Fiction logo

How Much A Dollar Really Worth?

$1 Misplaced

By Bass Man EddiePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2

Where am I? Why am I out from your pockets? I’m cold over here on this concrete floor. I only see the sky covered in grey clouds. I want to be with my brethren. I was suppose be with them when it’s time to move in the promised register! What have I done to deserve such abandonment? I been by your side for what seems like eternity, and this is how I’m worth? Like junk you casually toss to the floor! I won’t stand for this, but at last, I can’t stand at all.

What can I do? Am I not what you wanted? I know I have wrinkles and I’m not as strong as I used to be. And sure, there’s others that are 10’s or 100’s you truly desired, but I have my worth. You have lost something valuable, and if you do decide to come back for me, I won’t come back for you. I will lay here on this concrete and wait for someone who would know what I’m worth!

Any second now, someone will see me.

I understand many are busy, but sooner or later they would notice my green color appearance from this grey surface.

Please! Someone! Anybody?!

Wow, I am worthless. No one doesn’t want to pick me up. What has this world come to?! I used to mean thing. I remember you smiled when we first met. I remember you used to use many like me to buy you food, clothes, and many other things to live off. Now you have left me laying here. And I can’t do anything.

But wait, why am I shivering? And do I hear the wind? Oh no, I don’t need this right now. I don’t want to be blew away. Then I won’t be seen! No, no, no, no, no, no!

I want to scream! Yet I have no mouth to yelp. I’m in the air, uncertain where I’m heading. The world is spinning, and there’s nothing I can do to stop myself. Oh look, there’s the floor, time to brace for impact.

Ouch! Where am I? I’m back on the floor, but it’s softer. I see the floor is green, but it’s not the same green as my own color. Is this what’s called a grass? I see the sky again, but this time the sky has opened from the clouds. From there, I see the yellow sun with the bright blue sky. Yet, I’m still lost in a unknown spot, with no one to help.

Wait, I hear footsteps. It’s a young boy, with a shine in his eyes. He reached out and grab me in his hands. We look at each other, and he smiles. I don’t remember anyone smiling at me. People usually smile for 10’s or 100’s, yet this lad right here is smiling at me. Has he seen what others haven’t seen in me? Has this boy seen my worth?

This young boy then put me in his pocket. I was worried to be back in darkness. In his pocket, it was very dark and I was again alone. I don’t see anyone like me. I was by myself, yet at least I wasn’t cold.

I wait to see what happens. I can feel this boy moving. I wonder where he was heading. I don’t how long it’s been, but suddenly I was grabbed from the top. Here we go again!

I was out from the pocket, yet I was still in the boy’s hands. Then another, and larger hand then grabbed me. I see it was an older man with grey hair. In my sight was a chocolate bar, I think it gave me a wave. I wish I can wave, but I got no hands. As when I look away, there I saw it. The one thing I was promised. The promised register! The old man opened the register, and in my view were my brethren. They cheered and holler at me as I made my into the slot of the register. I may have lost the person who I considered my owner, but I got something better. My worth to be here in the promised register!

AdventureShort StoryHumor
2

About the Creator

Bass Man Eddie

This is Bass Man Eddie here. This is where you read interesting stories and articles from me. These ranges from life lessons to importance of a certain film. I’m very talkative and I would like to talk about many interesting things to you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.