Fiction logo

In the Woods

Stealing for a good reason.

By Meela WardPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
In the Woods
Photo by Dan Smedley on Unsplash

My friend Lily and I peeked through the fence. On the other side was a hunter cabin. A great blue tick hound sat tied to a doghouse. I could see his ribs. The hunter had no use for a hound anymore. The poor thing. We put our plan into action. The hunter was asleep on the porch. I could hear the thump of the hounds tail as we approached. I unfastened the clasp of his collar. The hunter stirred. The dog wanted to play so I took off running towards the treehouse. The hound followed. He licked my hand, and went to the food. Where was Lily? Panic clouded my mind. She was stuck in the fence. The hunter was going to wake up soon. I grabbed her arms and pulled. We both fell backwards and crashed into a pile of metal scraps. “Come back you thieves!” The hunter screamed. We made it to the treehouse and locked the door. A dim lantern light could be seen through the windows. The hound was silent behind us. The light faded. I opened the door. The hunter stood at the bottom of the stairs. I knew then we were in big trouble.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Meela Ward

A crazy dragon nerd, and a huge fantasy geek with quite the imagination. She has a big passion for writing and animating.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nobody11 months ago

    The pacing in this story is perfect. It kept me engaged throughout.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.