Fiction logo

Into the Unknown

Short dystopian story

By Evan BallingerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The world is gone, all of it. No traces of harmony left, if it had harmony.

I never knew of the world much, I spent a majority of my life couped up in an orphanage. I could only see a small view of what the world was like through my tinted window. The place was a bit run down, but still filled to the brim with many other kids who are like me- no family to go to. I never knew my family, or where I came from; how far I was from this place.

I never really felt connected with anyone around this place, I'd rather keep to myself and hide in my books all day. I don't know what happened to the world, I only knew small bits of what was happening outside through newspapers. Something about nuclear war and tensions between countries. I didn't understand it much.

One day, I heard panicking and frantic footsteps coming from my room. I ignored it, I didn't really care about the events that happened around here. If there was an intruder, I'd hide in the closet. If there was a fire, I'd simply jump out the window. I was only on the second floor, and there are thick bushes right below me.

I then saw a flash of light pass by the window. I looked to see what it was, my mind went blank after that. I only remember sprinting down to the basement. It was a bombing.

In the aftermath, I come out to see a ruined orphanage, along with a ruined city around me. It was hard to push out the debris that covered the trap door. When I finally crawled out, I only saw a quiet city, no buildings survived.

There was a fallen airship nearby, it landed right in the center district. I decided to go to it first out of curiosity. I've read books on airships and their design, but never seen one in person. As I walked through the desolation, I saw no one around me. No bodies to be found either. They are probably disintegrated, or hidden in the debris.

After a long walk, I was finally met with the ruined airship.

I crawled inside, there were many weapons and books scattered everywhere. I searched around until I saw something gleam in the light that snuck in through a small hole. I picked it up to see it was a heart-locket necklace. I've never seen something like this before. I ran my dirty thumb across the pendant, it felt cold. There was a strange symbol on it that couldn't be determined well.

I attempted to open it, but to no avail. I wasn't sure if it was meant to be opened, or dirt and grime getting inside it that made it harder to open. I looked around some more, I had a feeling I shouldn't be here for too long.

I found some notes that had an illustration of the heart locket. I picked it up to read it. It didn't say much details, only that the locket is dangerous and should never fall into the wrong hands. This only made me more curious.

Who owned the locket? What made it dangerous? Is there something bad inside it, like Pandora's box?

Whatever was in it, I had a new drive: find out what is inside, and find out what happened to the world. I never had motivation before, thinking my only purpose was to stay at the orphanage forever. But it seems I have a new purpose now, to venture into the unknown.

I never knew of the world much, I spent a majority of my life couped up in an orphanage. I could only see a small view of what the world was like through my tinted window. The place was a bit run down, but still filled to the brim with many other kids who are like me- no family to go to.

I never knew my family, or where I came from; how far I was from this place.

I don't know what happened to the world, I only knew small bits of what was happening outside through newspapers. Something about nuclear war and tensions between countries. I didn't understand it much.

One day, I heard panicking and frantic footsteps coming from my room. I ignored it, I didn't really care about the events that happened around here. If there was an intruder, I'd hide in the closet. If there was a fire, I'd jump out the window. I was only on the second floor, and there are thick bushes right below me.

I then saw a flash of light pass by the window. I looked to see what it was, my mind went blank after that. I only remember sprinting down to the basement. It was a bombing.

In the aftermath, I come out to see a ruined orphanage, along with a ruined city around me. It was hard to push out the debris that covered the trap door.

There was a fallen airship nearby, I decided to go to it first out of curiosity. I've read books on its design, but never seen it in person. As I walked through the desolation, I saw no one around me. After a long walk, I was finally met with the ruined airship.

As I crawled inside, there were many interesting things. Weapons and books scattered everywhere. I climbed around the place until I saw something gleam in the light that snuck in through a small hole. I picked it up to see it was a locket necklace. I've never seen something like this before. I ran my dirty thumb across the pendant, it felt cold. There was a strange symbol on it that couldn't be determined well.

I attempted to open it, but to no avail. I wasn't sure if it was meant to be opened, or dirt and grime getting inside it that made it harder to open. I looked around some more, I had a feeling I shouldn't be here for too long.

I found some notes that had an illustration of the locket. I picked it up to read it. It didn't say much details, only that the locket is dangerous and should never fall into the wrong hands. This only made me more curious.

Who owned the locket? What made it dangerous? Is there something bad inside it, like Pandora's box?

Whatever was in it, I had a new drive: find out what is in the locket, and find out what happened to the world. I never had motivation before, thinking my only purpose was to stay at the orphanage. But it seems I have a new purpose now, to venture into the unknown.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.