Fiction logo

Humanity's Extinction

24 Hours Until The Rise of A New World

By E.L. MartinPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Humanity's Extinction
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I remember when the world government announced the extermination of humanity within 24 hours. The cause wasn't a meteorite, an extra-terrestrial invasion, or a world-wide nuclear frenzy between countries. It was a conscious decision made by the world government for population control and "the good of the planet." A bioweapon had been engineered to directly obliterate mankind on an atomic level. No corpses or disease would remain from its victims. Their bodies would vanish, and the murder would be as clean as if they never existed in the first place.

By Michal Matlon on Unsplash

After the announcement, pandemonium ensued for some. Others simply didn't believe the announcement or pretended they hadn't heard it. Some partied or made love. Some looted, rioted, and stole items they always wanted but could never legally possess or obtain. Many used drugs and alcohol and spent their last hours high. Others spent their remaining time with family. Many did a combination of all.

Night-shift workers would realize they wasted their remaining time sleeping and regret missing the announcement. The actions of those in certain professions may or may not surprise you. A few nurses continued their shifts at the hospital, still striving to save the diseased and dying, despite the now futile effort. Most hospital staff recognized the pointlessness and left in pursuit of their own desires. A few police officers tried to enforce order and prevent violence, but crime was mostly written off. For the next twenty-four hours, it would be difficult to distinguish what was and wasn't a crime, and since humanity was going to die anyway what further punishment could occur? Inmates broke free from prisons. Prison guards left their posts.

By Emiliano Bar on Unsplash

What did I do? I visited Old Alfred's coffee shop with my dog, Maximus. If I was going to die, I wanted to start the day off right, sipping the best cup of joe in town. The tough old bird stayed open. A few other regulars shared my sentiment and it appeared to be "business as usual" at Alfred's. Alfred yelled at us in his thick, Irish accent while pouring shots of whiskey and grinding coffee beans. He was adding whiskey shots on the house with a purchase of coffee. If we were all going to die, he wasn't letting the "good stuff" go to waste!

When looters started to shove through his doors, Ol' Al blew them away with a shotgun he had under his counter. Firearms might have been illegal, but Alfred always said, "ye hafta find a-way to protect yerself coz the gov'ment aint gonna do it fer ye." The old man jabbered away madly as he shot, drinking more whiskey all the while. Maximus growled and the other customers and I defended our positions. For some reason, we all laughed wildly after the intruders left. Additional shots of whiskey were served, and we felt pretty good.

By Dylan de Jonge on Unsplash

We wondered how the rural populations were doing. They were probably forgotten once again. We doubted that they had even heard the announcement and wondered if they were better off not knowing what was about to happen.

The whiskey didn't outshine my coffee. My last cup went down so smooth I had another. I enjoyed the bitter flavor and sweet aroma. I shouted at Al and asked if I could stay a while. "Do whatever the hell ye want ta do." he shouted. Most of us single folk wanted to stay but yearned for food to go with our drinks. The old man overheard and nearly pushed Maximus and I out of the store.

"Ye go to that woman's bakery o'er there. We had a disagreement years ago and me pride's been too hurt ta go get er' pastries since, but she makes de best pastries in all da nation."

The woman gave us a cart full and asked us to say hi to Alfred for her.

When I returned, I chuckled, "Former lover of yours, old man?"

"Whether I'm dead or dyin' I ain't gonna tell ye t'at." he replied stubbornly.

The pastries were as sweet as the woman who baked them. I enjoyed a lemon and cheese Danish. Today wasn't the day to watch your figure, we were all dead anyway. I saw a tear run down Alfred's face as he savored his first bite. He pulled a shiny chain from his pocket.

I promised to return the next morning and spent the rest of my day calling loved ones. Unable to get out of the city, I would ditch my car like many other citizens just to turn around and walk home. If I couldn't get to my family today, what good would the car do me? At least I had enough time to say my goodbyes and extend my gratitude over the phone.

By Nabeel Syed on Unsplash

Maximus and I went to the park. Per his insistence, I borrowed a gun from Alfred for protection. I doubted I would use it. We were all going to be dead tomorrow, so what good would a few more hours do me? I just wanted to enjoy nature one more time, see a sunset, enjoy a good meal, and sleep one more night in my own bed. I took these comforts for granted prior to the announcement. I saw some old friends. Some looked worn and didn't act like themselves. Others had similar plans to mine. We were simple creatures.

I returned to the coffee shop the next morning when I heard a high pitch whistle that hurt my ears. Customers began to vanish. A searing, burning pain feverishly flooded my body. I couldn't scream. I saw my hands become longer, more grotesque. My hair stood up and painfully grew to cover my body. I felt my canines protrude. Maximus looked up at me concerned, but unafraid. The few of us remaining in the coffee shop had changed. We watched the TV and wondered if we had been forced to mutate. Maybe that was the government's real extinction notice; mutate or die.

A horned government representative appeared on TV to make an announcement. "Those of you remaining are one of us and always have been. You may not have known you were anything other than human, but you are. Your ancestors were more than human, and they passed their genetic line to you. Be grateful. What you have experienced and witnessed is The Great Purification. We are returning to our roots and ancestry without the taint of humanity. When humans entered the earth, they brought disease, destruction, and persecution. It is in their nature. From conception and beyond, suppression drugs were given to our various species to diminish our existence. Our kinds blended with them and had children; many unknowingly. Thankfully, a few of our kind knew about this history and were able to infiltrate their governments. We no longer need to blend. You'll notice changes in your appearance, this is your true form. Get used to it. It is our hope that this chance we have been given will not be wasted. Enjoy your life. You have more time remaining."

With that, the government signed off. I looked at those remaining in the coffee shop; five of us out of 40. A goblin sat to my left, a gnome to my right, and a centaur stood in the back. I looked at my hair and then at my dog. I was a wolfman. I wanted to believe that this was an experiment gone wrong, but I didn't. Fantasy had mingled with reality, and now we were all questioning our previous world views. This world was new.

By Marek Szturc on Unsplash

Alfred's appearance had subtle changes; he was shorter, squatter, and his auburn beard was thicker and longer.

"You don't look all that different, old man," I jested as Alfred gawked at me.

"I always knew ye were a dog." he huffed, "if I scratch behind yer ears will yer feet thump?"

Maximus whined, and he gave him a scratch instead. When I finally found a mirror, it confirmed my canine nature. Alfred poured us all more whiskey and coffee. It didn't taste as good this morning, but it did numb us a bit. Those of us remaining decided to travel the town. The looting and violence were likely over. As for discrimination, many of us were too in shock for that. Fear was present; I smelled it, but none of us knew what to do. None of us expected to survive, let alone live another life as anything other than human.

A glint came from outside Mariann's Bakery. It looked familiar to the chain I had seen Alfred pull out of his pocket yesterday. I picked the heart-shaped locket up off the sidewalk, and handed it to Al. He clutched it in his hand firmly before kneeling to the ground. The old man wept.

Another flash caught my eye. Maximus snapped at the flash as if it were a bug. I heard humming. I wondered if I was losing my mind, but realized the world was now a much stranger place and anything was possible. Alfred must have heard the noise too as we heard him shout.

"Will ye stop fluttering in me ear ye darned bug! I'm havin' a moment 'ere. " he yelled waving his hands.

Laughter followed. We all heard it. It belonged to the fairy that fluttered above his ear, "I always knew you were an old troll!" she said, holding her midriff. "M-Mariann?" the man stammered. "Yes, I'm still alive, but be careful I'm much more petite now! When I said I needed to lose a few pounds, I meant from my midriff and thighs, not my height. This wasn't exactly what I wanted." she said, less playfully and more forlorn.

By Boris Krizmanic on Unsplash

"Ye always had a beautiful full-figure Mariann. 'At 'asn't changed, and I'm glad it 'asn't even wit' the decrease in stature" he said, "And a'fore ye say it, ye don' need te look younger either so don' go 'ere."

She beamed then landed on his shoulder. "You've gained some weight." she chuckled.

"Yeah, an' I lost a few inches me'self." he chuckled, "And I'm a dwarf, not a troll. That fella 'ere he's a troll, not me! Don' ye know yer fantasy creatures when ye seem em'?"

She laughed, "I suppose you are better looking. You still look like yourself though."

"Still the handsome man ye dated." he said with bittersweet undertones, remembering the locket, "I thought ye were gone when I saw 'dis. After all dese years. I still watched ye from afar. N'ere wanted ye to go anywhere tha's why I gave ye dis last night."

"Al, I had it until this morning. I wasn't rejecting you...again. I just can't wear it anymore. It's too big now." she said while tears ran down her face.

"I lost ye once, twice I t'ought, and I don' want te' lose ye a t'ird time. I'll fix yer necklace, make ye one ye can wear, and we'll hang dis in yer shop. Yer gonna need help makin' 'dose pastries now." he said smiling.

"Good thing pastries and coffee go well together." I say and wave goodbye.

Despite the loss of lives, the hope we have as beings remained. This world is one of adventure and nature as flora and fauna take over. Never in my wildest dreams did I think Earth would be a fantasy novel: a dystopia and utopia all in one. Some have suffered. Others have prospered. As much as things change, they stay the same. Life goes on. We live, love, experience hardships and loss, but also have a new world to create. A world in harmony and discord all new yet hearkening back to ancient times and the monsters and creatures those times contained. The monsters we were told to fear are no longer fearsome; they are us, and we are the future.

By Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.