Fiction logo

Jame's and Meg Forever

A diary of despair.

By Loraine BaneyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Jame's and Meg Forever
Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

Its been about 1,827 days since the riots began and people turned on each other. I’m not quite sure where I am right now. All I know is that I’m somewhere between the Backyard Prayers land and the suburban fighters. I’m currently preparing for another journey to Jackson to gather more supplies to invade yet again the lockup center in Washington. Today is Megan’s birthday. She turns 24 today. I made a wish on her birthday for her to come back to me. I can’t believe it has been 5 years since I’ve seen Megan. That day I will never forget her being dragged by the DCD for just having a dot on her forehead. She hasn’t been let out of the DCD since then. If I could have just grabbed her and ran away. If I wasn’t such an idiot to let her slip right out of my grasp. I would still have her with me. What’s wrong with me? But I know one thing I’m not gonna stop until I get her back.

-James

Dear Diary,

I think I should start explaining what has happened in case someone finds the journal. Hello, my name is James, I’m 25 years old, and I’m from Austin, Texas. My girlfriend Meg and I took a trip to California for a week to celebrate graduation. Halfway through our trip on Wednesday, we got a message on the television saying lockdown. Sirens went up and down the streets telling people to stay indoors. We were scared because no one knew what the heck was going on. The next morning the President of the United States sent out a message saying that every person under the age of 25 was infected with a virus. The symptoms included bright blue dots on your body, coughing up blue liquid, and the worst one was being dead even though you weren’t. It all hurt like hell. The next thing to happen was panic and fear. And then the worst happened, we transmitted it to everyone, and anyone who got it was a goner. The DCD took things to a whole nother level. They took all the power. The riots happened and people became furious. The DCD became the new government. People started burying their loved ones without knowing they were still alive. They were all lifeless and couldn’t move or speak, with no heartbeat, and no blinking. It was the most horrible thing that could happen to us. The DCD started making detention centers and started to do testing. Their main base was in Minnesota state. But now they have a bigger one located in Wahington state. That is where Meg is being held. And I’m going to get her.

-James

Dear Diary,

I’ve made it to Jackson and I’m gathering some supplies. While I was driving here, I got jumped by a punk-ass kid who took my backpack. I had Meg’s heart-shaped locket in that backpack. I am such a dumb ass. That kid’s gonna pay when I get my hands on him. Right now I’m trying to find some supplies. Luckily there’s a lot of gun stores in this town but not too many guns. I found a Smith and Wesson 9mm gun with some bullets. But this handgun won’t make it far. On my way into the mall, I noticed that punk-ass kid in the mall so I snuck up behind him and held him down till he told me where my backpack was. Luckily he gave me back my backpack. His name is Kyle. He seems like a nice kid. He lives alone in this mall, so I asked if he wanted to tag along with me. He said at night he can hear helicopters overhead and that they sometimes land outside the mall. He said every time he checked there was nothing there. I told him all about Meg and how this whole thing began. He asked about the heart-shaped locket, I told him that I bought it for meg for our high school graduation but forgot to give it to her so I planned to give it to her on the vacation. We are currently on our way to Washington.

-James

Dear Diary,

We made it to California all right. The kid told me he has never seen the ocean so I thought id take him to see it. He can’t swim so I had to go looking for a life vest. While I was looking for a life vest I saw a penguin on the beach. A PENGUIN ON THE BEACH. Like how? I have no idea but he was just chilling. After swimming, we headed to go get supplies. Turns out a lot of houses in California have guns. While we were in the house we heard a helicopter overhead and when we looked outside nothing. We were wondering if it was to scout the area for people. Luckily we were the few that got away. As we headed for Washington we heard the helicopter again but nothing was in sight. I pulled over and we took a rest and Kyle told me about his sister who took care of him till he was 7 in the mall. He said that the DCD took her but she protected him. He wants her back like I want my Meg. He was only three years old when all this began. I’m heading towards Washington now.

-James

Dear Diary,

The kid ran off into the woods. I ran into the woods to find him with little to no luck. Then I saw her, Meg. She was right in front of me. She ran away from me and I kept calling her name. All she would say was follow me. Where was I following her to? Then I realized that I was probably hallucinating. I felt so close to her. I was so close to having her in my arms again. While I was coming back to the car I found the kid. He had been hiding in a cave. I asked him why he was hiding and all he said was ‘From them’. I have no idea what he meant. I had to drag him back to the car. Luckily he wasn’t too far into the woods. I still wonder now what he meant. Did he see the DCD? If so, why didn’t he say the DCD? He still will not talk to me and last night he didn’t sleep a wink. All I can do is worry. Is he okay? I hope so.

-James

Dear Diary,

Today I have embarked on enemy land and I have all these feelings rush to my head. All I know is I better see Meg here alive. It’s been five years and all I can do is look at the heart-shaped locket and think of her. Every day has been hell, just for us to be together. And I would do it all over again. So I am writing this while I am parked just minutes from the DCD building. I keep hearing a lot of helicopters going by but I see none in sight. It must just be my imagination. I am going into the woods to make camp and wait for my subtle entry. The kid did not wanna go and I do not blame him. I put my keys in the dash in case he needs to run if I don’t make it back. So right now it is nightfall and it seems the helicopter noises have gotten a lot louder. Good morning out there. This will be my final entry unless I return, wish me luck.

-James

Dear Diary,

They followed me back into the woods. I think they are gonna kill me. It wasn’t a lockup center. Meg was not there. Nobody was there, it was all a lie. I think I found a safe spot for now until they eventually find me. But if your reading this please escape. They are not what you think they are. The DCD is not human.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Loraine Baney

I’m a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.