Fiction logo

J.J. of Third Earth

Chapter One

By Deanna FratusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
5
J.J. of Third Earth
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. But I know for a fact that sayings like that just simply aren't true. Like when Aunt Aida says "Speak up for yourself because no one really know's what another is thinking."

I know that saying isn't true because I know what she's thinking. I know what everyone's thinking before they even say a word. She doesn't know it and I like to mess with her sometimes. Harmless fun only. I actually love my Aunt Aida. She's the only one who's been here for me since my parent's went missing right around the time I started school at 3rd Elementary Academy or just the Academy as we call it.

Not to sound arrogant but I've got a pretty cool ability. I wouldn't call it a super power or anything because I'm pretty sure you've got to be able to fly and fight bad guys to have super powers and I can't do those things. I'm just a kid. But I do wish I could fly. I even climbed a tree out back once and jumped off to see if I could. But no, instead I came crashing down and almost broke my leg. I remember Aunt Aida rushing out of the house toward me, arms up waving around all crazy-like and scooping me up into her arms. I was fine. For some reason I always am.

So, I can't fly whatever but I can read minds and that's cool too. Mind-reading has it's perks. For example, I can't be lied to because I can tell when someone says one thing but is thinking another. The only way to lie to me is to actually believe the lie in your own head, and who does that?

Aunt Aida lies to me sometimes, even though she loves me. She told me my parents were dead and that they died on the voyage to First Earth but when I search her mind, I know different. In her mind, my parents are alive. They're just lost somewhere. The Voyager K15 went missing, no one knows where but they're still searching they haven't given up hope and neither have I. If Eldrige Callihan could clone an entire planet and relocate nearly all of it's population into an entirely different galaxy, then I'm sure he'll find one missing ship someday soon. At least I hope so. If he doesn't, one day when I'm old enough, I will.

Also, hey... you don't talk much, do you? You could say more, you know? I won't tell. I'm good at keeping secrets. I think most of us are here on Third Earth. We don't talk about Second Earth, sorry, but if you want to know more just go look it up. The Galaxy Web will tell you all you need to know if you even know what that is. Except it won't tell you where lost ships go, like the Voyager K15. I tried looking that up already. Dead end.

You know, it's cool and all that I can read other people's minds but it only works if they're right in front of me, or beside me, or behind me. I don't even know how I'm talking to you right now because I can't even read minds across large rooms or across galaxies or space. I really wish I could. I'd read my parent's minds right now if that were possible. I bet that with their mouths Mom would ask if I'd been good to Aunt Aida and Dad would say "So how have you been liking the Academy?" But with their minds, they'd really be thinking of how much they really love me and miss me.

I wonder sometimes, If I'd ever tell my parents about my ability. I wonder what they'd think. Would they ever be afraid to talk to me knowing that I could read their minds? That's why I don't tell Aunt Aida but that's only part of the reason why. The other part is because the Academy had us all promise not to tell anyone. "What happens at the Academy, stays at the Academy," they say. They don't want any outsiders to know all the different things we can do. They told us we're special because we're the first generation to be born on Third Earth and that those born on First Earth could never understand except for those like Eldrige Callihan and his crew.

It's true, I'm not the only one. We all have some type of ability. Some of us have the same as others. Some of us even have more than one. For a long time, I thought I only had one but I guess I have two now because nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say but I heard yours. And how did you know my name was J.J. before I even answered back?

Sci FiAdventure
5

About the Creator

Deanna Fratus

Deanna Fratus is a writer based out of Massachusetts. She enjoys writing fiction. When not writing, she enjoys producing music, studying genealogy, and raising her 3 children.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Intriguing piece of fiction you've written. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it - would love to read more of this.

  • An excellent take on the challenge, great concept , well written, and that main image is wonderful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.