Fiction logo

If Not Humans Then What: Part 3

What happened?

By Gloria Michael Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
If Not Humans Then What: Part 3
Photo by Joe Pearson on Unsplash

He looked confused “do you think we could have it delivered to us in two hours?”

“If you hurry we might have time for a coffee too” replied the doctor

“No problem. We’ll leave it for later then”

After ordering our food and coffee, we continued eating quietly while the doctor continued asking me about yesterday’s events, checking all my vital signs and checking my wound.

The food tasted delicious so I kept munching on it without saying anything to stop her.

When we finished, the blonde man got up and grabbed our plates, heading to the kitchen sink as Dr Taylor approached my side.

“Are you ready to tell me everything that has happened during the past days?”, she asked softly.

At first, I wanted to avoid answering, I really wanted to forget about everything that happened yesterday but it would seem unfair to keep silent about it forever. Plus, if I wanted to help Harry, I needed to talk about it sooner or later. I sighed heavily and nodded, closing my eyes briefly. I was about to start telling her everything that had happened since I left the camp when I felt a cold, hard object pressed against my skin and the sudden movement stopped.

“Open your eyes, please”

It took a couple of moments but I complied anyway, meeting her gaze once again. She smiled softly at me “that’s better”

She pulled another chair closer to mine and took a seat, resting her elbows on the table and bringing her chin up with her fingertips. Her eyes studied me intently before she spoke.

“Let’s start from the beginning, okay? What do you remember from yesterday?”

I took in a deep breath, starting from the moment I woke up in the woods until the moment I went to the camp. When I told her how I met Harry I watched her eyes turn redder as she listened to my story. I felt guilty for lying to her but I couldn’t help it. Even though it didn’t matter anymore.

When I finished speaking, she was quiet for a minute, staring at me. “You know, I don’t really understand the process of being turned, it sounds painful as hell”

“Yeah, yeah, sorry about that” I muttered sheepishly “but if you want some proof to show you I’m actually human then just ask Harry” I gestured towards the blonde guy who was currently wiping down the counter.

“That’s not what I meant. If you really are human then I should believe you, shouldn’t I?” she looked thoughtful for a second, frowning slightly “and I don’t have to prove anything to Harry”

I blinked at her “huh?”

“It doesn’t take a genius to figure out you’re not human. No one who goes missing after being taken hostage can survive. And Harry seems like someone who would never leave someone behind intentionally or willingly. So I can already tell he isn’t human either”.

I stayed quiet for a long time and contemplated what the older lady just said “I..I guess so”. I didn’t feel like arguing about this anymore, I knew deep down that there was no point in fighting with someone who already thinks you were not human.

“What’s his name? Maybe I could meet him someday soon and make sure he’s not the bad guy”. She raised her eyebrows and chuckled amusedly

“His name is Keith, I guess” I chuckled. “He's kind of a prick but he’s nice enough. I’d say he’s a bit strange”

“Strange, why?” I shrugged in response “Alright well I guess we can trust him then, I’m curious how he ended up here”.

I didn’t respond as she stood up from her place, and walked to where the blonde guy was cleaning up the dishes, she talked about the rest of the conversation with him and when he was done I stood up and followed the couple to the dining room.

To be continued…

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Michael

Gloria loves writing and experiencing the world in a free form..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gloria Michael is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.