Fiction logo

I almost died on my Birthday

A startling moment that made me dumbstruck

By yuvashree R DeepPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
I almost died on my Birthday
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

It was a Monday night; I came home from work at 10 pm. The night was so dark with a cool breeze.

I opened the main door and switched on the lights.

Yowl...

Yowl...

That sounded like a weird cry of the cat.

I was terrified to hear that sound in my house; the cat was black with grey eyes.

It fell on me and tried to bite and scratch with its legs; I defended myself; it ran away on seeing the door open.

Shaken from inside, I entered the living room.

Lights in the living room flickered with a sound.

Flickered again.

All the lights in my house flickered; the power was off.

My house was in deep darkness; see nothing around me. I managed to get the torch from the drawer and moved towards the inverter.

Swish...

Swish...

I felt the sound of the wind as someone cries. I turned towards the shutters, yet no one was there.

I closed the shutter completely.

There was a haunting silence in every corner of the house.

Coo...

Coo...

I heard a loud chattering of the pigeons; they were nesting on my balcony. They didn’t leave the place for the past week. They made the sound.

In a haunting silence and daunting situation, our illusions go beyond the moment and scare us to the core.

Suddenly the lights were on. I felt relief inside. But at the same time i had a feel that someone was there in the house. I lived in this house for the past six months. I have never felt terrified this way.

It’s just an illusion, I said to myself.

I played my favorite song on the television and washed my face.

I felt someone else reflection crossing, when i looked into the mirror; but none was there.

I heard some sound in the kitchen and went inside. There I saw something red all over the slab and on the floor. It looked like blood.

Drip...

Drip...

The sound of blood dropping on the made me dumbstruck for a moment.

Then I screamed blood!

Blood!

I ran out of the kitchen.

Suddenly someone from behind touched my shoulder. I was glued to the spot, terror-stricken.

Guess who?

It was my husband, George.

He astonished me with his presence.

Happy Birthday, Ria.

That was my first Birthday after marriage; he said he was busy at work and could not come home that night. He came home early and hid himself in the balcony to surprise me.

When I asked him; why he scared me?

He said he went to the kitchen to get the red wine; the bottle slipped from his hands and broke.

He decorated the living room with lights, balloons, and cake.

He presented me with a platinum ring and made the day more memorable.

It was a incredible birthday!

But still, when I asked about the aggressive cat; he said he had no idea about it.

Yes, that was a wonderful and memorable birthday ever.

But I almost died out of fear on my Birthday!

MicrofictionMysteryCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

yuvashree R Deep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • yuvashree R Deep (Author)10 months ago

    Hi, Thanks for reading! I love reading books and writing, that gives me satisfaction and happiness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.