Fiction logo

It`s Confession Time

Confess

By Paul WestlakePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

It`s Confession Time

Simon just continued to pace around and around the kitchen table, tutting, head in his hands, sighing despairingly as he looks down and sees Michelle sat there looking decidedly guilty as Simon goes to say something, he stops, still not really knowing what to say as he walks around the table at least twice more as he finally manages to compose himself.

“Seriously. I mean, seriously. Mr. Oliver Harewood. Mr. – Oliver – Harewood! Of all people. Our boss. The man that we both work for. It had to be him, did it? No one else, just him? Yes. It had to be him not only to have an affair with, but now you`ve assaulted his wife who`s now baying for your blood and who can blame her. I mean what on earth possessed you? Wasn`t it enough that you were sleeping with her husband? Now you go and hit her. You`ve done some stupid things in all the years that we`ve been together but this, this beats them all hands down. I don’t know what we`re going to do to get out of this. This could mean both our jobs you know that don`t you.”

“I`m sorry. I don’t know what quite came over me. Look, I`ll go over there tomorrow and apologize to her tomorrow and hopefully I can persuade to stop the police from pressing charges, okay” Michelle eventually says.

“You`ll go nowhere near her or that house, is that understood! And as for the police dropping the charges, I think the best hope that you`ve got in avoiding any sort of prison sentence is to make an insanity plea” Simon says very firmly.

1

“Honestly, it`ll be fine, just let me talk to her” insists Michelle.

“I said no, and I meant no, okay. Don`t even think of going near there, right!” Simon felt that he had to yell at her now in the hope that she would listen to him. He was somewhat relieved when she just nodded before she said. “Look, I don`t think that`ll be as bad as you`re making out.”

“What, with your record, are you serious, they`ll lock you up and throw away the key. Be glad to get rid of you from around here, as the crime rate will probably drop by at least twenty percent.” He says not meaning for it to sound as jokingly as he did. But it did make Michelle chuckle which she knew was wrong, she just couldn`t stop herself.

“Sorry, I know that I shouldn`t laugh” she says trying desperately not to at least chuckle anymore.

“This is no laughing matter now how much you think it might be. This is serious, it really is. Why? I mean, why? All our married life so far, it`s been nothing but five years of hassle and trouble from you. I often wonder why I married you sometimes I really do.” He may not know why he said `I Do` right at this moment, but Michelle does.

“Because we are the ultimate definition of Opposites Attract. And we both know it. I`m your Ying to my Yang. Just admit it, you know it`s true. It`s always been that way ever since we first met and it `ll never change Simon. Look, let`s be honest, things haven`t been right between us for a little while now and believe me, because I truly mean this, I didn`t go out purposely looking to have an affair with anyone, especially with our boss, but in saying that, now that you know what I`ve done, when were you going to tell me what you`ve been up to.”

2

“What. What do you mean what I`ve been up to?” Simon asks, not knowing what she meant by that.

“Oh, come on Simon, just be honest with me now, yeah” Michelle looking like that she really did know something as he looked totally lost.

“I really don’t know what you mean” he protests but Michelle wasn`t going to let this go.

“Simon, please, just tell me what you`ve been up to with Mr. – Oliver – Harewood. I`m not going to judge you, much.”

3

Love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christensonabout a year ago

    Clever twist, they were both up to something with Oliver. That guy must be amazing lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.