Fiction logo

I Almost Let Go

losing myself to find myself

By Lotus WritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I Almost Let Go
Photo by Brennan Wolf on Unsplash

I’ve reached my breaking point. All my life I’ve been in hell screaming for a breakthrough that I never got. No help, no love, nothing but bad luck and pain. Was God even real? I had been asking him for help but it never came. My intrusive thoughts began taking over my mind. “You’re not good enough” “nobody cares about you” was an all-day all-night thing. No matter where I went or what I did my mind was always negative. I just want peace of mind. I sat down near my bed covering my ears. PLEASE LEAVE ME ALONE! I screamed but the voices were too powerful. “ I’m going to get you” you’ve never been good enough” you’re ugly and unlovable” “you’re going to die soon”. I cringed at the last one and that’s when I reached my peak. “I was so tired of worrying about my life and my past and the future. Living trapped in a world where I couldn’t afford to live, in a body where I felt nothing but sharp pains and anxiety. I stopped sleeping because I fear not waking up. Food wasn’t even on my list because everything I would try to eat the voices would quickly tell me to put it down. I had no love life, my family hated me, I could never do anything right and I had no real connections with anybody. Of course, I tried to be and think positive but the evil thoughts were too powerful and true to overcome. I was just going through a life loss. So this day I decided to end my life. Plus the tarot death card confirmed it as well. Who would miss me anyway? My mom was too busy working to notice that I was completely losing myself to depression, my dad had no feelings, and my job's only priority was to schedule me long hard hours. I had no real ambition, no goals no desire to do another of the things I liked anymore. Getting up I looked into the mirror hating the person on the other end. Dark skinned big lips, peach fuzz, and chin hair I have to shave every day. Who would ever love me? So I decided it was time for me to go and I'll do it peacefully and quickly. No letters to my family expressing myself, no video explaining how sorry I was. nothing. as I walked to the bathroom the tears started flowing uncontrollably. I held a small box cutter knife in my hand tightly while closing my eyes . "hurry up and cut your vein open idiot" the voices started again. I traced my arm with the knife and slowly started to cut. the pain was unbearable but i knew i'd be gone soon They won. but then something happened a voice as powerful as the ones in my head scream out "NO"! "DONT DO IT"! YOURE LOVED"! it startled me and i dropped the knife. My head starting to expand with beautiful thoughts of love , peace and hope. The thoughts where so sudden and pure that it made me cry. It was the ugliest cry i've ever let out but it felt so freeing and calmimg I didnt even care. The voice was the most gentle and calming voice i've ever had the chance to hear. In that moment I had to will to live on another day. "Stand up and look at your beautiful face" it said and so I did . looking at the roundness of my face and the slant of my light brown eyes i began to smile . "Now do you see what i see"? You're very beautiful and you have alot to live for . So that day i decided to live and enjoy life and to not let the hardships of learning get me down . I was saved by an angel.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Lotus Writes

a story teller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.