Fiction logo

If Not Humans Then What: Part 2

Awakening

By Gloria Michael Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
If Not Humans Then What: Part 2
Photo by David Senthavong on Unsplash

My vision blurred and my heart beat faster, the panic taking over my mind as I felt more and more helpless. Then suddenly, I was pushed backwards, falling on the bed, hitting my head against the wooden floor. I let out a yelp when I felt something sharp stabbing into my neck. The feeling of pain made me freeze and my breathing quickened, trying to find a way to breathe.

Then suddenly, I heard footsteps rushing downstairs.

There was no time to fight it, so I surrendered. My vision became black, everything was spinning… And then nothing.

***

When I woke up, my entire body ached and my whole face hurt. I opened my eyes to see the blinding light shining straight into them. As my eyes adjusted, I noticed that I was laying in a hospital bed with white sheets covering most of my body. Someone was leaning over me and when he realized I was awake, he lifted his head and I finally saw his face properly.

A tall, lanky blonde boy was standing next to me with a worried expression on his face. His blue eyes were filled with concern, making him look younger than his age. He placed his fingers near my temple lightly but I pushed them away, annoyed.

“Hey you’re awake”, he greeted me with a small smile “how are you feeling?”

I stayed quiet, thinking about what happened last night.

Suddenly, the events came back to me and my eyes widened in horror. The stranger seemed to read my thoughts and immediately said “Don’t worry, you're safe and sound, I saved your life”. At first, I thought he was joking until a loud knock was heard coming from our door.

“Come in”, called the man.

The door opened a little bit and a nurse entered the room with a small box in his hands. When she noticed us awake she walked towards us, placing the box on the table.

“Good morning, I’m Dr Taylor and I’ll be your doctor today. Are you okay?”

I glanced at the man next to me who answered with a nod “yes, she’s fine, right?”

The doctor gave a reassuring smile to both of us before asking “what happened last night?”

I glanced at the blonde man, who had the same expression on his face as I did yesterday. I told them what I remember last night as calmly as possible, trying my best not to sound too emotional. The doctor asked me several questions after that but the most important thing to ask was: “do you need anything?”

Dr Taylor gave us the answer but I just shook my head, refusing anything “can we have our breakfast now?”, I asked them. They looked at each other before nodding and getting up.

The blonde guy helped me to stand up too and we followed them downstairs. When we reached the kitchen, we were met with an array of different foods laid out on the counter. It didn't look much like any sort of meal I'd ever seen, although it was a little weird looking since the dishes looked like they belonged in a high-class restaurant instead of an ordinary kitchen.

We walked over to one of the chairs and picked up a menu, looking through the selections.

“We usually have pancakes for breakfast, I think we also have omelettes or waffles. Do you eat breakfast cereals?”

I glanced down at the food selection “um...I guess I’ll have waffles”

“Okay then let’s have those,” said Dr Taylor and gestured to the blonde guy to prepare the order.

To be continued…

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Michael

Gloria loves writing and experiencing the world in a free form..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gloria Michael is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.