Fiction logo

Island Dangers Untold

A young man is about to learn the difference in beautiful mythological creatures the hard way.

By Alicia AnspaughPublished about a year ago 3 min read

I stood stock still as I faced the most compelling woman that I had ever seen. She was peeking out from behind some palm trees with an odd energy to her.

She was unlike any other, her darK hair fell around her in waves while her large almond shaped eyes seemed to burn a hole through me with her emerald gaze.

They winged up slightly at the corners and were framed by thick black lashes which were in turn framed by delicately arched fine black brows.

Her nose was just as delicate as the rest of her and pointed like her high cheekbones.

She parted her soft looking pink lips as if to speak and then seemed to discard the idea, I thought that I caught a glimpse of longer then normal bright white incisors - but I could have been mistaken.

She looked so soft, her tanned skin was smooth....she made me want to rush to her and hold her....and as far as I could tell she didn't have any clothes on.

I had been on this island for a month and hadn't seen a soul...and now here stood in front of me the most striking woman...this was every mans fantasy and I was no different.

She made as if to pull back from me, probably frightened...but no , I didn't get the feeling that she was uncomfortable, she had an presence about her.

I couldn't put my finger on what it was, my instincts told me to stay by the water....but my desire to embrace her was greater.

I walked closer with my hands up in front of me to show that i meant her no harm....she looked so small and delicate, maybe she was a model .

She pulled back more.

"Wait!"

She paused.

"I mean you no harm. You are the first person that Iv seen on a month. Will you please come and talk with me? Here, would you like my shirt?"

She considered and then nodded shyly.

I unbuttoned my linen shirt and slid it over my head, handing it to her made her retreat further so i balled it up and tossed it at the sand by her tree.

She smiled and angled her arm out to grab my shirt.. it but not before I caught her eyeing my chest and abs.....i was glad that I worked out... she gave me a another shy look and made to dart behind the tree.

"Umm, can you tell me your name? Mine is Kevin."

She smiled , tossing the shirt behind her and then rose up to her full height- which was impossibly tall.

She came around the tree at a speed that no human could accomplish...and Then i looked down and saw why.

From the hips up she was the most beautiful woman, from the hips down she was serpentine with green glittering scales to match her eyes.

I realized how much closer she had drawn me yo her with her coy behavior.

She rushed at me at a frightening clip and before I could react pounced on me using her arms and snake tail to cage me.

She lifted me close to her mouth and smiled, i saw her fangs then and felt the horror and fascination through the shock of my situation.

She smiled" Hello Kevin, My name is Lamia. I appreciate the shirt..i will have to add it to my collection."

"Your a gorgon!"

"No I'm a Lamia-far different, I prefer eating children...babies are my favorite.But I just love a nice juicy man!" She laughed and then the smell of her breath hit me...it was the smell of rotting meat.

Lamia then extended her jaws like a snake - almost splitting her face in two-and began to raise me up over her head when an arrow flew past my head and sank into the meat of lamias arm.

She let out a shriek and glared past me only to turn her face away swiftly.

I heard a female voice from behind me" I'm a gorgon, she is just a jack ass. Let him GO lamia!!"

To which Lamia dropped me and slithered off quickly.

I started to turn and thank my rescuer but she called out "don't look at me. Stay there!"

And that is how I met Arissa.

Horror

About the Creator

Alicia Anspaugh

Hello! I primarily paint & write non fiction, but I love writing the stories that dance around in my head. Thank you for reading!

Subscribe if you wish!

Positive Vibes,

Alicia

Check out my Metaphysical blog-

desmoinesnewage.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia AnspaughWritten by Alicia Anspaugh

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.