Fiction logo

I Pinky Promise

A Not-So-Typical Love Story At Westbrook High

By Chandi PeardonPublished 2 years ago 20 min read
1
I Pinky Promise
Photo by Hunter Newton on Unsplash

New Student

From the moment he walked into the fifth period, my eyes were forever locked. His golden-blonde hair shimmered in the light that was shining through the window. His eyes were sparkling blue and they could swallow you whole.

He sat at his desk and the only thing I could pay attention to was the back of his jean jacket and the way his hair fell upon the collar.

"Everyone, meet Tyler. He is new at Westbrook High. Tyler, do you want to say something about yourself?" Mr. Snyder called out.

I was fully glued to him, waiting to hear what his voice could sound like. Was he quiet? Did he speak with confidence? He glanced up and across the room looking at the group of peers he was mixed in with. He turned his head slightly over his left shoulder making eye contact with me. He smiled softly.

"Yeah, um I'm Tyler.." waving his hand up, "I'm from the west coast, my parents moved here for work and I play baseball."

"I heard through the grapevine that you might be one of our best players, what do you think about that?"

"I wouldn't say the best, but I do practice hard. My dad use to coach me." Tyler said in a self-assured tone.

"Humble too! Well, I look forward to seeing you play."

He seemed different from the rest of the boys in 11th grade. Most of the guys surrounded themselves with their clones and congregated in the main hallways before and after school. They tried to make their presence known.

Tyler was different. He was better looking than our most popular jocks and yet didn't have to attitude of one. I was impressed. I just had to know him.

The bell rings and everyone hustles out of class. Tyler waits until the crowd of students pushes through the classroom door before he makes his exit. I slowly take my time putting my notebook in my backpack. The room is emptying and I noticed he hasn't moved yet.

I look up towards him to find that he had already been staring at me. I did a double-take just to make sure it was me he was staring at and not Mr. Snyder's obnoxious science posters on the wall. Confirmed, it's me he is staring at.

He smiles.

I did a half-smile back and threw my backpack over my shoulders. I slowly made my way past his desk and to the door. He stood up and followed me out. My heart was racing. Part of me wanted to turn around and say something but I didn't want to make it weird or blow my chances. So I acted cool and continued walking down the hallway to my last class.

"Hey, do you know where room 132 is?" he called out to me.

The hairs on my neck stood up and I turned around.

"What was that?" I asked.

"Room 132? It says on here it's a Society class, can you help me get there?"

Those blue eyes did swallow me whole. I couldn't formulate a word. I hesitated to find a response and as I tried he begins to talk more;

"it's okay if you can't, I don't want to make you late for class."

"I don't mind being late. I can take you."

His pupils increased in size and the side of his lips cracked as he smiled at me. I was blushing. I walked in the direction of his class and he followed me.

"So what's your role around here?" He said asking curiously. "You seem different to me."

"I wouldn't say I have a role, I'm friends with just about everyone here. But I usually keep to myself."

"Why's that?"

"A school like this will do that you," I responded softly.

We walked up to room 132.

"This is it. Have a good one!" I replied quickly and began to turn around.

"You never told me." He spoke loudly.

"Told you what?"

"Your name."

I slowly walked away backward and smiled at him.

"I'll see you tomorrow, Tyler."

The Dug Out

By Frankie Lopez on Unsplash

I went home that day and lay on my bed. The thoughts of Tyler filled my head as I stared at the ceiling. I wondered where this intense feeling of infatuation came from. It felt like gravity was pulling my heartstrings in his direction and I was not at all mad about it.

Morning came. I rolled out of bed and got myself dressed for school. A charcoal grey skater dress, plum tights, and black boots. I pulled my hair back into a low ponytail, it fell over my shoulders and down my neckline. I grabbed my backpack and keys and drove to school.

Walking through the main doors was like any other time. Jocks and 'jockettes' crowd the main entrance ramp discussing the latest gossip. I peaked my head in and said hi to the ones I talked to. Then I made my way up the main stairway to the library.

I preferred to start my mornings in the library. It was quiet and peaceful. It gave me time to think, journal, or catch up on any homework. The library was placed in the middle of the school. Windows lined the right side, exposing the chaos that is the main hallway.

I liked to sit and observe.

It was like watching a bunch of zoo monkeys.

As I made my way into the library, I spotted an open table near the back wall. I sat down, emptied my backpack, and took out my notebook to journal my thoughts.

As I was writing, I started to feel like someone was watching me. When I looked up he had placed his backpack on the table.

"Mind if I join you?" he said slowly pulling the chair away from the table.

"Sure, go ahead."

I put my head back down towards my journal and took my pen to it.

"You know, I could have just asked someone else what your name is." He said, settling into the chair.

"Okay, why haven't you?" I questioned.

"I want you to trust me. I have a feeling you don't trust too many people huh?"

"Something like that," I replied, pushing my journal away in front of me.

He tapped his fingers on the table and squinted his eyes while looking into mine. Like he was thinking of a plan.

"Well if you're free after school, I was wondering if you'd be interested in meeting me at the dugout at Jefferson Park. Say 4:30ish? What do ya think?"

I thought about it for a second. There was a small part of me that wanted to say no because I doubted how someone like him would be interested in me. After all, Kristine pretty much ran the show at school. She had every guy wrapped around her finger and I was more than positive he was her next project.

I continued to think about it.

Fuck Kristine.

"4:30ish sounds great, I'll meet you there," I replied while putting my items back in my backpack. "Will you be at fifth period today?" I asked.

"I have an orientation with one of the guidance counselors, you know... the whole meet and greet kind of thing." He said smiling, his eyes sparkling.

"Right, well I'll see you later."

Each period dragged on as the day continued.

I found myself zoning out, staring at the clock on the wall while tapping my pencil on the desk. I was eager to get out and meet up with Tyler.

When the final bell rang, I grabbed my backpack and headed out towards the school parking lot. I carved myself a path through the congregation of cliques when my bag pack was tugged by someone, causing me to step back.

"Oh god", I thought to myself.

I could smell her cheap Victoria's Secrets perfume.

"Hey! I saw you sitting with Tyler in the library. We all think he is so hot. What were you guys talking about?" she said in a high-pitched condescending voice.

"Why?" I asked with my eyebrows raised.

"Because he hasn't said anything to us, or talked to the guys yet. The one person he has is you, which is odd. We wanted to know what you two were talking about. You know...so we can find out more about him."

Her voice wreaked of fakeness it made me cringe.

"He just needed help with his school schedule, our school is big you know." I quickly responded and began walking towards the parking lot again.

I could tell that she was staring at my back. I could feel her negative energy. I'm sure we all could.

"Well, let me know!" She shouted back.

I raised my thumb in the air as I continued to make my way to my car.

I called my parents quickly to let them know that I was meeting up with friends and would be home late. I would call them if anything changed.

I pulled into the parking lot of Jefferson Park. I found a spot underneath a shaded tree and turned my car off. I didn't see anyone, so decided to get out and walk towards the field.

"Hey, you!" a voice said coming up from behind me.

"Whoa, where did you come from? I didn't see anyone when I pulled in." I replied shaken up a bit.

"Haha, did I scare you? I live right in that neighborhood." He turned and pointed to the Orchard subdivision across the park. "I walked here."

"Very convenient," I said smiling.

He pushed his shoulder into mine as if to guide me in the direction he wanted to walk in. He put his hands in his pockets and walked looking straight ahead.

I glanced up at him. The sunbeams illuminated his blonde hair and his eyes were mesmerizing.

"Who are you?" I thought to myself. Except, I didn't think it to myself. I said it out loud and he heard me.

"Hahaa, I have been asking myself the same thing," he said smiling looking down at me.

"Why do you want to know me?" I asked.

"Why not? Am I only allowed to know certain people?"

We made our way to the edge of the dugout and then he stopped. He turned his body towards mine and looked down at me. His blonde hair was parted down the middle and his long bangs fell in front of his face.

"Look, when I moved here I made a promise to myself that I would do things differently. Try new things, meet new people. Besides, Kristine's cheap perfume is too strong." he said smiling while nudging my arm with his elbow.

I felt warm with him. I couldn't help myself but smile and melt in every word he spoke.

We sat on the bleachers above the dugout. Now I know why he wanted to meet here. It was positioned at the top of a hill and overlooked the small town of Westbrook. We could see the water tower and the thick forests that encompassed the nearby neighborhoods.

It was beautiful up here. The perfect place to just sit and listen to the sounds in the air. The wind rustling the leaves of the trees, the birds chirping above, and faint sounds of children playing in the streets below.

"This is my favorite spot in this town," he said leaning back on both his hands while looking at the scenery.

"I can see why, it's peaceful up here."

"You're different and you already know that. I felt it when I first walked into the fifth period" he said now leaning forward with his hands in his lap.

I kept looking ahead as he spoke to me.

"My parents were going to get a divorce if we hadn't moved here. My dad was working so many hours and my mom was trying to juggle everything. She gave him the ultimatum, they were either to start over together or separately. I spent most of my days at the dugout back in my hometown, practicing. Anything to escape the arguing. One day, after practicing, I walked back into the house to my mom and dad in the living room. I walked slowly towards the stairs so they wouldn't hear me. I walked a few steps up and then stopped. My dad made his mind up. I could hear him grab my mom's hand as she cried. He reminded her of when they first went off to college and they pinky promised that they would remain together when they were away. He reminded her of the pinky promise they made at the altar when they said "I do". And then once more, in the living room, he pinky promised her that their together meant forever."

My eyes were watering. I was still looking ahead and slowly wiping my eyes. I simply reached out my hand to his and grabbed it and held it. I felt pressure as he squeezed mine.

"I am sorry you all went through that, but I am happy you are all better."

"I learned what commitment meant at that moment. They met senior year of high school and have been together ever since. I admire them for it."

He looked over at me and pulled my hand in towards him. My body leaned forward and he kissed me on the side of my cheek. When we pulled away, our eyes looked deep into each other.

I kissed him back.

As cliché as it sounds, I'd be lying if I said there weren't any sparks flying. That gravitational pull had become so immense that our souls couldn't help but collide with one another.

I placed each hand on his cheeks and pushed my nose to touch his. I rested there for a second, just taking in the moment.

"Let's just get through this year" I whispered.

"Pinky promise?" He said.

"Pinky promise" I assured him.

I stood up and reached out my hand. He had his feet up on the bleachers and his arms wrapped around his knees, locking his fingers together. His head motioned upward toward me, he gave me a slight smile out of the side of his mouth.

He reached his hand towards mine and pulled himself up. When he stood up he pulled my head to the center of his chest and hugged me. I could hear his heart as it was beating against my ear. His warmth made me sink further and further into his arms.

When he let go he put his hands back into his pocket and began the descent back to the parking lot.

"We should probably be getting you home huh?" He said walking to my car.

"Yeah, it is a school night."

The next few yards we walked in silence. It was as if we were both thinking about each other and life in general.

As we made our way closer to my car he stopped walking. I walked a few steps ahead of him before turning around to see why he had stopped.

"You don't need to worry about what other people say ya' know?"

He paused. "I know you don't want to, but you can trust me. I'll show you."

"Thanks, Tyler."

I turned around to walk back to my car. I felt like I was forgetting something, and then it hit me.

"Hey, Tyler!" I shouted. "It's Ash, my name is Ash... nothing else."

His hands were still in his pocket, he started to crack a grin and chuckle while kicking at the grass.

"It's nice to meet you Ash nothing else, have a good night."

"You too," I replied not being able to help but feel giddy inside.

The Last Promise

I came home that night with this feeling of assurance that my heart was being listened to. Slowly but surely, I was falling for a boy that just figured out what my name was. I lay sprawled out on my bed, staring at the ceiling. I closed my eyes to replay the events at the dugout.

I wanted to make sure I remembered everything. The way the air felt on my skin, the sounds, his eyes, and the way our hands fit perfectly intertwined. I took out my journal to jot everything down. It was the only way to get all of these feelings out without having to tell him directly. After all, I didn't want to blow it.

The next morning I woke up to the sound of knocking on my front door. I raised myself up and out of bed, my journal sliding off the edge of the bed and settling on the floor. The sun outside beamed through the window casting a shadow across the one side of my room.

I put my hand up to see the time on the alarm clock.

"6:30 a.m.? Who the hell is knocking at 6:30 a.m.?" I said to myself.

I pulled a sweater over my head and put on my sweatpants. As I walked towards the front door I could see his silhouette through the window. I didn't have time to speak when I opened the front door.

"Hey, I know it's super early but I was wondering if you wanted to ride to school together?" Tyler said, looking back at his 93' Firebird.

"Yeah, but why an hour early?" I replied with a yawn.

"Haha, someone isn't much of a morning person. Well, I figured we could take a more scenic route. What do you say?"

"Sure, that's fine. Come in, I just need to get changed." I responded, opening the door so he could follow.

He walked into the house slowly. I had never seen a guy this interested in what we had in our home before, but he was intrigued. My dad was into the outdoors, so we had a den that had trophy animals and pictures of him in the paper.

My mom was a book warm, leading to an impressive collection of authors in the main living room. Her books lined the entire wall, floor to ceiling with our fireplace nestled in the middle.

I watched him as he looked at the photographs throughout the home and then I slowly made my way to the bedroom to throw on a change of clothes.

As I was putting on my top I hear my bedroom door slowly creak open.

"They don't knock in the west coast do they?"

He shrugged his shoulders and sarcastically replied, "only the ones who aren't thrill-seekers."

"Do I have to worry about you and your thrill-seeking?'" I replied cocking my head towards him.

"I'm just messing. Are these all yours?" He said looking at my track and field medals.

"Yes, they are."

"You are quite impressive, Ash."

"Thanks, well I'm ready to go."

He stepped aside and gestured his hand toward the door to guide me, "after you" he said.

I walked out of the house and to the passenger side of his car. I was wondering where it was he would be taking me before the first period.

A few turns outside of my neighborhood, we were on the back roads. I remember coming out here with my dad. The way the sun raised over the fields felt like something out of a movie.

He parked at the edge of the nature preserve, close to "the flats", a popular hangout spot for the cliques. I'm glad he didn't take me there because that's where everyone goes to hook up, amongst other things.

"You remember our promise, Ash?" He asked reaching over the center console to grab my hand.

"I wouldn't forget...but what exactly are we promising to do?" I asked.

"Together, we will get through things together."

"School?" I said confused.

Our hand was clasped together. He raised it and turned it over to the back of my hand and kissed it.

"School, college, life...we will do it together."

I don't know if it was the way he said it or where it was we were or all the above. But when Tyler spoke you couldn't help but feel so secure with every word. His soul was pure and true.

I positioned my body so my back was against the door. I looked into his eyes and held out my pinky, "I pinky promise."

He interlocked his pinky with mine. I pulled our hands towards my mouth and kissed the promise. I motioned for him to do the same and he did.

The next few months went by like a blur. Yet, Tyler made those months so exciting. Full of adventure, full of laughter, and full of love.

I was at every baseball game, cheering the loudest as I was his biggest cheerleader. He would surprise me at every track meet, holding handmade signs as he stood in the crowd.

All of our moments, all of our thoughts... I wrote it down. I knew you don't come across people like Tyler often and that when you do you try not to forget.

Tyler left my house that night.

Coming from the west coast, I don't think he understood the dangers of rain and freezing temperatures, especially at night.

"You know you can stay the night, we can camp out in the den," I said to him not wanting him to leave.

He leaned in and kissed me on my head. He pushed his nose into mine and rested it there.

He gave me such a feeling.

"I'll be fine, it's just up the road. Besides, check out my ride!" He said laughing as he was walking away.

I started to laugh along with him and then lean against the doorway and smile as he got into the driver's seat.

"Pick you up in the morning?" He shouted before closing the door.

"Always!" I yelled back.

I watched him pull out of the driveway. His red Firebird slowly faded out of sight.

And that was the last time I ever saw Tyler.

"I stand before you all today recounting this memory with you because Tyler was the most captivating person I had ever meant. He was a gentle spirit with a lust for life. I wish I could have had more time with him. I know we all wish for that."

I looked across the crowd to see his mom clutching his dad's arm and sobbing. A gathering that consisted of family, friends, coaches, and teachers filled the church.

"If Tyler taught me anything it's that angels come in many forms and sometimes they are only with us for a little while to serve a purpose. I believe Tyler was here for a reason. To teach us that love takes leaps and bounds and that promises...promises are forever."

I turned to Tyler's casket. A beautiful bouquet of white roses rested on top with a photo of himself in the jean jacket he wore when I first laid eyes on him.

I stepped down for the podium and walked over to it. I placed one hand on his casket and the other I reached out with my pinky forward.

I leaned into it, "you know...you still have to keep up your end of the promise." I kissed my promise and stoop upright.

"I love you, Tyler."

I turned around. Tyler's parents nodded in approval and hugged me as I made my way down the aisle.

When I looked back the sun shined through the stained glass and onto his casket. I smiled.

"Go get 'em you thrill seeker," I said with tears filling my eyes.

I walked outside. The church doors closed behind me.

By Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Chandi Peardon

Creative Writer.

My inspiration? Personal trauma, mental illness, and love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.