Fiction logo

Impact of Climate Change on The Bears

A white furry visitor has been spotted in the congressional environment committee.

By Gopinath.RPublished about a year ago 6 min read
2

The congressional environmental committee was in the midst of a heated debate about climate change. Democrats were pushing to decrease America's dependence on fossil fuels, while Republicans were holding onto their Trump-era stance of protecting coal and oil. Suddenly, an alarm blared throughout the building, signaling a lockdown. The senators anxiously waited for an announcement over the PA system, but all they heard was static. The atmosphere turned tense as fear replaced the earlier heated debate.

A loud pounding sound echoed through the heavy oak double doors of the main entrance. The senators froze in terror, listening as another blow landed on the doors, causing the hinges to weaken. A gruff voice taunted them, "Little pigs, little pigs, let me in," followed by another thud. The senators cowered behind their chairs, afraid of what would happen if the intruder got in. Suddenly, the door fell to the ground, revealing a large white polar bear standing in front of them, scanning the room.

"Excuse me, is this the Environmental and Public Works Committee?" asked the bear. No one spoke or moved. Frustrated, the bear growled, "Someone needs to tell me if this is the right place, I'm awfully hungry."

After a few moments of silence, a bald-headed man spoke, "Yes, this is the committee."

"Good," said the bear, walking in and resting its paws on the podium. "I apologize for the intrusion, but I need to have my voice heard."

The senators, still in shock, cautiously climbed back into their seats.

"Let's get the obvious out of the way," said the bear. "I'm a polar bear, and I can talk. Shocking, I know," she added sarcastically. No one laughed.

The lead senator finally spoke up, "What is it you want?"

"I am here on official business," said the bear. "I have lost my family and home."

Another senator asked, "Where is your home?"

"The Arctic Circle, obviously," said the bear, covering her eyes with a paw. "Where did you think I came from, a zoo? Where many of my cousins are imprisoned for human entertainment?"

The senators looked at each other, not knowing what to say.

"My family has all perished due to the lack of ice in the Arctic Circle," said the bear. "Based on what I have read, a lot of it has to do with the decisions that you Americans keep making. This whole dependency on oil needs to come to an end. Surely, you have heard of climate change or global warming?"

A Republican senator stood up, "It's a hoax! Haven't you noticed Washington DC is under a blanket of snow?"

"I have noticed," said the bear calmly. "But to simply base climate change on one snowfall makes you an idiot. Climate change is the long-term effect of your love for fossil fuels. Your cars, lights, and everything that uses oil is what continues to warm the planet, destroying my home and weakening the ice."

The bear paused for a moment, lowering her head. "I was a young cub when my mother was trying to keep my starving brother and me alive by teaching us the ways of the polar bear. She explained how we need sea ice and depend on it to find food. As she was walking across the ice, it broke, and she fell through. She tried valiantly to climb out of the water, but every time her paw struck the ice, another piece broke off until panic overcame her and the frigid liquid swallowed her alive. The northern temperatures never became cold enough to strengthen the ice, and now my mother rests in her watery tomb."

"Without the training of my mother, I had no idea how to feed my orphaned.

The senators waited patiently for an announcement through the PA system regarding the possible threat, but the intercom produced only static in response. The committee fell into a silent atmosphere as fear replaced the heat of the debate. No one dared to speak.

Suddenly, a loud pounding echoed through the heavy oak double doors of the main entrance. Every senator froze in terror. Another blow struck the doors. Whimpers of despair rose. The doors were struck again, weakening the hinges.

“Little pigs, little pigs, let me in,” a gruff voice mocked followed by another threatening whack. The senators cowered behind their chairs, afraid to be visible when the mysterious threat appeared. As they all stared at the feeble door, they noticed a creature with white fur peering in. The final blow threw the wooden slabs down to the ground. A large white polar bear stood erect on its hind legs, in a terrifying attack position scanning the area. Screams from a few female senators filled the room immediately.

“Excuse me, just to be sure, this is the environmental and public works committee, correct?” The white furred fiend inquired politely. No one moved or even tried to respond. Irritated, the bear growled, “Ok, let’s try this again. Is this the Environmental and Public Works committee? Someone needs to tell me because I’m awfully hungry.”

“Yes…yes it is,” spoke a bald-headed man, trembling.

“Perfect,” the bear trotted in and rested its front paws on the podium in front of the members. “I apologize for my threatening intrusion, but I need to have my voice heard.” The bear glanced around, noticing everyone was hiding behind their chairs. “Please, return to your seats, I promise I mean you no harm.”

Bewildered, the senators cautiously climbed back into their cushioned seats.

“Right, let’s get the obvious out of the way, shall we?” The bear displayed a peaceful demeanor. “I’m a polar bear. I can talk. Ooo, shocking. I know,” sarcasm spilled from its lips. No one laughed.

The lead senator, overcoming his fear, was the first to speak. “Alright. What is it you want, Ms. Bear?”

“Ms. Bear,” the bear corrected. “I am here on official business. You see, I have lost my family and home.”

Another senator found courage. “Your home? Where would that be?”

The bear covered her eyes with a paw. “The Arctic Circle, obviously. Where did you think I came from? A zoo? Where many of my cousins are imprisoned for the sake of human entertainment?”

Everyone became stoic.

Ms. Bear lowered her head. “My family has all perished due to the lack of ice in the Arctic Circle. Based on what I have read, a lot of it has to do with the decisions that you Americans keep making. This whole dependency on oil needs to come to an end. Surely, you have heard of climate change or global warming, right?”

A republican senator stood up vehemently. “It’s a hoax! Haven’t you noticed Washington DC is under a blanket of snow?!” Ms. Bear shot a carnivorous eye at him. He retreated back to his seat, hoping not to anger her.

“I have noticed,” she stated calmly, “but to simply base climate change on one snowfall makes you an idiot. Climate change is the long-term effects of your love for fossil fuels. Your cars, lights, and everything that uses oil are what continues to warm the planet.

“In turn, it’s destroying my home, weakening the ice. I was a young cub when my mother was trying to keep my starving brother and me alive.

As the days went on, the village began to transform. The previously barren fields and gardens began to flourish with colorful flowers and bountiful crops. The villagers were amazed and overjoyed at the transformation, and soon rumors of the magical tree began to spread far and wide.

One day, a group of travelers arrived in the village, hoping to see the wondrous tree for themselves. They were welcomed with open arms by the villagers, who eagerly showed them around and shared their stories of the tree's magical powers.

The travelers were amazed at what they saw and heard. They had never encountered anything like this before, and they knew that they had to take the news of the magical tree back to their own villages.

And so, the news of the magical tree began to spread far and wide, and people from all over the world began to come and visit the village, hoping to see the tree for themselves and experience its magical powers.

The villagers welcomed all who came, sharing their food and stories and showing them the wonders of the tree. And as the years went on, the village continued to thrive, thanks to the magical tree and the kindness and generosity of its people.

ClassicalShort StoryHumorFantasyFan FictionFable
2

About the Creator

Gopinath.R

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.