Fiction logo

I Never Asked You Out: Part 16

Now She Is Wiser

By Gloria Michael Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Never Asked You Out: Part 16
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Caro didn't answer. Instead, she remained silent and motionless. After a while, her mom gave her shoulder a light squeeze and then pulled Caro's hand into hers. She caressed Caro's hand lovingly as she asked her daughter questions to which Caro kept giving responses, but she could barely focus on them, she was too upset and shocked.

After several minutes her mother spoke again. "Would you like to talk about it?" she asked her, waiting patiently for an answer. Caro remained quiet as her mom continued. "You can tell me, honey. I won't judge you. No matter what it is, I'll listen to you and support you no matter what."

Caro let out a deep sigh, slowly lifting her face from her pillow to look at her mother. "Clark," she started to say, her voice sounding hoarse due to crying nonstop for a few hours. "My ex cheated on me and told me he never asked me out," she finished.

Her mother frowned sadly and nodded her head sympathetically. "Oh honey, I'm so sorry," she said, placing her other hand over hers.

The girl shrugged her shoulders slightly, wiping away tears with the back of her free hand. "It's ok. I don't' know what happened," she replied shaking her head slowly. "I just... I should've seen this coming. I always knew there was something wrong between us. And yet I never thought he would be capable of something like this... Worst of all, he chose Lexa to betray me with" she concluded bitterly.

"I know baby," her mother replied, stroking her hair gently. "Or maybe they were actually involved in the past and were just pretending," her mother suggested, giving Caro's shoulder a slight pat.

"Maybe," Caro responded quietly before taking a deep breath and exhaling loudly. "But how could he do that? We loved each other. He promised to marry me and he broke our promise! He said he wanted to take things slow, and we just moved on with our life! He lied to me. And after everything, I thought we had. Why? I mean... Did I do something wrong?" she asked, looking up at her mum who appeared surprised by what her daughter had just said.

Cariel smiled softly and hugged her daughter tight. "No baby," she murmured reassuringly, running her fingers through her daughter's hair soothingly. "Everything is going to be fine baby, do you want to eat anything first? I can make you something. Your favourite," she offered while getting up from the floor and walking towards the kitchen to start preparing dinner.

***

It's a year later after graduation and Caro has healed and moved on from everything that had happened with Clark, and she still keeps in touch with him after he apologized. Now she has learnt her lesson never to assume a girlfriend role in someone's life if she hasn't been officially given the title or better still asked out.

She had decided to go on a date with a guy who had confessed to her before. At first, she had found him attractive; he had always reminded her of a typical model, with his dark-skinned brown eyes and tall slender figure. However, after being with him for only a few hours, Caro realized that he just wasn't her type and so eventually she had come to realize that he was just a time-waster like Clark was and didn't want anything serious with her. She can't make the same mistake twice because now she is wiser and if you are not being direct with her and asking her out, then you are not just her type.

The End

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Michael

Gloria loves writing and experiencing the world in a free form..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gloria Michael is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.