Fiction logo

If Time Stood Still

I'd keep you here forever

By Kelly RobertsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
63
If Time Stood Still
Photo by Artem Kovalev on Unsplash

"I'm sorry you had a rough day, Josie."

I smiled weakly and met Sam's gaze. There was always an abundance of care locked in those chocolate eyes that I knew I never truly deserved. "Thanks, Sam. It's not your fault though."

Sam heaved a sigh and leaned against me. "I know, but I'm here for you anyways. I'll always be here."

I blinked back tears and tried desperately not to think about Sam's test results. Hugging him closer, I kissed the top of his head. "I love you, Bud."

Sam's tail wagged harder. "Me, too."

Short StoryLove
63

About the Creator

Kelly Robertson

Wrangler of chaos. Creator of more. Writing whatever my heart desires, from fantasy to poetry and more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, my heart! 🥹❤️ You somehow managed to make this so beautiful. Amazing job!1 🥹❤️❤️

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    So beautifully tragic!!

  • Lisa Herdman10 months ago

    Beautifully done! I love the way you swept me right into the twist.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This really got me by surprise. I lost my golden last year, so this touched me deeply. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Linda Njoku10 months ago

    I felt sad ! Nice one

  • Excellent Love it!

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    What a beautiful moment captured and eloquently painted. I very recently had to say goodbye to my extraordinary dog, and this story does an excellent job of depicting the kind of love that can exist when you have a canine companion and the heartbreak of "always" never being long enough. Well done.

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff10 months ago

    This is so sad but beautiful. Made me want to cry🥺. Well done on top story.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    This was a genuine surprise. So much emotion ignited in such a short time. Bravo. 👏👏👏 And, Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Loryne Andawey10 months ago

    Oh, just tear my heart out already! 💔. Well done!

  • Heather Zieffle 10 months ago

    Love it!

  • Excellent

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Touching!!! Congratulations on T S.!!!💖💖💕

  • K. Kocheryan10 months ago

    My heart! Nice job!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh my. Fantastic writing. Congrats on the TS

  • Caroline Craven10 months ago

    Excellent writing. Great story.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This. This is beautiful and so deserving of a Top Story.

  • Thank you, and congrats on your top story.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I absolutely LOVE this. Been there too many times!

  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    Ok, and now I'm crying and sitting here with goosebumps all over my body 😭Incredible job. 💓

  • Matthew Fromm10 months ago

    brb hugging my dog for the rest of the day...

  • Sweet, Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖✨😉❗

  • Roy Stevens10 months ago

    Lovely and tragic at the same time. Congratulations on your top story Kelly!

  • hayaadnan10 months ago

    And congratulation.💖✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.