Fiction logo

John from the Office

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 7 min read
7
They're coming. They're all coming.

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. It was just my dog and I. I had to get away from my co-workers.

They had been forcing me to go to nightclubs to party and drink, two things I hated. Going to work the next day with a hangover and very little sleep on a daily basis was horrible and exhausting. I had filed a harassment suit and won, but now they all hated me. I tried going to work the day after I won, figuring they’d just leave me alone. Instead I was the victim of incessant pranks and more harassment.

Someone threw a stapler at my head, which left a scar. Someone else left a nail in my chair. They destroyed my computer, so I couldn’t even work. I heard snickers in the halls as I passed, and they beat the hell out of me when I was in the parking lot.

When I drove out of the parking lot, a few of them followed me. The only safe place I could think to drive was my cabin. I’m just glad I already had my dog in my car waiting for me. I checked my rearview mirror and was pretty sure I’d outrun them. I’d been driving in circles for hours.

I pulled into the driveway and got out of my car. I threw up, the stress had made me sick. My pug, King, started barking.

“It’s ok, King. I’m ok. I’m better now,” I said. King stopped barking. I stretched, let King out to take a pee, then went inside and turned on the fireplace. I called the police and explained the situation. They said they’d send a patrol car up to watch my cabin tonight. I turned on the TV and waited for the patrol car to get here before going to sleep.

I heard a car out front and King started barking again. I looked outside and saw a patrol car.

“It’s ok, King. It’s just the police,” I said. A cop with wearing a thick winter coat and glasses walked out of the car and knocked on my door. I opened it.

“Hello, are you the patrol they sent,”

“Yes, sir. I’ll be out front all night if you need me. You should find somewhere safe to stay tomorrow, we don’t have the resources to do this nightly,” He said.

“Understood. And thank you,” I said. I closed the door and the officer went back to his car. I called my mother to explain what happened.

“I’m so worried about you. What are you going to do?” My mother asked.

“Don’t worry mom. I’ll come up and visit tomorrow,” I said.

“Alright, stay safe until then, sweetie. Lock all your doors and set your alarm,” She said.

“Thanks mom. See you tomorrow,” I said and hung up the phone. My cabin didn’t have an alarm, but she didn’t need to know that.

I turned on the fireplace and television. I sat watching the glow from both until I fell asleep with King sitting in my lap.

I was jolted awake an hour later. There was a crashing sound from the kitchen. Somebody must have seen the officer and snuck in around back.

“Who’s there?” I shouted. There was no answer. I heard footsteps slowly approaching. A man with a ski mask pulled over his face walked in the room.

“Who the hell are you,” I said and stood up. King jumped up and started barking.

“Hello, John. I’m here on behalf of the office,” the man said.

“Oliver, is that you?” I asked.

“To bad you recognized my voice. I was just going to beat you. Now I have to kill you,” He said.

“Oh, come on Oliver. Don’t do this, we used to be friends. What about all those nightclubs you took me to?” I asked.

“You sued me for that. You sued the whole office for that, remember?” Oliver asked.

“Well, yah because you were forcing me to drink and stay out all night. I’m talking about before that, we were friends,” I said.

“Exactly. We used to be friends, before you sued. You could have just said you didn’t want to go clubbing with us. But you chose to sue instead. Now shut up while I smash your face in,” Oliver said. Oliver swung the bat at me. I was narrowly able to avoid it. I grabbed King and ran out my front door.

“I tried saying no, several times. You pressured me to go anyway. Then once I was there, you pressured me to drink,” I said. Oliver took another swing at me with the bat. He missed me and hit the wall.

I ran outside and found the squad car. The glass had been smashed out of the drivers’ side window.

“Officer, officer, I need your help,” I said and started shaking his shoulder. He fell over in his seat and I saw a gash on his neck.

“Crap,” I shouted. I used to think Oliver was a nice guy, I couldn’t believe he was a murderer. Was getting even with me worth killing an innocent officer? And for what, because I didn’t want to go clubbing and drinking? And why did everyone at my office have a pack mentality over this? The pack mentality was a fast spreading illness, and one I wish I had caught before I sued, then Oliver from the office wouldn’t be trying to kill me.

I turned around and saw Oliver standing at my door.

“You won’t get away with this,” Oliver shouted.

“Get away with what?” I asked.

“Suing us,” Oliver said.

“And you won’t get away with murdering me,” I said.

“We’ll see about that,” He said and charged at me. I reached in the officers pockets and grabbed his gun. I turned around to fire at Oliver but he was already behind me, swinging his bat. I ducked, then ran to my car.

“Get back here,” he said and charged me again. This time I had time to shoot. I shot at him twice and hit his knee.

He fell over and shouted, “You shot my knee. How could you shoot my knee? I thought you said you were my friend. That’s not how friends treat each other.”

“I said you used to be my friend. Friends don’t swing bats at each other. Enjoy your time in the snow,” I gloated.

“You think I’m the only one coming for you? The whole office is after you,” Oliver said.

“How did you find me, anyway?” I asked.

“I hacked your phone while the others were planning to beat you in the parking lot. I figured you’d take off so I installed tracking software,” Oliver said.

“That’s good to know. I’ll have to delete that,” I said.

“It’s too late. I texted everyone at the office and gave them your location. There on their way now. They’ll be here any minute,” Oliver said.

“Well, then… It’s time to go,” I said.

“You’ll never make it. But go ahead, try and run. See what happens,” Oliver said and sinisterly smiled. I didn’t know why he was smiling when he was the one laying in the snow with a shot knee.

I grabbed King, got in my car and started driving to my mother’s house. It would be a nice surprise for her if I showed up a day early.

As I was driving, I thought I saw someone from the office pass me on the other side of the road. Then another car passed that definitely had a coworker driving. I lowered my head as five more coworkers passed me. I assumed they were all heading to the cabin for my alleged beating.

When I thought they all passed I put my head up.

“Ha-ha-ha. We’re safe now, King. On the way to mother’s house,” I said and sighed in relief.

The end of the mountain road was coming, and I had to slow down to turn. I pressed on my breaks and nothing happened. Oliver must have cut the breaks, that’s why he told me to see what happens if I run.

“Damn you, Oliver,” I shouted as my car sped over the cliff.

Copyright © 3/14/2022 by A.H. Mittelman. All rights reserved.

AdventureClassicalExcerptFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiShort StoryYoung AdultSeries
7

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Wow this really grips you as you read.

  • K.H. Obergfollabout a year ago

    Wow!!!! Love the twist at the end!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.