Fiction logo

I can't believe that the day of his death will be the day to send me a wedding invitation?

wedding invitation

By CladerovaPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
I can't believe that the day of his death will be the day to send me a wedding invitation?
Photo by Katsia Jazwinska on Unsplash

Ten years ago, my parents were working abroad, so I boarded at the girls' high school. On Sundays, all the students and teachers went home. I was the only one in this big empty school except for a janitor. The usually lively school was instantly cold.

I was afraid of being alone, so on Sundays, I usually wandered the streets until I was tired and went back to sleep in the dormitory. This day, as usual, I was wandering around the street when it suddenly started raining. My language teacher Charles suddenly appeared and asked me with a smile: " Sara, walking in the rain!"

I smiled at him in confusion and tried to walk away, but he took off his jacket and put it over our heads to protect us from the rain, which involuntarily reminded me of my father.

When I was little, no matter where I was, as long as it was raining, my dad would hold me in his arms and block the rain for me with his body and clothes. When I grew up, he would take off his coat and put it over our heads, walking side-by-side and taking me home.

My mind went back in time, and I felt that I was not with my teacher, but with my father. My feet couldn't help but follow him, but he was walking back not to school, but his home. In his house, I met Charles' wife and his son Luis, Charles' wife is an elementary school teacher, surnamed Sean, Luis and I are also first-year students, but we are not the same school classmates.

I don't know if it's because I'm less likely to visit, or if it's just my nature. Charles and his wife were very nice, but Luis was a bit arrogant and directed at me, but I never cared, because I was just a visitor in their house.

However, when Mr. Sean found out that my parents were out of town, he put me up in their house. Every Sunday, Mr. Sean would ask Luis to pick me up and bring me to their house, and Mr. Sean would cook me good food every time. When I first started, I thought Luis was targeting me because of this. Then I realized that he thought I was being formal at their house because I was acting out, but as time went on and we got to know each other better, I relaxed.

I slowly stopped being formal, and my relationship with Luis slowly improved, and then we went to high school together. We started with a basic friendship and slowly rose to love. After graduating from high school, we both agreed to get married after graduation.

But in my junior year, I received a blood-red wedding invitation handed to me by his own hands. The first time I saw him, I was surprised to find that he was Luis.

When we met, he smiled and handed me a blood-red wedding invitation, I reached out and took it, and I saw that the bride and groom on the wedding invitation were Luis and Nicole. The wedding invitation slipped from my hands, I stared into his eyes, how I wish he could tell me that it was just someone with the same name as him.

He smiled and told me that he met a girl he liked in college, the girl's name was Nicole, and they were in love, and the reason they couldn't wait to graduate to get married was that Nicole was pregnant. I do not want to shed tears in front of him, I want to proudly say to him: wish you two forever together, to grow old.

The company's main business is to provide a wide range of products and services to its customers. Not only did he know my dormitory, he even seemed to be familiar with it as if he had been here a thousand times before, carrying me to my bed and settling in before leaving.

I was sick for a month, and I saw Luis all the time, and he sat by my bedside and kept telling me, "I'm sorry, Sara, I was too young when I met you, I didn't know any better, I just mistook my love for love. Now that I've met a woman I truly love, I realize that I only like you, not love. I'm sorry, forget about me ......"

For a whole month, I lost more than ten pounds. A month later, I resumed my original life, but I have always loved to smile, and from that day onwards never really smiled.

After graduation, I thought for a long time, about the result I still put my resume to the high school where I studied with Luis, not for any, I just hope that I can be close to taking care of my teacher and teacher mother. After all, they had helped me when I was at my most helpless, and they had always been true to me.

And because I couldn't let go of Luis even though he no longer loved me, I still loved him and I just wanted to know if he was doing well.

After I returned to my alma mater to teach, I didn't dare to see Charles' father because I was afraid, I was afraid to see Luis and his wife, and I didn't dare to face them.

Ten days ago, I accidentally learned from a teacher at my alma mater who taught me and Luis that Luis had died two years ago, in August of the year I was a junior in college. The teacher said that the day he died was the day he came to my university to deliver my wedding invitation.

When I thought of that day, my heart hurt like a million swords through my heart, and my tears seemed to flow unstoppably. I frantically grabbed everyone who passed by me and I kept asking them if Luis was dead ......

I couldn't believe that the day of his death would be the day of my wedding invitation. I finally collapsed to the ground, my eyes could see everything as usual, but I couldn't see anything. My ears can hear as usual, but I can't hear a sound. My senses are still there, but I can't hear anything.

My mind was like a short circuit, a blank, just when I thought I was dead. My ears kept hearing Luis' words, he kept saying to me: "Sara, wake up. I need you, wake up, I'm the only son my parents have left. If you don't help me take care of my parents now that I'm dead, how will my parents live in the future? I'm begging you, you can't do this anymore, get your act together. Sara, you have to help me take care of my parents ......

I reached out and tried to grab them, but I couldn't get anything. I woke up with tears streaming down my face and realized it was my mother's hands. My mother's hands in my impression are round and dexterous. But now I have not seen my mother for a few years, she is older than the past dozens of years, a woman in her forties, in the prime of life, at this time looks like an old woman of 60, 70 years old.

I was in tears, Luis' death was a very heavy blow to me, but not to my teacher and my mother.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Claderova

Different youth, the same confusion. However, youth will grow and confusion will dissipate. After the night, the sun rises as usual!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.