Fiction logo

It’s Not Him, It’s Me

Microfiction

By Abby Kay MendoncaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
It’s Not Him, It’s Me
Photo by Linda Xu on Unsplash

At first, I thought breaking up with Mike at the end of our four-day vacay might be a little harsh. Who am I kidding? It will definitely hurt.

I wanted to visit the beach though, and we still get along with each other . Besides, I’ve been planning to end it for a while. It isn’t him; well, maybe some, but mostly it’s me. As soon as he returns from the bathroom, I’ll tell him.

I stared out at the ocean on our final day together. Turning around at the sound of my name, there was Mike, on one knee…

Microfiction

About the Creator

Abby Kay Mendonca

Here to share my voice. I write about the overstated and underappreciated. Also, I love cats.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Nooooooo!!!! I can feel the awkwardness 😱

  • Oh dear, and what happens now? Great story

Abby Kay MendoncaWritten by Abby Kay Mendonca

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.