Fiction logo

I Know Nothing

Short Story

By Mary Louisa CappelliPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Author+Bing

Hell, if I know!

I woke up to some red-dented Camaro blasting “Drunk on a Plane.” Had a Fritos Corn Chips wrapper stuck to my left cheek and an empty no-drop-left-in-the-bottle of Jack Daniels hugging my crutch—bad night.

I know nothing.

Just another fuck up, livin’ the struggle.

So, leave me out of it.

What? No, I don’t wanna go nowhere with you. I’m good. Didn’t do nothing. Okay? What? Things were okay, then they weren’t. Just like that, on a toss of a die — ain’t nobody needs a barely graduated high school employee no more. Not when you don’t have to pay minimum wage.

No apologies, nothing, just a ten-second council voted eight to one to end my fifteen-year career as a parking attendant at Wesley County Courthouse. Everything automated, so don’t need me or anyone else to do anything.

All life goin’ robo-man.

No, no warning, no severance pay, nothing. Everything stripped out from underneath me, two weeks shy of the holidays when every seasonal job already taken by some eager high schooler trying to bank enough bucks to buy some new Xbox video game to drown out all the adult drama on Christmas.

I got nine hundred, fifty-three, and thirty-two cents to my name. Period. I don't know. What you got? Retirement fund? Pension? Health insurance? What’s that!! Oh, for sure some big-ass 401K waiting to cash in on some magical day. I’m just like the other folks ‘round here in this down-and-out, piece of shit city. I’m living paycheck to paycheck.

PAYCHECK TO PAYCHECK, UNCLE SCAM!

Just like that loser lying dead flat there. Bet his mama never thought he’d end up puddled in his blood with a knife twisted down his back. Better off, you ask me. Can’t feel nothing when you dead.

Just saying.

These sorry States of America got enough money to send 5,000 unguided Mk82 bombs, 5,400 plus Mk84 bombs, 1,000 plus GBU-39 small-diameter bombs, and 3,000 plus JDAMs over to blow some mothers and children to smithereens. Sure, you wanna help? Yeah, right! Wait till it’s your job, RoboCop. Imagine you left it in the cold because of some automated-don’t-have-to-look-in-your-face-to-kill-you?

I escaped that military trap ’cause when I took my shirt off during the medical, Dr. Know-it-All saw the sideways curvature of my spine. Something about a lumbar spine over 20 degrees on the Cobb salad scale. It never bothered me, I told him. I can do anything any soldier can do.

Didn’t matter. I was a cripple as far as he was concerned and I didn’t even go to war. Just looks like it. Some sorry-ass Vet slumped over in front of Tom Thumb with a misspelled sign and a coffee cup begging for change from some rich white lady willing to pay seven bucks for some fancy strawberry preserves.

I’m not bitter. I’m a poor toss-away living on the edge of being and not-a-thing. Hard to be when I got nothin’ and nothin’ got me.

What you say? Family?!? WTF?

Do you think that lowlife sack of shit had a family who cared? You think he’d be dead, but for living on these streets. Are you gonna look up his family?!? Sure. Right? Like the fuck you’d take the time. As if you care! Bundle him up in one of your body bags and put a tag on him. Hahaha!

AS IF!

Whoever the fuck he is, it’s one less stench to smell when passing by on your rounds. Isn’t that right, officer?

I had a job!

I’m not going nowhere with you!

I ain’t homeless. I know my rights. Get your hands off me!

Fuck! Stop it!

I didn’t do nothin’ but wake up on the wrong side of the gutter. All I did was go to work and lose my job. Now you telling me I’m somehow a suspect. Why? ’Cause ain’t nobody else around, just me? Gotta close the case so people feel safe. Hahahaha!

Ain’t nobody safe! Not you. Not me. Nobody!

It’s the Wild, Wild West man! Hahaha!

Wild West and you, fool, the sheriff.

Today, yet another homeless man was stabbed in my city a few feet away from the metro station. Several cop cars showed up. Yellow tape went up to rope off the area. Gawkers came out to stare, then got disgusted and left. The body was tossed in a bag and taken away. Nobody will claim it. Third stabbing this week. Homeless on homeless crime. Nobody cares. Homeless on resident crime. News, but Nobody cares.

Nothing changes.

Lots of disposable John Does in these parts.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.