Fiction logo

I Never Asked You Out: Part 13

At The Coffee Shop

By Gloria Michael Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Never Asked You Out: Part 13
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Caro snorted sarcastically. "Miscommunication... Please... I've known you too long to believe that shit you just spewed."

"Ok, well what's wrong with me then? Am I not allowed to be friends with you anymore?" Lexa protested quietly.

"How do I know that you're not messing with me right now? Is there any chance that Clark isn't really going after you, Lexa?" Caro asked softly.

"Okay, okay! Look Caro I just thought... We were supposed to become friends after the whole thing with Wells happened and we ended up being good friends. So I guess I thought you'd feel a bit safer if I get closer to Clark and get his true intentions about you so you wouldn't end hurt like you were when Wells left but I didn't think Clark and I will end up falling for one another" Lexa said in a pleading tone, lowering her head low and staring straight ahead at the ground. "And it hurts, Caro. Seeing you hurt like that was horrible because... I care about you a lot, ok? I care about you and I thought that I could protect you by being close to Clark but it was the complete opposite. And it broke me, Caro. I can see how hard it is for you and I am truly sorry" she said as she slowly lifted her head and gazed deep into Caro's eyes. Her lips trembled slightly and it almost became visible as a single tear rolled slowly down her cheek.

Caro's own mouth moved as if she had something to say but nothing came out. Countless emotions were running through her mind and the only thing she knew for certain was that she cared for Lexa a great deal. She cared so much that she lost control over herself. She leaned forward and gently pressed her forehead against Lexa's "I thought you were my friend but you chose to betray me with my so-called boyfriend. Bye-bye Lexa, bye to our friendship." She whispered to Lexa before standing up and leaving quickly, ignoring Lexa's shouts after her, calling her name repeatedly, telling her that everything was all an accident but Caro just ignored it as she walked towards the coffee shop.

Caro entered the coffee shop, immediately spotting Clark who was already seated waiting for her at the table. When he saw her coming toward him, he got up from his seat and approached her cautiously.

"Hey, are you OK?" he asked.

Caro didn't reply and instead pushed past him to sit down.

"Hey, what happened?" Clark asked, frowning slightly as he reached out a hand, gently caressing Caro's forearm. "Did something happen to you? What happened?" he repeated.

"Nothing," she replied as she stared blankly ahead.

Clark gave her a sceptical look and sat back down on his chair. "Look... I know it's been tough for you lately... And yeah, I know we've drifted apart recently but please, just tell me what happened to make you so angry" he insisted.

"It's complicated, you know, I just finished talking with Lexa. Didn't she already message you to inform you about what we discussed seeing how intimate you both have been recent" Caro said with a bitter smile, looking down at the ground as she played nervously with her fingers? "I'm just here to know why you decided to hurt me with my close friend, why Clark?" she continued as she glanced at him and smiled weakly.

Clark raised his eyebrows and stared back at her for a moment, completely surprised by Caro's accusations, but then he sighed and dropped his gaze realizing he would have to start explaining things.

To be continued…

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Gloria Michael

Gloria loves writing and experiencing the world in a free form..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gloria Michael is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.