Fiction logo

I Wrote A Book

I'm an author, and here's my story.

By Feven GPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

I'm going to share a story about the first book I wrote which was published in April 2022. I always was creative person since I was a child. As I got older, I started to write more. I like how writing can be imaginative and you are able to create your own world. so when I first wrote my book, I had old notes and stories from back when I was in college, I use to write stories just for fun,  I didn't think it would turn into an actual career. so when I started writing "The Entwined Past " didn't even have a title for the book yet, I just wrote what came to my mind.  Creating the characters, the plot, the scenes, and the ending all came together in a way I never imagined it would be. What helped me write the Entwinded Past was establishing a consistent writing space. If you want to write a great book, you're going to need to find a place to write. Whether it's your room, library, or coffee shop. It doesn't have to be a soundproof room but it has to be a place that's quiet and that you're comfortable with. When you are getting your writing done, you don't need distractions. You need to be allowed to focus. Next, would be to hone in on your book idea. What I mean by this is, that either you come up with a million different ideas or maybe you envisioned what the cover of your book would look like. Regardless of what you think, it is important to ask yourself a few simple questions like, what is my book about? why is the story noteworthy? what type of audience would want to read my book? what attracted me to the idea? I would suggest using writing prompts if your struggling with writer's block and want to have a book idea. Another thing would be, to do your research. Research is an important tool for professional writers. If you are going to write any book, fiction, or non-fiction, you will likely need to spend time researching everything you can about your subjects. Since I'm a fiction writer, I noticed that research is helpful. It can provide helpful context or character archetypes that you note on your paper or computer. I noticed reading books or listening to other books that cover a subject similar to yours can be helpful. The other thing I learned was to outline the story you're going to write. It's important to have a detailed chapter outline or simple sheets in which each section of the book is planned out. It is good to have a method and a roadmap for your future writing sessions. Also when writing a routine. Start writing and prepare what you are going to write. At a particular point, you need to start preparing to write your rough draft. That is the kind of step I took to write my story. This means, committing to even routines and effective writing habits. Look at your word count, and keep track of your schedule. The best thing I did was send my draft to my cousin, who would look it over for me. I got someone else to read it and give me advice on it. Also, when you're finishing your first draft you'll encounter things like self-doubt, and writer's block. But don't worry, it's normal. whenever you feel stuck, try to go back to your outline and research. Your book most likely will become a best seller, so all you can really do is keep writing until you reach the end. It is always good to revise and edit too. Remember, a good book always goes through revisions. As mentioned before, you can endure the editing process by yourself, asking a friend or relative or getting a professional editor. For my book I got a professional editor to look over my manuscript before publishing it. You need to have someone look over your writing to tell you what needs work and what doesn't. Also, develop a system to keep track of the edits your doing on your book. Following, when you are writing your second draft, after many revisions and edits, it's always good to address questions like does the book has a strong opening theme or an impactful conclusion. And last but not least, would be to finally publish your book. There is a rise in marketplaces like e-readers, kindle, self-publishing is easier than ever. If you want to go the traditional route, you can submit your book to a publishing place and hire a literary agent. I decided to go the self-publishing route because it just seemed a lot easier and more manageable. now I am currently working on my second book, which is set to be released in 2023. My hope is that all of this information was helpful, and I thank you all for reading this far on my journey as a writer :)

familyLoveMysterySeries
2

About the Creator

Feven G

Hi, my name is Feven, and I am an Eritrean Canadian living in Toronto, Ontario. I am a creative individual who enjoys writing and creating content. If you want to know more about my experiences, I would be happy to share them with you. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.