Fiction logo

How I Got My Powers

Water Control

By Keifer AndrusPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Hey my name's Kevin . As you can see in the cover im a lightskin dreadhead standing at 6'3. Now I know I don't look the most thrilled but I'm really hype about unlocking my abilities. Its just that the way i got my abilities and the way they kinda counteract each other is pretty weird.

And what's even weirder is the fact that my boring life stayed exactly the same because I got no fucking idea what to do with them. I mean I feel like most people would instantly know what to do but I kinda never really thought about it. I normally just left that stuff in the anime realm. I want to contact other's and see if they have powers but I feel like I'd end up in one of those weird roleplay things and just freak everyone out.

Eh oh well I guess I'll figure it out once we get there. But for now we'll start in order with the first one being water! And damn was this shit stupid

So in my fit of loneliness I decided to take a walk down to the board walk about a mile or so from my house. So I take my lil midnight stroll slowly making my way down while admiring the stars the moon the whole ordeal.

And I get to the boardwalk, the sound of the waves are really soothing at this time of night. I use the flash light on my phone to get to the end of one of the piers and I sit down. A cool salty breeze runs over my face as I stare into the blank abyss staring back at me. I feel at complete ease, like one with the earth as i t tells me everything is gonna be okay.

I sit there for an hour just thinking about life and everything with it. I'm a college student with no idea on what to study so i just take core classes. I work at a quiet bookstore which is amazing to me since its nice and not to busy. Workload isn't to much but just enough so i don't get bored and enough spare time to  work on my own stories like My Father's a Liar and The Eventful Expedition. T double E is ongoing but I'm just gonna drop M.F.A.L all at once since its a bit more drama based

Anywho at about the hour thirty minute mark I decide to head home since I've just been staring and listening to music this entire time. That new Adele dropped so that was a nice session. So i go to stand up but as soon as I do I felt a heavy shove on my back. I try to get a glimpse of what's trying to kill me but there's nothing there. Then I hit the water and sunk like a fucking rock.

While underwater I'm fighting with all my might but I just can't. It's like something's pulling me down but  I'm able to move all my limbs freely. I punch and kick with all my might completely tiring myself out until I decide to give up and accept my fate. I slowly close my eyes and let the water take me in.

Umm

Huh

Wow uh it takes a while to drown doesn't it? Well thats what I thought until I took a deep breath and realized I was breathing just fine the entire time. A bit irritated because I have my phone on me so that's ruined I guess, and I reallyy liked the hoodie I was wearing. It's a peach color with a small rose on the left chest. My dreads weren't gonna like the seawater either.

Well I've got some sort of aqua affinity going on. The only thing to do next is figure out how to get out the water. So I punched, kicked, twisted, and turned but no luck. Then I got the idea to calm my whole body, bring my arms above my head with my palms facing up. I throw them down as hard as I can and then

BOOM

I fly out the and hit the dock hard as fuck. Like if someone seen me hit the ground they would've felt it hard. So anyway I laid there for a minute or so and get up realizing that I'm completely dry and my phones okay. What a nice surprise now I don't have to explain that I fell into the ocean like an idiot to my family.

So to top this all off I get home get changed and go to bed. What you thought i was gonna tell everyone? Pfft no way that'll just create a whole thing. Plus I didn't bother checking if i can even do it naturally so I just let it go.

But when I wake up tomorrow I'll let you know what I can really do with this power. Of course we'll be finding out together but you know what they say better together than separate!

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.