Fiction logo

In The Presence of Royalty

…a fantastic saga

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
In The Presence of Royalty
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

There weren’t always dragons in the valley. As a matter of fact, the last assembly of the the Magickal Architects was gathered specifically to correct that problem.

So when Lady Amelia gazed out of her bedroom window and saw at least a half dozen beasts grazing or otherwise roaming about at the bottom of the hill, she shrieked.

“Why are these filthy beasts stomping all over my lawn!!!”

This shriek shook the tea cups belonging to a small gathering of some of the world’s most prestigious Magickal Architects who were downstairs in the study.

“My Lady?” A small winged creature with a shiny body appeared and perched himself on Amelia’s shoulder.

Although it was only the second day of her finding out about her Royal and Magickal lineage, Amelia, or Mia as she preferred to be called, was already over it.

But she couldn’t help smiling at the adorable little creature with an exquisite face who was perched atop her shoulder.

“I’m sorry”, Mia stammered while the creature seemed to flutter, shimmer and glow, “I know you introduced yourself to me upon my arrival after my father…” The words got caught in her throat and Mia swore if she didn’t swallow at that precise moment, she would suffocate and die.

Consequently, the pixie on her shoulder let her off the hook, “Lady Amelia, don’t you dare fret none, my name is Desire but my friends call me, Wish.”

Mia sauntered over to her dressing table so that she could look at her pixie when speaking to him. As Mia was obviously new to pixie handler protocol, the first day it was pretty awkward to find out that the crystals in the pixie’s eyes were just too powerful to look into directly.

And since Amelia was always taught when speaking with someone, no matter what their social stature, you were supposed to look them in the eye, to not be able to speak with her new friend with respect irked her so much that the pixie had to suggest that Amelia speak to his reflection in the mirror.

“So which do you prefer to be called, Desire or Wish?” Amelia asked to the most breathtakingly gorgeous tiny face staring back at her into the mirror.

The pixie fluttered his long lashes and rolled his eyes as if tickled by the question, but replied, “Since the names are pretty much synonymous, I suppose it’s whatever you’d like to call me.”

Amelia smiled softly at the pixie on her shoulder, “So you say your friends call you Wish?”

The pixie with the absolutely stunning, flawless face replied, “Yes, my La…

Amelia cut Wish off before she could finish her response, “Then Wish, you can call me Mia…”

Mia noticed Wish’s raised brow, “Or Amelia if I’m workin your nerves as I’m sure I worked the nerves of many family member and friend. For whatever reason when they were serious about somethin and their tone got all low in their throat and stern, that’s when I’d become Amelia.”

Wish’s smile became thin and tight across his face, but then he licked his lips and pursed them together as if he were evening out the gloss on his lips and and said, “Well then Ms. Mia, the baddest broad on this side of the world who now owns an ugly ass, dilapidated castle with a dragon infestation and a study full of angry wizards trying to block the magic that you don’t even know you have yet, honey. It is an utterly fabulous pleasure to have met your acquaintance and I’m humbly honored to be of service to you…”

This is the story of how Mia got her wish without even knowing her desire…

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.