Fiction logo

Kayla, and the Taxi 🚕 Ride…

(The Gossip Cab Challenge) Eleven-year-old Kayla was outside Alone with no parents to look after her, She made an effort to get a Taxi ride to her Grandmothers House, but she had no Cash🏧Grandma is the protector and She has had sufficiently enough of Her Daughter and her Abusive -No Good Baby daddy's Foolish ways…

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
9
Kayla, and the Taxi 🚕 Ride…
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

Sorry I went over the word count but I couldn't stop writing 📝 but I hope this is Okay 😔 - I was Tagged for this (Taxi Gossip) Challenge and I would like to Tag/

🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖🚖

Saturday, Late night in Atlanta, I rode close by 4th street at 3 am again…there was always traffic and plenty of people leaving the Club, Intoxicated and Waiting for an Uber, Lyft, or Taxi 🚕 ride…

By Volodymyr Proskurovskyi on Unsplash

My yellow cab had been known around here, maybe because I was the only cab in the neighborhood at these times… I was always busy -

Last week One of my Riders got Jacked, as soon as he stepped from the cab, I didn't know what to do and I was sorry to have sped off so quickly-

**********************************

This neighborhood was not Good, but the money was Great-

I accomplished my usual Routes Throughout the night 🌚 -6 Days a Week.

Tonight started kinda slower than usual.

By Raymond Kotewicz on Unsplash

I was sitting near the Gas station across from the Bank 🏦 when I Heard a Voice speaking softly ;

“ HELLO, sir are you available?”

I was busy nodding my head to the Radio 📻 -(Dance with my Father again 🎶) I Chimed softly…

When I turned to look out the window I saw a little girl 🙋 and she was waving her hands at me in an attempt to get my attention…

I turned down the volume of the radio and she spoke again…

“Hey, can you give me a ride?”

“Yeah, but where are your parents? I spoke while looking around at each cross street…

“They are in the nightclub!”

“What? why are you out here alone?”

“Can you please just take me to my grandma's House? She will pay you.”

“May I Ask how old are you?”

“I’m Eleven,” she said with a matter of Fact Attitude!

She Gave me a Number and I Dialed 📲

The Grandma answered on the second Ring-

If Words were weapons she had Beaten me up Really Badly-😆

She Promised to pay me but she also Promise to beat me like I had stolen something if I didn't bring her grandbaby right to her house-

I'm not going to lie 🤥 I was more afraid of Dropping her off in front of the House 🏠.

I thought that maybe Granny would be waiting outside to hit me with the Broom Stick or perhaps -Cut Me Too Short Too Shit-😳 as she had said on the phone.

Once I gathered little Kayla in the Taxi 🚕 I sped off because I didn't want to be late and Have Grandma's knuckles all over me trying to feed me a Knuckle sandwich 🥪 👊

Kayla told me that her Dad had Brought Her and her Mom out late because “he said Mom had to get the Rent Money 💵 like he always Does every weekend”…

She Told me One-time they forgot she was sitting on the side of the gas station and left her there all night, she was Hungry and Crying until someone who knew her mom walked her Home 🏡…

Her Dad was never abusive to her just only her Mom, but she said He punished her badly-

“Grandma had tried to get him, but my Mom had called the police 👮 and said she didn't want Grandma over at our house again…”

I shook my head Angry 😡 and Sadly, I tried to make Kayla Comfortable so I asked if there was a radio station she would like to listen to. we listened to Radio Disney all the way to Grandma House.

The Ride was Smooth -

When I pulled into the Driveway, Grandma was on the front porch with the light 💡 on.

She stood there with her hands on her hips- holding a nap sack-

Grandma walked over to the car before Grabbing Kayla from the Back seat, she came to my window and paid the fare, but as she Thanked me, She pulled Kayla close and said, “Did he touch you?”
“No Kayla, Declared, he was really nice to me, Grandma!”

I let out a light exhale, and Grandma Walked Kayla to the porch and signaled for me to wait…

I was already nervous and I just wanted to get away from the scenery and see what other people needed a Taxi 🚕 around these hours, but Grandma had trotted back outside with the nap sack, and this time she was wearing gym shoes 👟.

“Take me to the spot, where you found, Kayla”.

By Fotis Fotopoulos on Unsplash

Thank you for Reading 📖 This was An Entry for oneg Summer Challenges 😉❤️📝💯👌🎉

**********************************+++

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer8 months ago

    This was Good Grandma about to take care of business

  • Thank God Kayla is safe! Some people should never be allowed to have children! Also, thank you so much for tagging me! 💖 Let's see if I can come up with anything!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    This is so good and original. Go grandma! Also, this is the first time I’ve heard the phrase “Cut Me Too Short Too Shit” 😳

  • Gramma may be scary, but I like her!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Ohhhh this was a cool story. Lovin’ granny here haha, she’s badass

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Fabulously written! Phenomenal storytelling! This is one of my favs that you have written! Great work!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Good job with the challenge :)

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Unfortunately, this sounds way too real. Great story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.