Fiction logo

Lacus

Let me save you some time...skip this story because it's dumb. Honestly, I'm just hoping this site will bonus creators for participating in every SFS challenge because, you know, medical bills exist and they're so much fun to pay off. Anyway, if you've made it this far I hope you have a good day and you see some funny memes...in fact I'll replace the image below with a funny meme (it was a ship before). Okay, there are no memes on Unsplash, so I'll just use a funny photo. I don't know that cat is probably complaining about doors and why they're always shut.

By M. J. LukePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Lacus
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

Lacus

Dear Douglas,

I’m enthused by the sudden air this winter season has brought. It seems to have reinvigorated me and I’ve become second to my dog in ability to dance about with origin-less passion. I’m happy to say my desperation for adventure is soon to be quelled as I’ve heard from Dr. Thorn, she’s in need of someone. From what I understand about the job, Dr. Thorn has submitted a request to the Institute of Oceanography and Marine Species Ecology and they’ve granted her a fine donation that will allow her to set up station on a fifty-man crew vessel and as a result she needs a mythologist.

I think it’s a fitting job career for me. I’ve signed on for six months aboard the Mariana and hopefully by the time I return the frozen pond will be defrosted and we’ll have a fine place to fish. It’s odd. I’m one of those people who believes that anyone, anywhere could use a mythologist as our field is an apex of sorts that focuses on more than one aspect of life. It made sense to me why Dr. Thorn would ask to have me, but I wasn’t sure if she knew what she was asking me to join the crew. Alas, my inquires have been sorted well. Dr. Thorn informed me that the reason she encouraged me to apply for the job was because where we’re going requires a pair of eyes locked in the past but set towards the future.

I’m not supposed to say where I’m going, but oh well you probably won’t read this letter right away and by the time you do I’ll be so far from any trouble it won’t matter. We’re going to Antarctica. I’m a bit worried as I’ve always loved the warmth, but I can’t pass up on a trip like this.

I’ve been told to pack light, but you know me; it’s impossible for me to do so! While I have every book, I could possibly need for this trip saved on my laptop, there are some stories that must be brought in their corporal form least we risk losing ourselves to selfish technology forever.

As an added note, I think it’s wonderful I get to use my second bachelors for the first time. I knew going back to school for marine biology would be a good idea. Besides being the crew’s storyteller, I’ll also be responsible for photography, documentation, data analysis, and more but no worries, as I said the crew is big and there are plenty of people to get the job done.

I’m looking forward to the whales. I’ve been told there are species we’ll see and ecotypes we’ll encounter that are incredible. I especially look forward to seeing the Atlantic humpback whales as they make their seasonal migration southward. I bet by the time we arrive in the south, they’ll be groups of humpback whales, minke whales, oracs, and more. Also! The penguins, too. Hey, did you know there are more species of warm weather penguins than cold weather penguins? I feel like I’d heard that fact once before and have since forgotten it. Either way, we’ll be seeing some penguins as well.

I’ll contact you as soon as I can, but it looks like the best I can do is call you when we’ve reached the station. Please tell everyone I said hello and that I will be bringing back souvenirs for everyone even if it is just a vial of sea water from the south. I hope all is well with you and that you have the chance to go where you want once the winter is over.

Yours, Tiffany

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.