Fiction logo

In The Hearts of Individuals

What's in your heart?

By Dailyn TownesPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
In The Hearts of Individuals
Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Miles' Journal Entry 2,555

I was but a wee lad when it happened, no more than the age of fourteen, whereas life as we know it changed. I remember the earth stories my dad used to tell me about how sudden destruction would come upon people unannounced if they were not careful, like the bombings of Nagasaki and Hiroshima. My dad once said a proverbial statement to me that did not make much sense at the time, but I know he saturated it with wisdom: "Son, the day a man forfeits his autonomy of choice is the day that man's soul dies."

By Giammarco on Unsplash

The day that man's soul dies. That last phrase was like perpetual goosebumps continually running down my spine, as sudden chills befell on me like windchill from a snowstorm. If only I had the opportunity to follow up his statement with a question: "What do you mean by that remark, Dad?" If only I had ten more minutes: If only I had ten more opportunities to tell him ten beautiful traits that make him a noble father. If only, if only.

I never got the opportunity to speak on my genuine curiosities and cares before earth-world invaders took him from our home and ravaged our lands.

By Pierre Châtel-Innocenti on Unsplash

They told us he was earth's unique property, a foreigner to our kin, and the only one able to restore earth-world to its primordial glory. It has been seven years since I last saw my dad.

I am currently twenty-one as I am writing this journal entry, and it is the only time I feel connected to my father. Writing, from my dad's perspective, was like an escape; he would tell me, "writing is a means to achieve everything that seems impossible in life yet make it possible through writing." Those words have impressed my heart and changed my perspective ever since.

I wonder if he will ever come home - if that is even possible anymore. Oh, the irony, I'm contradicting the same saying that supposedly changed my perspective in the first place. Who am I kidding? This hellhole even has my mind scrambled with conflicting thoughts.

Whatever the case may be, I hope he knows that I will never stop admiring him regardless of the circumstances.

(end log)

L - "Miles, are you writing again? What is the purpose of writing when our existence is in absolute chaos?"

Miles -"Well, L, I would not have to write if you just restored the journal entry bot like you said you were - and, to answer your question: writing is a means to achieve everything that seems impossible in life yet make it possible through writing."

L -"Who or what made you so wise, Miles," L scoffed.

Miles -"You did," Miles sneered back.

L -"You know what, forget it. I couldn't care less what you had to say regardless; besides, your dad is why the reason we are in this turmoil in the first place," he derided.

Although Miles wanted to retaliate and retain some of his pride, he realized L was entirely fit to say what he said, even though it was a low blow.

Miles -"Why do you always do that?"

L -"Do what," L replied in a domineering manner.

Miles - "That thing right there! You always have the need to be definitive about everything; you're so apprehensive that it's like pulling teeth any time we converse, and it's especially apparent when talking about the past!"

L was utterly bewildered by Miles' heartfelt conviction. Miles inadvertently struck a nerve, but in doing so, he was beginning to build a bridge that was not predicated upon domination but of cooperation.

Miles - "Hey man, I know we have our fierce disagreements about the current situation, but I am trying to understand where you are coming from. Please. I'd rather not be part of the problem in this unjust world but part of the solution."

L - "Hey Miles, you remember that day too, right? The day those earth-world invaders razed our society to chaos and left us to fend for ourselves? They uprooted our ethics, our morals, our way of life - and for what!? Your Dad? They slaughtered families in the name of justice. What justice? Justice cannot bring my family back. Justice cannot mend our society back to its former glory. Justice, in the eyes of savages, means absolutely nothing when you push people into the abyss. Do you want to know why I'm so standoffish? Why I thought being bitter towards you would bring some sort of resolution for your father's fault; because for seven years, I had to live with the fact that my mentor, your father, was the root cause for all our suffering. Your father is the reason why foreign invaders dictate what I think and how I live. Miles, I look at you and see a distinct representation of your father, the embodiment of virtue - and it disgusts me. You perfectly fit his heart-shaped locket philosophy, you wretched, vice abstaining -- ."

Miles - "Wait, wait, wait, what did you say, L?"

L - "You heard me, Miles, don't play dumb now!"

Miles - "L, you may be standoffish, but you're a genius!"

L - "How do you mean?"

Miles - "L, you explained everything in your rhetoric. You are absolutely right about everything, but you lack perspective - it is vice versus virtue. Our society was already in chaos before earth-world invaders came and 'ravaged our lands,' only we saw things from our depraved perspective and not the other way around. They were uprooting our way of life because we practiced bad faith, terrible ethics, and were immoral individuals. You say slaughtered families in the sense of killing when in reality they just annihilated our way of doing family. We lived in chaos; they established order. L, you gave up your autonomy of choice; therefore, you are not thinking for yourself and dying because of it. My dad was right all along! The earth-world invaders took my dad because he was virtuous, not the lack thereof."

L - "Yeah, right!? L scoffed.

"You really think all that is true?"

Miles - "Honestly, I do, L. If establishing life their way proves for better results, then I am willing to take that risk rather than settling for something that is not for me."

L - "Tsk, go figure, another virtuous wannabe. Have fun with your invaders, Miles. Hey, maybe one day I will get there myself, but for now, I rather choose vice over virtue," L said mockingly.

Miles - "Invaders! I'm ready to go home," Miles bellowed at the top of his lungs.

As soon as Miles comprehended why earth-world invaders took his dad and what it meant to be an embodiment of virtue, they finally came for him too.

Invaders - "Miles, come."

Miles' Last Entry

Whoa.

Earth-world invaders only take individuals who understand that virtue is the heart-shaped locket that constantly gets taken advantage of. Instead of eradicating vices, invaders allow individuals to choose what kind of life they want to live, and that lifestyle is predicated on that individual's heart - virtue or vice. On the earth-world, the formals establish a society where virtue is at the heart of a people - treasured by the earth's locket.

I finally reconnected with my dad after all these years, and earth people are so amiable; it is like heaven here. I have no complaints, other than wishing more people would be accustomed to this way of life, but hey, we all have choices to make.

Maybe I can write it till I find it, or like my dad says, write whatever seems impossible in life now and make it possible through writing.

A guy can dream, right?

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Dailyn Townes

| Writer | Sneaker Designer | Intellectual Ambivert | Book Fanatic | Ever-growing |

Every person has a story to share and a life to live, but how we live matters just as much as what we're living for; who or what is driving you?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.