Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 21

By Kelly RileyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 21. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 21: A Royal Heist

The first glimpse of my mother in 20 years, and she was rappelling down a hospital wall to escape the police. I had to find out where she was going.

Virginia: I guess there's no question about Grandma's health anymore.

June: No, she certainly didn't look sick when she was rappelling down the side of the building.

Virginia: Do you think she faked an illness to get transferred from jail to the hospital?

June: I'd bet on it.

Virginia: It looks like she left something behind.

Clue #1

June: Hospital clothes. She changed outfits before she left.

Virginia: Wow. She had this all worked out, didn't she?

June: Yes. One thing I'll say about mother is she's good at making a swift exit.

...

June: The FBI files said Irene was spending a lot of time in Bavaria. She must be planning something. The question is, what exactly?

Virginia: Well, what does Granma usually go after?

June: Jewelry, precious gems... the sorts of things the wealthy have in excess.

Virginia: Maybe she left something else here that suggests where she's going.

Clue #2

June: "The Annual Würzburg Residenz Gala." This is today's date.

Virginia: The Würzburg Residenz? Oh, maybe she's trying to steal the Prince Bishop's crozier.

June: The what?

Virginia: Never mind. Let's go catch Grandma.

...

Virginia: The palace is so beautiful. Did you know that the fresco is the largest in the world?

June: I doubt Mother's here to appreciate the art. We should move quickly if we want to find her.

Virginia: It looks like there's a collection of jewels on display for the guests.

Clue #3

June: This looks like the centerpiece. "The Orchard." A precious Fabergé egg.

June: It once belonged to Russian Tsar Alexander the Third.

Virginia: I'll bet this is what Grandma's looking for. Stealing treasure from around the world. I can't believe this is how she lives.

June: I can see the appeal to a certain extent. But the reality tore our family apart.

Virginia: When did Grandma leave, Aunt June?

June: Father decided to move our family from London back to New York when I was 13. On the day we were supposed to board the boat, Mother didn't show up. We waited until the last minute. She never came.

Virginia: I'm sorry, Aunt June. That's awful.

June: Let's just focus on finding her.

Clue #4

June: She's climbing the staircase! Quick, we have to follow her.

Virginia: The lights have gone out! I can barely see a thing.

June: We'll have to find our way in the dark.

...

Virginia: The lights are back on. What do you think that was?

June: It's a safe bet my mother was involved. I think we should check those display cabinets again.

Clue #5

June: The Fabergé egg is gone.

Virginia: We saw Grandma going upstairs before the lights went out. How did she manage to grab the egg in that amount of time?

June: I don't know. I just know that somehow she did. I'll look upstairs, you look downstairs. We can meet out front.

...

If I were Irene, how would I escape the palace? People have noticed the egg is missing. Security will be blocking off all the exits. I bet she's looking for a less conventional way out of the building.

Clue #6

The door to one of the bedchambers was ajar. A sliver of light came through. Was Mother on the other side? As I pushed open the grand ornate door, I half expected the room to be empty. But there was Mother. The years hadn't changed her much.

Clue #7

June: Mother. I see you're still up to your old tricks.

Irene: June? What are you doing here?

June: Well, the police told me you were terribly ill. And I thought it might be the last chance I had to see you. But I see it was just another one of your deceptions. You stole the Fabergé egg, didn't you?

Irene: No. This isn't what it looks like.

June: Oh, come on.

Irene: I know you don't have much reason to trust me, but I'm telling the truth.

June: You're right. I don't trust you.

Clue #8

June: You always have one foot out the door, don't you? Or window, in this case. I think that you stole the egg and that you're running.

Irene: I can explain, June. But not now. Please don't follow me.

June: And let you disappear again while everyone else picks up the pieces? I don't think so.

...

Irene: I understand you're upset. But can we please save this conversation for solid ground?

June: Where's the egg, Mother? If you hand it over, the police might go easy on you.

Irene: I told you, June. I don't have it. Here, you can look in my purse yourself.

Clue #9

June: An empty purse doesn't prove anything. You're a serial liar and a professional thief. And you broke out of jail to come here and steal that egg.

Irene: June, you have no idea what's going on here. I'm trying to do the right thing.

June: You've never done the right thing. Where were you when Father died? And Clare? Your heartfelt condolences must have gotten lost in the mail.

Irene: I wanted to be there. Believe me. I'm sorry but I have to go. I don't have time to explain.

Irene zipped down to the palace gardens on a wire. I had to follow her.

Clue #10

The rusty drainpipe broke away from the wall.

June: I guess I'm not using that to get down. Dammit. Mother is getting away.

SeriesMysteryfamilyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.