Fiction logo

I'll Be Right Back

Two Brothers journey to another galaxy in search of their father, discovering things they didn't know were possible.

By Maika RothfussPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
I'll Be Right Back
Photo by Stefan Kunze on Unsplash

“Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. That was until Hubert Kollymore, my beloved father and founder of Kolly Cooperation, created Kore. He worked tirelessly, while also caring for his family, to create the spacetastic world we live in! With Kore, you can visit your Grandmother on Mars within two hours; or take a family trip to the Mood Theme Park within thirty minutes. Kore is powerful, sustainable, and doesn’t damage the environment or our way of living. With Kore…”

Hu let out a groan. “Lu, shut that noise off.” The room fell silent. He had heard that commercial played to the point that he could visualize the screen in his head. His brother, Robby, stared in this performance.

He does it well. No one would ever know what he says is bullshit.

Hu was lying in bed, staring at the ceiling. He had been up for at least an hour, thinking about getting ready. He dreaded what today might bring. It had been a year since his father’s last video call and two months since they recovered his ship.

Lu, the newest model of house-care droids, hovered into the bedroom. She was a basic model, simply a cube with a small screen on it that showed expressions as she spoke. The blinds rose, pouring warm light in. “Good morning, Hubert. It is time for you to get ready.”

“Yeah, I know.” Hu heaved himself out of bed. “Do I really have to go to this?”

“You’re the one who set the alarm.” She told him.

“What’s with the attitude, Lu?”

“I am adaptive to my environment. I am programmed to reflect my host as to provide the best possible home care.” Her tone was cheery.

“Of course you are. Just go start some coffee.”

The droid left, going about her new task. Hu showered, shaved, and dressed in a crisp black suit. He wore their family crest, a golden branch, pinned to his coat. His reflection showed a young man, capable of running an empire. He felt more like an imposter. He didn’t want to see his father’s ship, in fact, he wanted very little to do with his father at all.

Hubert Kollymore was a brilliant scientist/engineer, but his heart was filled with adventure. In his youth, he traveled the globe before taking an interest in engines and space travel. He revolutionized the industry with Kore fuel and products; nearly replacing the oil industry overnight.

Then he fell in love with a biologist named Genevieve. When his first son was born, Hubert Jr., he swore to never leave them. Hubert kept that promise for four years, until an old colleague called his attention back into space. His travels occupied him for a whole year; returning home with treasures and tales that won him even more awards.

Not long after, his second son was born, Robby. He dazzled his boys with exciting tales of black holes, colliding stars, and distant galaxies. His tales were so captivating, the neighborhood children would gather around to listen to him speak.

He was only home another year before being called away again. Intermittently, over the course of the next six years, Hubert lived between his home on Earth, his home on the Space Station, and being lost somewhere in the vastness of space. He kept with constant communication, but when Hu would ask when he was coming home; his response was always “soon.”

Soon, became a very long time.

When Hu was thirteen, and Robby nine, their father crash back through the atmosphere. There had been an undetected malfunction, causing their landing sequence to misalign. Four of his six crew members had perished. Hubert himself retained large blotches of third degree burns and four fractured ribs. His recovery took eight painful months.

He swore to never leave again; holding his boys close.

Hu remembered the night he broke that promise.

Again.

A noise had woken Hu. He crept from his room just in time to see his father open the front door. He dawned a thick coat with a duffle bag thrown over one shoulder.

“Where are you going?” Hu called to him.

His father remained facing forward, his posture straightening.

“I’ll be right back.”

Then he was gone.

Hu was interrupted from his thoughts by a knocking at his door. His reflection revealed tears welding in his eyes, his confidence waning. Hu downed some painkillers before venturing into the kitchen nook. Lu had already poured him coffee; preparing a second cup for his guest.

“Hey, brother. Ready for the big day?” Robby grinned. He wore a bright blue suit that hung on his small frame.

Hu shrugged, taking a swig of his coffee. “Did mom dress you?” He teased.

Robby looked at his outfit as if just seeing it. “What, you don’t like it?”

“I was just hoping you’d wear something more… professional.”

“Blue’s very ‘in’ right now.” To add emphasis, he kicked up his legs, revealing dark blue socks.

“Robby I’m stepping down.” Hu blurted.

Robby dropped his legs. “Where’s this coming from?”

“You’re about to be nineteen. That’s when I took over the company. I’ve been thinking about this a lot, actually. I don’t want to follow in dad’s footsteps. I don’t want his company. I’ve seen your test scores; you’re brilliant and you know it. You have really great ideas; you’d be a worthy successor of the company.”

“I’m flattered, but…” Robby wasn’t sure what to say.

“Do you want it? Yes or no?”

“I’m not…”

Hu removed the golden branch from his coat and slid it over to his brother. “I want you to have it. I want it to be you.” At a loss for words, Robby smiled and took the pin. “Come on, let’s get going.”

The Museum of Modern Arts and Sciences consisted of seven buildings; three dedicated to the arts, three to sciences, and one specifically housed all the discoveries that Hubert Kollymore and his crew accumulated over the years.

In a few hours, Hu would be unveiling their father’s recovered ship. A new relic for the museum to collect. A new piece of history that tourist would flock to gaze upon. They would honor his name and then Hu would gladly pass on the company to his brother.

They were greeted by Edward, the museum curator. He led them into the back room where they kept the ship. Hu approached the hunk of metal; scarred and melted from reentry. The left engine was torn from the body as well as any adornments and logos. The hatch gapped open, its cavity revealing the charred remains of a seat and control panel.

“Hubert…” Edward was standing at his side, his hands outstretched. “There was something I found while observing the ship. It’s addressed to you.” He handed the small box to Hu. It was wrapped in parchment, Hubert Jr. scribbled on it. “I didn’t open it.”

“Thank you.” Hu replied, equal doses of curiosity and dread creeping up his spine. He pulled back the brown paper, exposing a smooth grey cube. It was cold to the touch and had a single blue button on one side.

“It’s a holographic recording…” Robby slid closer to his brother, wonder filling his eyes.

“I’ll give you two a moment.” Edward said, taking his leave.

Hu’s hands began to shake.

“Are you going to press it?” Robby asked.

“I don’t know if I can…”

“But if it’s dad…”

Hu whirled to face his brother, clenching the cube. “So what if it is?! He leaves us for years on end and even when he was here, he hardly had time for us! What could he possibly have to say after all this time?”

Tears formed in Robby’s eyes. “Maybe why he left.”

Hu sighed, sinking into a chair beside them. He held out the cube and pressed the small blue button. A tiny needle pricked his skin. Hu let out a yelp, dropping the small machine. It jittered to life, tiny noises emerging from it. The blue button began to glow, an image forming from the light.

Once the dots of light settled, a spitting image of their father appeared before them. He was blue in color, but his features were detailed. From the strange pattern that decorated his coat, to the light stubble that grew on his chin. He wore thin rimmed glasses that hung too low on his nose and his hair fell in messy bunches around his face.

“Dad?” Hu asked. The image looked at him and smiled.

“Hi, Hubie. I’m sorry that this is how you’ll find me.”

“I don’t understand, what is this?” He stood up and approached the image. Hu passed a hand through the specks of light, but it only distorted them for a moment before returning to their normal position.

“I recorded this shortly after discovering Meriguld. In case I didn’t return, I hoped that this cube would come back to find you; along with my ship.”

“Meriguld?” Hu asked.

“Meriguld is a rumor.” Robby chipped in.

“It isn’t anymore. I’ve found it. I plan to traverse the planet and reach its heart. That is where the Fountain of Youth is located.”

“You left us for a stupid treasure hunt?!” Hu yelled at the lights.

Robby stepped to Hu’s side, hoping to comfort him. “Why did you send this message?”

The holograms expression darkened. “Something’s happened to me. This message is recorded with only the knowledge I have before stepping down on the planet. It’s designed to return home at my request. If it’s returned without me… Well, I need your help son.”

“You never helped us, why should we help you?”

“I’m sorry I left. You have to understand that I had to. This is more important than you know.”

Before Hu could say anything, Robby stepped in. “We’ll help.”

“Good. This cube, along with my ship, will have the information you need to find me. Thank you, boys. I love you.” Then the image vanished.

“I’m not going.” Hu crossed his arms, pouting like a small child.

“I think we should.” Robby picked up the small cube. “Besides, what were you going to do anyway after stepping down from the company?”

Hu shrugged. “Whatever I wanted.”

Robby held the cube out. “Well, I want to do this. And I want you to come with me. If you won’t do it for dad. At least do it for me.”

Hu sighed, grabbing the cube from his brother. He wanted to smash it into thousands of tiny pieces; instead, he shoved it into his pocket.

“Fine. But we’re getting a bigger ship.”

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Maika Rothfuss

I've loved to create stories ever since I was little. It's taken a lot for me to actually show anyone my work, but I hope to inspire and create wonder with the tales, characters, and worlds I've created.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.