Fiction logo

It's Dinner Time

I always assumed that my lover would be an excellent cook who would delight me with his home-cooked meals

By Ritika mishraPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

It is 7:00 p.m., and Riya has returned home from work. Riya opened the hall door and turned on the hall light. Riya's face was lit up with the satisfaction of finishing her assignment on time. Riya headed to the bathroom after opening the bedroom door and placing her laptop bag and handbag on the side table.

Riya dressed up in Harsh's T-shirt and her shorts today, untucked her ponytail into a comfy bun, and entered the kitchen. Riya began preparing for cooking by taking out the cabbage from the fridge. Harsh loves Riya's hand-cooked meals, and Riya is overjoyed when Harsh compliments her cooking. Harsh prefers Riya's hand-cooked food the most.

Harsh, on the other hand, never forces Riya to cook because he knows and understands that Riya has a job and is frequently tired after it.

Riya finds herself extremely fortunate to have a decent boyfriend like Harsh.

Riya was feeling quite lonely without Harsh. Whenever Riya works in the kitchen, Harsh is present around her and assists her in her task. Talking to Harsh makes Riya's entire day of tiredness disappear. It's difficult to find time for each other in their busy schedule, so the kitchen is their favorite place to spend time together.

As she was feeling lonely, Riya played a rocking Bollywood party song on her phone.

Riya was in a good mood today because she kept her promise. Riya was furious with Rachit's actions by noon, but after that, Riya became fully normal. Riya was cooking while swaying her body to the beat of the song on her phone.

It was 8 p.m. Riya put all the food on the dining table and, after cleaning the kitchen, walked to the bedroom and laid down on the bed. It was so late, I should call him, Riya thought.

"Hello, where are you?" Riya inquired, showing concern.

"I'm only going to leave my office in 20 minutes," Harsh remarked, easing Riya's concern.

"OK, I'm waiting for you and missing you," Riya said to Harsh.

I'm missing you too. Let's complete the work now so that I can come home soon. " Harsh added to Riya before hanging up the phone.

Riya was resting in bed, checking her WhatsApp messages when the message "Are you busy, Riya?" appeared. Riya's face lit up with a smile. "No, I am not busy," Riya typed in response to Rachit's message.

Wait! " I can't tell Rachit how badly I want to talk to him; I have to ignore him. "Just send a formal message after some time," Riya tried to control her excitement, but she couldn't stop herself from typing a new message and clicking the submit button. "No, I'm not busy." Rachit's second message appeared, asking, "Have you eaten?"

"No, not now and you," Riya wrote, trying to carry on the conversation. Rathit responded promptly to the message, "No, the food is ready now; I'll eat it in a minute."

"Okay," Riya said, trying to stop the escalating conversation.

"Do you prepare your own meals?" Rachit's message appeared again.

Riya typed the message curiously, "Yes and you."

Riya was very curious about Rachit, but because of her developing attraction to Rachit, she tried repeatedly to distance herself from him.

Riya is well aware that she likes Rachit and that Rachit is more than just a friend to her, but keeping in mind her relationship with Harsh, Riya tries to keep her emotions under control.

I'll never tell Rachit what's on my mind, since that would be fine. I'm not sure how Rachit feels about me, whether he's flirting with me or genuinely likes me. Whatever it may be,Rachit will never know what's on my mind, "Riya said quietly to herself.

Then another message appeared. "Yes, I know how to cook, and people say I'm a really good cook,"

"Wow, that's fantastic." Riya praised Rachit's skill.

I always assumed that my lover would be an excellent cook who would delight me with his home-cooked meals, but Harsh knows nothing other than how to make tea and Maggi. I tried whatever I could to teach Harsh to cook, but he was never interested in learning.

Riya stepped out of her thoughts and took a deep breath.

"I think you are busy," another message appeared on the phone's screen.

Yes, I'm busy. See you at the office on Monday. Riya turned off the mobile data by sending the last message.

9:00 p.m. There was a knock on the hall door.

"Is this you, harsh?" Riya inquired, suspiciously, before unlocking the door.

"Yes," Harsh said to Riya as he removed his shoes.

Harsh walked up to Riya as soon as she opened the door.

"I really missed you,"

"Me, too," Riya replied, clutching Harsh in her arms.

What is this, Riya? You wore my T-shirt today again, "Harsh commented on Riya's clothing.

How many times do I have to remind you that this is a gift from my boyfriend? Riya jokingly asked Harsh. "That's not right," Harsh remarked, a sneaky irritation on his face.

All right, I'll change clothes, but first you go get fresh. The food is becoming cold, "Riya said, pushing Harsh into the restroom.

Did you prepare dinner? Harsh inquired, surprised by the clarity in his voice.

"Yes, have you already had dinner?" Riya inquired, her voice saddened.

"No," Harsh said, glancing at Riya's sad expression.

So, why did you look so surprised at me? Riya questioned Harsh.

Harsh explained, "No, there is no such thing; I assumed you were tired from work and didn't want to bother you."

"Nothing like that. I'd like to cook for you, "Riya replied, attempting to assuage Harsh's concerns.

Riya served food while seated at the dining table, then Harsh exited the washroom and entered the hall. "What have you made?" Harsh asked curiously.

"Cabbage, potatoes, and parathas," Riya explained as she moved the dish of food towards Harsh. "How did you know I was craving cabbage and potatoes?" Harsh inquired about Riya, who was surprised.

"Well, in the same manner that you know everything about me without telling me," Riya said with a smile.

yummy...

Harsh murmured, "Food prepared by your hands," indulging in the flavor of the food.

Riya's expression revealed a different level of satisfaction.

"Thank goodness Harsh enjoyed the dinner," Riya thought to herself.

"Thank you," Harsh replied, kissing Riya's hand as she sat nearby.

A pink glow began to form on Riya's face.

After dinner, Riya and Harsh return to their bedroom, and Harsh reminds Riya, "We have to go shopping tomorrow," to which Riya joyfully responds.

First and importantly, Riya turned off the alarm on her phone and slept peacefully with her head in Harsh's arms.

Thank you for taking the time to read through this chapter.

I have the sense that Riya and Harsh have a deep bond, and that there is no space for a third person between them. So, why is Riya drawn to Rachit?

In the upcoming chapters, you will undoubtedly get to know about.

Don't forget to vote and leave a comment if you enjoyed the article.

The next chapter will be available soon. This chapter is part of my #Wattpad project titled "Unfulfilled Desires." Please read the entire story by clicking on the link provided. 

https://www.wattpad.com/story/290266827?utm source=android&utm medium=link&utm content=story info&wp page=story details button&wp uname=ritu5594&wp originator=iXHdZ15KNRGIDueCb013VczXqV%

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.