Fiction logo

I Am The Prize

And what an attractive prize I am

By Adam EvansonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
I Am The Prize
Photo by Pinho . on Unsplash

Well, this is going to be one very unique heist. What it consists of is me basically stealing myself back from those who stole me, from me, in the first place. They've been stealing me from me all of my life. And then, they try to get me to pay them to get myself back. It's a new me, they say, who will have a better life. Well, it's going to stop.

First I have to do some preparation. I have to close the curtains and get rid of all those distracting signs outside. Then I will have to clear the decks some. Out go the newspapers and magazines and off goes the tv and radio. I'll have to turn off the pc too, but that'll have to wait until after I'm done writing about this micro heist. Next, I have to turn off my cell phone and put it away.

Ok, I think I've got this. Now I have to promise myself to ignore those thieves who bombard me with their subliminal messages, 'I am not attractive.' However, they say, I can be attractive for the price of their brand of beer, or cologne. Bullshit, I am attractive without.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Hi Ralph - I know that you think I'm silly; fun sometimes! But, I have to tell you, surely things we write about relate to readers in their many personal ways when we refer to 'The Prize' the 'Trophy' if you will. Such As: In my Biz we heard a lot of "Who Was The Prize" in a relationship 'Man v Woman' - Fun how the power of the pen pops these kinds of memories out - Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.