Fiction logo

Joey The Tortoise

A Temporary Tortoise Makes For A Permanent Pal

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished about a year ago 3 min read
15
Joey the Tortoise out for a stroll - Photo by Author

This is a story for my new tortoise friend, Joey.

**************

Activity buzzes, crackles, and chirps in every direction. The soundtrack to this warm, March, Los Angeles day… the first dry day after several unseasonably wet ones.

A soft and low thud in the grass occurs among the plethora of high-pitched energetic noises.

The sparrows continue to chirp, the hummingbirds buzz, the twittering of other birds in which Sam has yet to identify continue. And another soft and low thud in the grass.

“There goes Joey.” Sam says to his new tortoise friend as she ambles through the yard.

She sniffs some grass, loses interest, and continues to stroll through the yard. The soft thuds and slow crunching of grass under the feet of this 20-pound desert tortoise are calm and casual amongst the almost-frantic chorus being sung by the surrounding birds.

Joey approaches some thicker blades of grass, sniffs them, and then begins to eat them.

Joey the Tortoise being fed grass - Photo by Author

“Oh, you only like the thicker blades of grass huh?” Sam says, ripping some of the blades of grass out of the ground and feeding them to Joey.

“They taste better.” Joey says in a gravelly voice.

“Ah!” Escapes Sam’s mouth as he teeters back and almost falls.

He scans his surroundings. No neighbors around. Just the birds and a curious squirrel.

Joey the Tortoise and a curious squirrel in the background - Phot by Author

“Joey, did you just talk?” Sam asks in a hushed tone.

Silence.

The birds in the surrounding area hush.

“Well, I didn’t fart.” Joey remarks.

“You talk?” Sam is astonished. “And… make jokes? Since when do you talk?”

“I’ve always talked.” Joey responds. “I just never had anyone worth talking to.”

“I can’t believe it.”

“Believe it. The last guy didn’t even give me a name. Didn’t even bother to find out if I was male or female. Thank you for looking into it. And thank you for choosing Joey. I do feel it suits me.”

“Does anyone else know you can talk?”

“No. And no one will. When you bring me to the sanctuary next week, I won’t talk to anyone. I don’t wish to become a spectacle. A talking tortoise? No thank you.”

“So, you have been listening!” Sam is so taken aback at this realization.

“Yes, thank you for taking me in. Even if just temporarily. I know you do not have the proper space for me to live, as you have explained. I know the sanctuary will have plenty of room for me, as you have explained. Without you, who knows what would’ve happened to me.” Joey stops talking and eats more thick blades of grass.

“Where were you before you lived with that guy?” Sam asks curiously.

“I’ve seen many places.” Joey says, grass falling out of her mouth. “I lived in a desert. I lived in a field. I have many years of traveling under my shell… It’s a tortoise expression.”

“I wish I could keep you, Joey. It’s been so great having you. It’s just, my apartment…”

“No need to explain again, Sam.” Joey seems to almost smile. “I understand. This sanctuary you’ve described sounds like it will be the best home I’ve ever had. And though I will have only lived with you temporarily, I’ll remember you and your kindness permanently.”

“The sanctuary is far, but I’ll come visit whenever I can.” Sam says.

“And I’ll write to you as often as I can.” Joey responds.

“You can write too?!”

A gravelly laugh croaks out of Joey’s throat.

“No, Sam. That would be absurd.”

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

FantasyShort Story
15

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    She’s so cute! I love her. I’m glad she’s still in your life. Expecting her to write would truly be absurd. 😋

  • Lynn Anderson 12 months ago

    This made me tear up a little. Best wishes to Joey. 🐢

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I hope joey is happy in the sanctuary. Nice light hearted read.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was so good!! 😁. Joey is super cute too haha

  • A simple delight. Have you ever read "Small Gods" by Terry Pratchett? This short story made me think of it, with the tortoise who talks to the only person who actually listens. Imagine things like, “No, Sam. That would be absurd," through an entire novel. I love your story. It was wonderful.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw, I love Joey!! 😍😍 This is so charming!!

  • Joey, the talking tortoise who can also apparently make jokes states that it is absurd to believe that she can write, lol! I literally Lol-ed at the last line! Hope Joey is happy at the sanctuary. Loved the story and your photos!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This last part made me laugh. Beautiful story 😊👍

  • Princess Jekey-Greenabout a year ago

    One of my favorite reads from you. I'm so glad Joey has a new place to call home. Well done!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Oh such a sweet story! So glad Joey will have a place at the sanctuary.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful and heartwarming. I'm glad he found a good home at the sanctuary.

  • Nice storytelling 👍

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Ugh! I wish he would have found a way to keep him. But glad he plans to visit. I enjoyed your story. Thanks for sharing.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This is a heartwarming and humorous story about a talking tortoise and his temporary caretaker, who learns to appreciate the value of kindness and the importance of animal welfare.👌👌👌🙏👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.