Fiction logo

In Training

Inspired by the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, here is a story about a man trying to improve his sprinting abilities.

By Daniel E GagnéPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
In Training
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

How do you inspire progress? Maybe with healthy competition? Maybe a personal drive to be better?

I once was training to run in track and field and was in need of some encouragement. I was hitting a wall and nothing could help me improve my speed and time. Something had to change.

Some people would maybe look to change their routine; improve their sleep or eating habits. Maybe some would change their strength and endurance training. For me, I felt a coaching change would help me get to my next level.

There was a rumour that a man named the Catalyst had some unusual coaching methods, but the results spoke for themselves. He was known for coaching athletes who were underachievers and turning them into podium regulars.

On my first day of training with the Catalyst, we met at a local high school since it was vacant for the summer and he simply had me run laps.

“Pedro, I need to establish a baseline for you,” he told me. “Give me your best effort so I can see what I’m working with.”

I lined up in the starting block and at the fire of the gun I leaped off the line. I made a quick two laps around the high school gymnasium and finished my lap in a respectable time.

The Catalyst looked at me and simply said “Good.”

Good? I thought to myself. That was one of my best!

“Tonight you sleep,” he told me. “No late nights, no junk food, just rest and sleep. Tomorrow we start again.”

-----

The next day, we met back at the high school. I started with some stretching and more laps before a man showed up.

Hugo, the Catalyst called him and he didn’t look the part of a runner. His hair was long and matted like he had not showered for months. He wore a heavy coat like a parka which was at odds with the warm weather outside. Under his coat, he wore track pants and a t-shirt; not the usual shorts and muscle shirt.

But his shoes! His shoes were clean and new, laced up tight and ready to race.

“Ok Pedro,” the Catalyst started. “I would like you and Hugo to race and get a sense for each other. We will continue to race until you can win. Ready; set; race!”

Hugo and I raced and I quickly found myself looking at his back as he sped past me. His technique was excellent and he made it look effortless.

I finished behind Hugo and so the Catalyst had us start again. We ran all morning and I continually finished last.

“Pedro,” the Catalyst said after a short hydration break, “you need to watch how Hugo runs and try to emulate his method. Ready? Race!”

It was a grind, but after about two more hours, either Hugo began to get tired or my technique improved, but I finally won a race.

“Yes!” I cheered.

“Great!” The Catalyst praised. “Now we’re getting somewhere.”

That day I discovered that progress meant not underestimating your opponent and powering through adversity.

“Tomorrow,” the Catalyst announced, “I have something new for you, but tonight you sleep. No late nights, no junk food, just rest and sleep. Tomorrow we start again.”

-----

The next day, the Catalyst invited me to an open field, but when I arrived he was not there. I decided to start with some stretching while I waited for him to arrive.

A short time later a truck arrived pulling a livestock trailer.

“Ok Pedro,” the Catalyst said. “You’ve run your best and showed your potential against Hugo. Now we find out how fast you really are. Now you get to race the Machine.”

“Who or what is the Machine?” I asked. And almost as if in response to my question, a noise erupted from the trailer. It sounds like the stamping of hooves against metal. It sounded like an animal.

“Today,” the Catalyst said. “You race a bull.”

In shock and not completely believing what I’d heard, I laughed a quick laugh of disbelief. The Catalyst just made his way back to the trailer and started unlocking the door.

“Wait… What? Hold on!” I pleaded. “You can’t be serious. A bull? I could be injured. I could be killed”

“Only if the Machine catches you,” the Catalyst said.

I bolted in the opposite direction down a dirt path that led into some tall grass. Behind me I heard the bellow of the Machine as he caught sight of me. A thunder began as his hooves pounded the ground. I continued down the path as it turned to the left.

As I came out of the bend and down a straight, I got the courage to quickly look back to observe my adversary. The Machine had slowed down as he ran the corner, but was now gaining on me again. At that moment I came up with a plan.

The path seemed to turn again to the left and would lead me back to the trailer. The tall grass continued to line the track. When I reached the end of the turn, and as the Machine lost sight of me, I would jump in the grass and hide.

My legs pumped hard as I approached the corner, but I could hear the Machine getting closer. I could now hear his breath as it exited his nostrils. I could feel the ground shake like an earthquake from the rhythm of his hooves. Then, I was in the corner.

When I exited the corner I could see the Catalyst standing near his truck. I dove in the grass to the left of the track and hid as best I could.

The Machine exited the corner at speed but then slowed to a trot. I watched through the grass as he looked from right to left and seemed to become bored. I proceeded to walk to the trailer and made his way inside. Without a quarry to chase, the game was over.

The Catalyst closed up the trailer and turned in my direction.

“Excellent!” he shouted. “Absolutely amazing! Did you see how fast you ran?”

That day, I discovered that just as in chemistry, a catalyst sparks a reaction. That reaction can be violent and immediate, but the catalyst doesn’t get used up. It’s free to create other reactions.

That day I feared for my life and in the process discovered three important truths. Fear can also inspire progress, outrunning a bull will definitely encourage you to run your best and the Catalyst gets results. I just wished I’d known why they called him the Cattle-yst.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Daniel E Gagné

Thank you for visiting my profile. I am a husband to my beautiful wife S. Father to my children E and S. I find encouragement in life from my saviour Jesus Christ. I hope you enjoy what I've written as I explore what works best for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.