety of the forces the Air King made himself incorporeal and found the King and Queen. His presence masked, he snuck up on them and used his power to suffocate the Queen. In front of her King she was killed in a way that no denizen of the water kingdom should ever die. She died as if she were a fish upon dry land. After that the Water King lashed out destroying all the forces in the city including his own.

From that day forward this city has stood abandoned and stopped in time. The King lives that day again and again for every moment he is awake. Nothing more than a hollow shell of his former self. Anything that catches his attention is seen in his eyes as the Air King. He captures them and tortures them endlessly until he is lashing out at nothing more than lifeless corpses. That is why you are here. To put a broken man out of his misery and reunite him with his lost love."

He poured himself another cup of the clear odd smelling liquid and took it down in another big gulp, "I know you had intended to try and surprise him. Unfortunately he already knows you're here." It was at that moment I realized I hadn't heard any screaming since I had come out of the grate. I looked to the old man to ask him how the Water King already knew when the building we were in was suddenly crushed by a falling tentacle.

Well this was an emotional journey. I hope you all enjoyed it. Both the next chapter and the original short story will be linked down below. If you enjoyed reading this then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

Next Chapter

Original Short story

Series
6

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.