Fiction logo

It Only Takes One..

Just one mistake can ruin a person's entire life.

By MelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The afternoon started off so perfect. After the long, stressful week I've had, Thomas knew exactly what it was that I was needing to help destress. We began our day with extra large milkshakes with a little bit of rum mixed in. I was hesitant but Thomas insisted that the rum made it taste so much better. After that, we found ourselves wandering around the museum of art trying to figure out how many pieces of art we could understand at just the first glance. I kept noticing how often Thomas would add more rum to every drink he'd consume, but I kept brushing it off. Obviously he would know his own limits.

Our day continued into the park where Thomas and I first met; we were only five years old at the time but little would we know that we'd make instant friends. The time was getting close to 8pm and I was absolutely obsessed with being able to lay in the grassy field and count how many colors the sky could change before the world shut off its lights for the night. I began to prepare myself to sit down on the grass when Thomas stopped me.

"Don't sit there," He was grinning from ear to ear.

"Why," I asked?

"I found a place that would show off a much better view," He took my hand and led me down to the lakefront where a blanket had been placed down along with some food selections and an umbrella for shading. "I knew you'd want this to be special," He smiled.

"Thomas." I glazed over the picnic he had set up to a sign sitting in the center of a giant bouquet of flowers that read;

Would you do me the honors of being my girlfriend, Kiara?

"Oh, Thomas." My cheeks flushed.

"Don't you like it?" He took a chug of his beer before handing me the bottle, which I politely refused.

"I do," I placed my hand against his cheek, "Thomas, I love it. I do."

"Liar." He turned away, taking another chug of his beer.

"Thomas." I grabbed ahold of his sleeve before he had a chance to yank it away, "I just don't see you in that-"

"Yeah.. I get it." He stormed off.

"Thomas!" I ran after him. Boy was I glad I just wore an ordinary pair of flats today. "Thomas, slow down!" I shouted out.

Eventually, I made it back to the parking lot where his car sat in its parking lot. Thomas was leaning up against the drivers side, an empty bottle of beer lying next to him. I placed my hand on his shoulder only for him to jerk it away.

"Were you just going to leave me here?"

"I didn't leave." I noticed a couple teardrops had fallen down his cheek.

"Thomas," I knelt down next to him, "I love you. I do. I have loved you ever since I was five years old. You are my best friend. But-"

"But," He groaned, "There is always a but."

"-you are always going to be just that," I completed my sentence, "I'm sorry Thomas but I can't see you as anything else."

He stood back up, "I understand, Kiara. Let's go home."

"Now?" I haven't even had a chance to watch the sunset yet.. to lay down in the grass and count all the colors the sky had to offer.

"I don't really feel like staying here after all that."

"I should at least drive," I went to grab the keys when he swung his hand away.

"First you break my heart, now you want to take away my dignity."

"No." The stench of booze really began to hit my nose now, "It's just-"

"Just what?"

"You've been drinking and I was just offering-"

"I'm good enough to drive." He stumbled his way into the car, "Now get in."

"Thomas."

He started the engine, "You have ten seconds."

I had no choice. I had no other way of getting home and I didn't have a single clue on where to go if I was to walk home. I hopped in, buckled up, and prayed he knew what he was doing.

After speeding on past multiple headlights, my mind started going into panic mode. No matter how many times I'd ask Thomas to stop, he just pressed his foot even more on the gas. I haven't even heard him say a single word since we left the park. I took out my phone and pulled up my sister's text messages;

If I don't make it home, tell mom and dad I'm sorry

I love you Kasey

I just wanted you to know that

Oh god. What did I just do? I closed out of my texts and put my phone back down in the cup holder between us. The light in front of us turned from a bright green to a harsh red but the car didn't feel like it was about to brake.

"Red light."

The car sped up a little more.

"Thomas, red light."

I turned my head to see Thomas with his eyes glued to the road. There was absolutely no way he hasn't seen the light by now. "Thomas."

Silence.

"Thomas, please stop."

He let off a short laugh as he jerked the wheel to the side, "God. I was just kidding. Would you just lighten up, Ki-"

A horn blared before our car spun across the intersection. The last thing I got a chance to see was the the green light spinning round and round just before everything went black.

"Kiara?" Thomas tried to shake me awake, "Kiara, it's fine. We just hit the telephone pole." He pushed my body off the glove department, revealing the bloody gash where my forehead used to be.

"Kiara, you're scaring me." He grabbed ahold of my hand, "I was just kidding. I'm sorry. I'm so, so sorry Kiara." A tear fell down his cheek as red and blue lights flashed behind him. "Please forgive me."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.