Fiction logo

Knights of Dragons Blood

Prologue

By Aalia ZealousPublished 2 years ago 24 min read
Like
Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/sarahrichterart-1546275/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=2434838">Sarah Richter</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=2434838">Pixabay</a>

Priestess Alurea

There weren't always Dragons in the Valley, and if people knew I was walking among them now, they'd have my throat slit. No matter how long I've served the king and this kingdom.

I peek out of the gaping hole on the second floor of the scorched building I've taken shelter in, watching the people below scatter and evacuate the city in a fit of screams and shouts as the smell of smoke fill my nostrils.

Word of a woman combusting on the streets of the Tarragon Market and morphing into a dragon spread fast. I was out of the temple dressed in my uniform within minutes, arriving right in the thick of two raging fires and citizens scrambling to safety. Now I lay low from above, watching the Valley Knights take up battle formations with their swords and arrows around the market.

The agonizing and gurgled screeches from the creature flying above rattle my teeth as it flies unevenly, crashing into buildings with its droopy body. Sweat beads on my forehead with the amount of debris raining on the knights. Between trying to qualm the fires and assist the knights I fear my magic is spread too thin. Soon, it won't be enough. Just as my focus begins to strain, blue figures break through my peripheral vision through the crowd, heading towards the knights fighting for their lives. I sigh in relief, pulling my hood lower and lifting my mask.

The calvary.

The warlocks take up positions a few yards behind the platoon of knights. The gold crest from my husband and I's temple gleam proudly across their chests.

Other mages break off to douse the rest of the fires and help the subjects who're injured escape. I recognize the stance the warlocks take and get in the same position, ready to add my power to the spell that'll enchant the guards' weapons so they're able to pierce the impenetrable dragon's skin.

The vibration of magic coming from the warlocks feels electric, and I tap into the current, connecting to their reservoir of power. Our hands move in unison in a sequence of mudras, building our energy just as the archers take aim. The spell activates with our collective shout, echoing through the sky and drowning out the whooshing sound of the glowing released arrows. The creature's horrid squeals pierce my ears upon impact.

I angle my head out of the hole and look up towards the poor thing, clutching at it's chest with its claws. Arrows protrude from its body as it smashes into the buildings and surrounding homes, causing more damage.

Others may be convinced that this creature is a dragon, but looking at its half melted face and partially developed wings, one extremely shorter than the other, I know this critter is no regular dragon. And if it is, it's a very sick one.

My whole life I dreamt of meeting another descendant from dragons, someone who shares in my hidden identity. But to be met with this, a creature so sick, my heart sinks.

The warlocks prepare for another spell to bring down the being but suddenly falter, as a figure clad in black jumps off the roof of a neighboring building with a large, scaly sword erect in their hands.

What the?!

The strange sword glints in the sunlight as they slash at the creatures hind legs, cutting through its flesh like butter.

Is that a rogue mage?

It squeals, falling towards the ground. I watch the fast and agile figure jump from another roof, just as the dragon makes a move to fly away, and leaps on its back, stabbing it in the head with one swift thrust.

I cringe, my stomach churning as the dragon screeches, jerking and crashing to the ground. Harming people who failed to get out of its vicinity fast enough. The whole building rattles with the impact and I turn to cover my face from the cloud of dust.

The screams and shouts from the knights and warlocks below ring in my ears, muffled by the chaos of everything going on.

"Ced-Kutoweka," I mumble under my breath. The dust disperses with the incantation, clearing my vision. I get to my feet and take the crumbled steps two at a time to the ground floor of the building and push my way out onto the streets, scanning the area for the severely injured.

I come across a knight writhing on the ground from a gash in his metal armor, blood squirting from his wound in a constant stream. I grab his hand, urging him to look into my eyes.

"I've got you, you're going to be okay." He moans in agony and I wave my hand over his sweaty face to ease his pain. He immediately relaxes and I work my magic, removing metal from his skin with precise mudras and gently knitting together skin cells until there's nothing but fresh skin in it's place. He looks down at his body and drags his fingers across the bloody surface to reveal smooth skin, then looks back up at me.

"Thank you," He breathes, grasping my hand. I nod and help drag him up against the side of a building out of harms way. The wound may be healed, but he's lost a lot of blood, and he'll be feeling ghost pains from the recovering nerves for a few days.

"You rest here. Someone will be by to take you to the nearest infirmary." He nods gratefully and I move on to the next person I can find, leaving a trail of healed bodies for the mages and knights to find and take back to the temple.

When I've cleared most of the injured in the area, I make my way to the unmoving black dragon laying limp in the middle of the street. The smell coming from her is acrid, as if she were already decaying before we even killed her. A shiver runs through me as I pull out a vial hidden in my uniform pocket and uncork it. I bend to take a sample of the putrefying creature, when I catch movement out the corner of my eye.

The black figure that took down the dragon slinks through the shadows of the building alleyways. Their mask is partially shredded, revealing dark skin and dark markings around the cheekbone of their eye.

"Hey!" I call out, but they don't stop. Instead, he continues hobbling before disappearing behind a dark corner. I debate on whether I should chase after them...but decide against it. He seems to be moving just fine. And there're people here with more pressing injuries.

I put my sample vial away after harvesting a scale and get back to healing as many of the wounded as I can. Hurrying so I can make it back to the temple before anyone realizes I'm missing.

*****

My feet barely make a sound along the brown marble floors as I hurry to one of my chambers and shut the door behind me. Collapsing in relief and exhaustion against the door frame.

Reports have been coming in for months about this new found phenomenon of people combusting into dragons, and at the time, I was excited. I thought I could find out more about who I am and where I come from...but they've been no ordinary dragons.

I look down at the iridescent scales shimmering along my forearm and urge them to melt back into smooth flesh. Something was wrong with that creature.

I head to the bathroom and draw a bath. Quickly peeling out of my warlocks uniform and stepping into the copper tub to wash away the smell of burning debris and blood. After drying off, I change into my usual attire. A long cream robe with elaborate rose gold designs along the sleeves and skirt, and emerge from my chambers as if it were any other day.

"Blessed day High Priestess." Two servants bow as they pass by in the hall, arms full of fresh laundry. I nod my head in return.

"Blessed day." I watch them pass before hurrying down the corridor to the second floor of the west wing. This side of the temple is much busier and I slow my pace just a bit. Nodding my head to eager students bowing to me in their light blue robes as I pass. I stroll by the classrooms used for young mages in their early stages of magic development and turn the corner, coming upon a giant wooden door with elegant wrought iron designs bent in the shape of protection sigils splayed across it.

I knock before entering. My most trusted advisor, Thula, is sitting behind his large, wooden desk ridden with papers and vials at the back of the room.

"High Priestess." He stands upon seeing me and bows. My heals clack against the large expanse from the door to his desk. I take the vial out of my pocket and hand it to him without a word.

"Thank you Priestess, I'll run tests on this as soon as possible, but I'm afraid it'll come back the same as the others." My brows raise in surprise as I study the elder man. His bushy brows slanted in worry.

"You have a final analysis of what's happening to these people from the other samples we've gathered?"

"Not exactly a final analysis, but a start." He scratches his white beard as he sifts through his papers until he uncovers the one he's looking for."There's something we've uncovered amongst the last three combustion victims that I think you'd find interesting." I wait for him to continue. "It was hard to spot at first, but the victims rapid transformations all seem to stem from a single DNA strand." He hands me the paper to read for myself. "This DNA strand is only found in those who are descendants of dragons."

I pause.

So they are dragon descendants. Not a curse like the rumors claim. But... why did they look like that? The dragons of old were never depicted in such a state. They were powerful, magnificent beings. Not sickly creatures.

"So you're telling me that these are people who are generations removed from their dragon heritage, and now it's coming out of them randomly?" Thula adjusts his glasses and sets down his papers.

"Yes... and no. Dragon DNA is extremely rare, and even those who have dragon heritage, would never have enough of that DNA to actually access a dragon form. But, it seems like something has been triggering that DNA forcefully, and as a result, causing them to instantaneously combust... into dragons."

Or close to one, I thought as I remember how mutilated and underdeveloped that poor woman looked in her dragon form.

"I'll continue to run my tests to figure out more information and keep you updated. Maybe we can uncover what's triggering this rapid development and hopefully get it under control...Before we lose someone dear to us." He looks at me sympathetically. There's only two people in this world who know of my dragons blood. Thula and my husband. They don't know the extent of how much dragons blood I have, but the fact that I've never been able to access a dragon form on my own is probably enough to worry them about this phenomenon affecting me. I nod gratefully.

"Thank you Thula."

"Of course Priestess." He looks at the clock on his desk. "Oh, you must get going, the priests celebration starts soon does it not? The big 65." I sigh heavily.

"Yes." I've been preparing for my husbands birth celebration for months, and it's been exciting and stressful all at once. But in light of what has recently happened in the city, I'm nervous of how poorly it'll be received by the people of the Valley.

Thula comes from around his desk and sets his hand on my shoulder, leveling his eyes with mine.

"There's no shame in throwing this celebration for your husband. The most skilled knights and warlocks are all deployed cleaning up the mess in the city and saving those they can. Those are the kings orders." I nod. He's right. King Romulus wants all cities to stay discreet in their handlings of the combustions. Plus, he's going to be at the party. Keeping up a facade of a normal functioning kingdom.

"Thank you Thula." I nod gratefully, setting my hand on top of his before leaving to prepare for tonights party.

Empress Bagheera

The doors to the ballroom of the High Priestess' temple open with a flourish. Immediately I'm washed in the smell of yummy food and a light floral scent from the blue bouquets decorating the room. Hundred of nobles and royals have shown up, and I watch them mingle in their flamboyant and sparkly dresses and suits.

I spot the High Priestess and Priest across the room. They're a handsome couple. I smile at how her elegant cream dress compliments his suit perfectly. And how their salt and pepper hair make them look united. Not everyone is blessed to find their best friend in their spouse. Forty-five years is a long time to be with someone.

I pass through the lively crowd, surrounded by my retinue of knights. Their purple capes drape over their shoulders and flow behind them, as if to surround me in a silky protective barrier. The nobles and guests whisper and bow to me as I pass, recognizing me and my entourage.

My knights break off and position themselves against the wall with the rest of the guards. All except one, Bastian, who stay's mere inches away from me at all times. When he can help it. But his constant breathing down my neck isn't too unpleasant. I prefer it to anyone else's.

"Empress Bagheera!" A hearty voices bellows, just as a retinue of knights emerge through the crowd with the King and Queen of the Valley dressed elegantly in blue.

"King Romulus, Queen Selena, so lovely to see you," I bow.

"Oh it's lovely to see you!" Queen Selena exclaims, standing too close for my comfort. "To what do we owe the pleasure of getting a visit from the young empress of the Panthera Empire? We didn't receive word that you were in our kingdom."

"I just thought I'd stop by for a visit. We are neighbors after all. Especially considering word of those...incidents' floating around. I thought you may need my assistance."

"Nonsense!" King Romulus laughs a little too loudly. "Everything here is well under control. And I'm sure a new empress such as yourself is still getting acclimated to her position." I nod my head. It's true, I'm only a year and a half into my reign as the Empress of Panthera, but I've been shadowing my grandfather since I could crawl. Stepping in to rule was as natural as getting my period.

"Of course King Romulus."

"Why don't we stop all of this serious talk and enjoy the party. The High Priestess has put together a lavish affair," Queen Selena beams. Her youthful face a blatant contrast to the king's...mature one.

"Of course. If you'll excuse me your Highness', I'm going to step out for some fresh air."

"Of course Empress," they bow as I take my leave. I endure the stares following me as I head for the wide glass doors that lead out into the courtyard and emerge into the crisp air.

The king seems to be making light of the combustions that've been happening all over his kingdom. It doesn't seem as if he's made much of an effort to even understand why they're happening. My grandfathers words suddenly echo in my head.

The stories of old aren't as prominent in the kingdoms to the east.

I blow out a breath and make my way down the patio to tall lush hedges in the distance. I can tell by the scent drifting from them that they're hiding a floral center.

"No need to follow me." I say over my shoulder to Bastian.

"Empress--"

"I'll be fine Bastian. You can remain on the edges of the garden. If I need you I'll call." He goes quiet. I'm sure he's worried that I might pull another disappearing act, but an order's an order. He sighs.

"As you wish Sire."

I enter into the maze of hedges alone, guided by the floral scent, until I emerge into a clearing with a gentle bubbling fountain surrounded by colorful flowers.

It's beautiful. The High Priestess sure has an eye for beauty. I walk around the fountain, my hand outstretched to catch the stray droplets of water when a grunting sound causes me to pause. I tilt my head to the sky to hear better and another growl pierces through the calm night.

Do they have animals at the temple?

I follow the noise, taking the maze out the opposite direction from which I came. Bastian's gonna be pissed.

I emerge out into a vast field illuminated by tall lamps. Thick tree's and training dummies line the perimeter, and over on the left, stands some sort of barn housing weapons and training gear. This must be where the warlocks train in combat! Then I catch the source of the growling.

Right in front of the barn, assaulting a training dummy with a sparring stick, is a woman. And she looks pissed. Her long braids whip around her frame and dainty blue dress as she strikes the dummy in ways that would have killed a living being. I slowly walk closer.

"Wow, what has that dummy ever done to you?" The woman gasps and whips around, dropping her wooden stick as if she were caught stealing. That's when I notice her tiara... and faint resemblance to King Romulus and the late Queen Tora from images my grandfather has shown me.

"Princess Rajini?" She looks irritated that I recognize her.

"Huh, yes well... I was just messing around. Forget you ever saw--" As I step closer into the light her eyes travel from my crown, to my jewels, to the unmistakable markings on the sides of my eyes, marking me as a royal of the Panthera Empire. "Y-your majesty!" She quickly bows. "Forgive me, I didn't realize." I chuckle to myself.

"It's alright." I've heard about the Princess of the Valley but I've never met her prior to my crowning. She can't be no more than a few years older than me, and she has the same green eyes as her mother.

"I like your fighting style. What discipline do you study?" She looks at the stick on the ground then back at me with wide eyes.

"Oh no no, I was just messing around." I raise an eyebrow, grabbing my own stick from a barrel next to a dummy.

"It didn't look like it." I strike, aiming for her head, and she blocks it effortlessly. Those don't seem like the reflexes of someone "messing around". I smile at her knowingly. Her eyes search our surroundings before kicking her stick up from the ground and hesitantly striking with her own counter attack, which I block. "You sure you don't practice?" She chuckles, twirling her stick.

"Maybe a little." We test each others skills. The rhythm of our sticks ebb and flow in a series of strikes that only serve to intensify, when an amused voice emerges from the shadows.

"I hope the princess of our kingdom and the empress of our neighboring empire haven't decided to raise war." Rajini startles, clutching her stick behind her back. I turn to find the High Priestess lingering with a glass of wine in her hands, curious at our exchange. She takes a deep bow.

"Empress Bagheera, Princess Rajini, I hope you're finding this courtyard to your liking." She smiles and I immediately like her.

"W-were sorry to disturb your grounds High Priestess. This is a lovely party."

"Nonsense, you aren't disturbing anything. Besides, it seems like most of the fun is happening out here." She comes closer into the light and stares at me curiously, eyeing the markings around my eyes. I can always tell when someone's staring at them. Their eyes don't quite meet mine and linger a little too long. Either that or everyone's secretly in love with me.

"Oh, w-we were just..."

"Bonding," I finish for the Princess. The High Priestess sets down her glass and walks over to grab her own sparring stick, twirling it in her hands.

"It's been awhile since I've..bonded."

"Well, it's just like riding a bike," I chuckle. She takes on a defensive stance and I mimic her movements. I've heard of the fighting style of the Warlocks of the Valley. They're unlike any I've ever seen, and rumor has it that much of its design came from the High Priestess herself. "Would you demonstrate some moves for us High Priestess?" She looks at me delighted.

"Of course, what would you like to know?" Princess Rajini looks at us bewildered. This isn't how interactions between nobles and royals go, but she joins in on the fighting sequence. The eagerness in her eyes overpowering her hesitation.

Exhilaration flows through me as the sequences intensify, and before I know it, I'm laughing as my muscles strain under the strategic moves of the two women, who are much more interesting than they appear.

Queen Siyanda

"God, what is all that racket?" I snatch the fan from my lady in waiting, fanning myself faster to stave off the heat. I didn't anticipate being outside in this night air, but the High Priestess always has the most beautiful flower arrangements. And this is the perfect opportunity to sneak a peek at her garden to inform my own gardener. If only these stupid hedges weren't in the way.

"I'm not sure my lady, but it looks like there may be a quarrel going on over there."

I squint my eyes through the darkness over to the lit combat field where three figures are fighting with sticks. I scoff, taking a few steps closer. What savages would be fighting at a party in their fine wear?

One of the women moves her hand and stick in a way only used by magic wielders, suddenly creating a shield around herself just as the other two leap, striking her magical shield with their sticks. I gasp. There's only one person in the eastern kingdoms who can maneuver magic so effortlessly like that.

The High Priestess!

My lady in waiting lets out a squeak as I throw my fan into her chest, gather my skirts and trot to the field. That's when I realize the other two women aren't wearing ordinary dresses. Those are gowns of royals.

They continue sparring, their fight spilling into the armory behind them. I hurry and step through the entrance aghast.

"High Priestess Alurea!" The women immediately stop in their grappling and turn towards me.

"Ah, Queen Siyanda. What a pleasure to see you at my husbands birth celebration."

"Of course!" I beam. I look at the other two, immediately recognizing the Princess of the Valley herself and...ugh...Empress Bagheera. "Is it wise to be unleashing your skills of warfare and magic on two young royals such as these? I doubt their families would appreciate them coming back bloodied and bruised." Priestess Alurea chuckles.

"They seem to be the one's showing me a few things in the art of combat and warfare." I cross my arms.

"I'm not surprised. Immaturity can cause quite the chaos." Princess Rajini has enough good sense to look slightly ashamed. I'm sure both of her parents would be appalled to see her behaving in such a way at a party. Empress Bagheera on the other hand...is another story.

"Oh get the stick out your butt Siyanda."

"IT'S QUE--!" I take a huge breath, the vein in my temple beginning to throb. I won't let my little cousin of all people get under my skin. "It's Queen Siyanda your majesty. Don't you remember? I was crowned when you were just a little scrawny thing, cowering behind your grandfathers coat at my coronation."

"Unfortunately I only remember you sitting in the audience at my coronation when I became an empress." She swiftly grabs a bow and arrow off the wall and shoots it right by my feet.

Why that little...

I snatch a set of throwing knives off a bench. I can tell by the shape of them they're blunt, but they'll have to do.

"Was that a declaration of war your Highness?" I ask, chucking one at her.

"Only if you want it to be, but I don't think your husband would have the balls--" I scream, grabbing a sparring stick from the door and charging at her. Priestess Alurea stumbles out of the way while Princess Rajini watches worriedly.

"Uhh, ladies?" Bagheera thinks she's so skilled, but I have a few tricks of my own. The fight turns to a show of skill and acrobatics, but the display isn't as elegant as I'd hoped with the swishing of my dress getting in the way.

"Wait wait wait hush!" Princess Rajini rasps with her arms outstretched, looking between us with wide eyes. That's when I hear what she hears...people. And they're getting closer. I drop my weapon and scramble to hide. I can't let anyone see me like this. The others follow suit, ducking behind barrels, practice dummies and hay. The voices get closer and slowly pass. Walking right by the armory door. With a sigh I stumble out of my hiding spot and scowl at Bagheera.

"Look what you've done." I'm a sweaty mess. Princess Rajini looks slightly worried.

"Maybe we should get back to the celebration. My father might be looking for me."

"We can't go back looking like this!" I exclaim. "Especially with your dress looking like that!" For the first time the Princess looks down at her gown and gasps at the stains. How did she even get so dirty? Priestess Alurea grabs our weapons and puts them back in their places.

"Don't worry, I'll take us to get cleaned up." She motions for us to follow and steps out through the back of the armory under the moonlight. We creep pass the training grounds to the opposite side of the temple where a door leads us through a series of secret passage ways.

"Wow, I didn't realize the temple was so intricate," Empress Bagheera breathes. Her voice echoing off the concrete walls.

"There are a lot of things about the temple many don't know Your Highness." We emerge through a wardrobe into a beautiful bronze bedroom with elegant peach decor."The bathroom is to the right."

I dash for it first. If the women cared for their appearances they wouldn't have been fighting in the first place. I look in the mirror and adjust my clothes. Not much is ruined, just a little sweat and dust. I emerge from the bathroom feeling refreshed and gaze about the room as Princess Rajini scurries into the bathroom with a blue dress the Priestess must have lent her.

"See," Priestess Alurea smiles, satisfied once she re-emerges from the bathroom. "Nothing to worry about." Princess Rajini smiles gratefully.

"Thank you High Priestess."

"Now, let's head back to the party." Priestess Alurea leads us through the main halls of the temple this time, and once we make it to the ballroom, Bagheera's knights rush her, on high alert. Apparently they've been looking for her. I'm not surprised. She's been a wild runt since she was a child.

I pull my shoulders back and hold my head high as guests watch us re-enter. A smile spreads across my lips as I break away from the other women and make my way to my husband's side. I grab two glasses off a platter and offer him one. He takes it without a glance at me, continuing his conversation with another noble. I clear my throat.

Did he even notice I was gone?

I try my best to catch up on the conversation, but there's no room to interject, so I settle for looking around the room with a sigh. I swallow the lump in my throat and watch Priestess Alurea drift towards her husbands side. He wraps his arm around her waist, pulling her close. Princess Rajini finds her parents and they exchange expressions over her change of dress and Empress Bagheera saunters off with her knights, claiming a space by the wall where two servants offer her food and drink.

I hold my glass to my lips bored, when suddenly, a scream rips through the ballroom. The music halts as everyone jumps and turn towards the chaos. Men and women scurry away from a man in the center of the room jerking around, screaming and gasping. My heart drops in horror as his skin bubbles and sizzle, and his muscles shift underneath his skin.

Oh my god.

Everyone panics, scrambling to get away from the man making unintelligible noises, but I'm frozen to my spot in terror. This must be a combustion.

Armed knights and warlocks rush in out of nowhere, and before I know it, the man is doused in water conjured from the warlocks' hands, and swords are drawn.

"If we can have everyone please calmly move towards the exits!" Someone directs. Some knights and warlocks assist in ushering people out of the ballroom quickly as gurgling sounds bubble from the mans pleading lips. Priestess Alurea and her husband apologize profusely to their guests as they exit through the doors. My husband and I's knights surround us immediately and escort us towards the stream of people, but I can't help but look over my shoulder at the man thrashing about. Scales partially form along his face and neck. Scream and shouts fill my ears and something in me mourns in horror as they stab him in the chest before he can fully burst into flames and turn.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Aalia Zealous

Stories with a bit of humor and dark fantasy that provide a space throughout your day where you can escape to and recharge are my favorite things to write about. But I also like to dabble in self-help and self sovereign inducing pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.