Fiction logo

Hotel Bar

Dark Eyes, Tantalizing Smirk; Let the Night Begin.

By Malani ArnoldPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 13 min read
3

The Hilton on 6th Ave. is where I will be spending a week of my life, while I am expanding my knowledge for the company I have been dying at for the last twelve years. A part of me is excited as I have never been to New York before. The experience will be good for there will be many new faces to place with the voices I hear every day.

The seminar begins promptly at 7 am, where croissants and coffee are served by the dozen. After about fifteen speakers, 1 pm marks the lunch break. I wish I smoked so I had a reason to leave this room full of small talk and fake smiles. Four hours left and I am hitting that hotel bar the minute I leave. This seminar requires men to wear suits and women in skirt suits, something I had to go and buy so I could attend. I find myself shifting in my chair and constantly adjusting this skirt as it rides up my thighs.

The seminar lets out, finally, and the city has already been taken over with a night sky. I step out onto the sidewalk for a blast of cold December air and let out a breath of relief that day 1 is finally over, with only a few more to go. I head back into the hotel once the banquet room has cleared, sneaking my way undetected into the hotel bar. As I walk in, the room is dark, the fancy lighting gives off a dark blue hue off the granite bar top. The space is practically empty aside from a young couple sitting in a corner booth and two men sitting at the bar near one another. I notice the one, his back is toward the door but he has dark hair, and a dark blue blazer on, I am curious to see the rest of him. As I inch closer, I notice some white in his hair, near his ears, and he has on a pair of dark square-framed glasses. I remind myself I am simply here for a couple of glasses of Moscato and that's it. I find a place at the end of an L-shaped bar and order a glass of wine. I can feel both men looking at me, which has always made me feel uneasy. Just have some confidence, this skirt actually does looks nice on you, remember when you looked at yourself fifteen times to be sure before leaving your room? I roll my eyes at myself and pull my phone out to distract my inner dialog. The bartender brings my glass of wine and I thank him, as I do I glance over to the man with dark hair. He is so handsome; I cannot tell the color of his eyes but watching him talk to his friend for a moment I realize how perfect his face fits the rest of him. My eyes travel down to his hands, which are cupping a glass of brown liquor. His nails are nice, clean, and trimmed; his hands are strong and thick. I feel him watching me stare and quickly pull my eyes away back to my phone. Was he at the seminar? I think I would have remembered seeing him there if he were.

I swig the last sip out of the glass and head toward the restroom. As I pass the corner of the bar I hear "leaving so soon?". I turn and look, and he now has a smirk on his lips, my eyes immediately shoot to that image and my mouth goes dry, wow he is handsome. "Maybe, I will decide whether or not I will have another, this lively crowd is exhausting" I reply with a wink. Did I just wink at him? Where did that come from? Wow, Susan, two glasses of wine, and all of the sudden you're a flirty social butterfly, this is new. As I exit the restroom, I feel a gentle brush on my arm, I turn to find see him standing over me. His eyes are dark, I love dark eyes. "I know a place, if you are interested, they have better wine and music," he says with a smirk. "How far is this place?" I ask genuinely curious and intrigued by a conversation with him. I wonder if we could just skip the conversation and jump right to the part where we fuck?" It's only ten floors up, room 1049..." he says with a genuine glimmer of hope in his eyes that I won’t completely shut him down, although I am curious what would happen if I do accept this offer. So, I shrug, "well that sounds like an interesting bar." and a smile takes over his face as he motions to the elevator with his eyes.

He leads and I follow the short distance to the elevator. My heart is racing because I have never done anything like this before. We step into the elevator and the doors close in front of us, the small space fills with silence. The floors are made of white marble, the walls are glass overlooking the city that has a blanket of night covering it. I can see his reflection in the glass, his hands are in his pockets and he is watching the floors tick up above the door. He is wearing light grey dress pants, brown shoes that are very stylish actually, and a nice dark blue blazer. His hair is dark, with signs of his age through the white specks. He has a tight white button-down under his blazer that has since been untucked with a tie hanging loosely off his neck. The image of him captures me, I have always been incredibly attracted to this look on a man. I see under his tie he has four buttons undone, with a dark tan chest showing behind them. Wow, he is so handsome, someone I probably should get to know before I just sleep with him, but we'll see. The floor dings to 10 and the doors open to a long hallway. He puts his hand on the elevator door as if he is holding it open for me and gestures to go first. I walk out of the elevator, what was that room number again, 1047? Glancing at the number plates I quickly realize we are on the opposite end of where his room is. I can feel him staring at my ass, and it makes my skin prickle up in goosebumps. The hall seems like it goes forever, 1047, here it is. I stop waiting on him to swipe his key on the keypad. He keeps walking, with a laugh, this laugh indicates that he is onto my fake confident facade, and really, I am letting my nerves seep through. He swipes his key and the lock clicks, the door swings open and a gust of his cologne fills my nose, it smells so good. The room is clean, and the view is beautiful overlooking the city lights. He walks over to his mini-fridge and pulls out a bottle of expensive whiskey, "this is all I have for the moment, but room service should be here any second with a cold bottle of nice white wine if you rather that." Wait, room service? When did he manage to order room service? The thought settled my nerves because if he were expecting to have had company this evening, I would imagine he would have had other beverages on hand. There is a knock at the door, "oh there it is now!" he hurries to answer. "Thank you, sir, enjoy your evening," the young man says as he closes the door. "So I don't think we have even introduced ourselves, my name is Chris.." he looks at me with eager eyes. "Well, hello Chris, I am Susan." He smiles, "Susan? I like that name." "Thank you, my mom gave it to me... I prefer Susie though" I say and we both laugh. Thank God he laughed, who says that?! There is a considerable age difference between us, maybe 20 years, it’s the elephant in the room that both of us seem okay with ignoring.

We both pour a drink, sit on the bed, and begin talking. By the fourth glass of wine, I can feel my nerves settle and our conversations have become effortless. I stand to go use the restroom and I watch his eyes follow me; he smirks as I catch him. I feel my hands start to shake as I try to collect myself again. I am so attracted to him, more now as he talks. Our chats are ranging from family life to dreams we have for ourselves. The similarities we both possess of one another in these topics are frightening. As I come out of the bathroom, he is now propped up against the headboard in pajama pants and a white V-neck. He has his glasses pushed up onto his head and quickly takes them off as he spots me around the corner. "I tossed some spare clean clothes on the bed over there if you wanted to get comfortable and stay awhile, I am enjoying our talks," he says in a way that feels like he is begging me to stay longer. I look over onto the bed and I see a white dress shirt and a pair of blue boxers. "You don't mind me wearing this? I wouldn't want to short you a pair of underwear" he laughs, "I overpack, it would be an honor to let you borrow these." I snatch the clothes off the bed, it would feel fantastic to take this bra off. I rush to the bathroom and start to undress. Putting my arm in the sleeve of his dress shirt, I bring it to my nose. Wow, he smells amazing, so clean, this is a huge plus. I come out of the bathroom, now wearing this man's clothes, a complete stranger. We both sit on the bed; he is leaning against the headboard with his legs stretched out on the bed. I am sitting near his knees, legs crossed like I am back in second grade. Our conversations go on, watching his lips as he tells me all sorts of stories. He has no idea how handsome he is, I know this because he bashfully looks away from me when my stare lasts longer than his.

I check the time, it’s now 2:30 am, the time has flown, and I need to be awake by 6 am for the seminar. "Shoot, look at the time! I better go!" I say with sadness in my voice. "How long are you here for?" hoping he is here for as long as I am. "I leave tomorrow morning back to California.". My heart aches, why is my heart aching?! "Oh, well shoot! I wish you could be here at least one more night!" I say trying to conceal my disappointment. "Yes, me too!" he says, failing to conceal his disappointment. "Well, if you would like, you can take my phone number, I have always loved California, maybe one day you can show me around." "Yes! That is a brilliant idea!" he replies with genuine excitement. We exchange phone numbers, I input him as Chris (Hampton, NY), hoping I can change this to something later I will be more familiar with. "Well, good night Chris, I have enjoyed this evening, and you were right, the wine and music were much better!", "good night Susie, I hope you sleep well and I look forward to hearing from you soon.". We hug, I kiss his cheek and turn to leave.

Walking to my room I am on cloud 9. Although it’s so early and I haven't slept, I have so much energy. This has been the best evening I have honestly ever had with someone I barely knew. I reach my room and grab my room key from my clutch. As I enter my room and begin to change into my pajamas, I realize I am still wearing Chris's clothes and my clothes are still in his room. I quickly text him: Chris, Susie here, Thank you again! Also, I just realized I had left with your clothes and left mine in your room. A couple of minutes go by and there is no reply. I text again: Maybe we can exchange goods tomorrow before you leave, just text me when you wake up, sweet dreams.

The morning comes, well, three hours later. I wake, shower, dress, my head is still a little drunk. I think I am drunk both on last night’s encounter with Chris and from the wine he ordered. I check my phone, nothing yet, shoot! That was a nice skirt too. I lay his clothes on the corner of the bed and rush to the seminar that I am now late for. A couple of hours pass and my phone buzzes. A text from Chris, finally: Good morning Susie! Last night was amazing and I want to thank you again for the chance to improve your music and wine experience. I let the front desk know that you would need access to my room before they check me out, your clothes are on the bed, do not worry about mine I have plenty of spare shirts to get me by. I reply: Thank you so much! Have a safe flight! Last night was perfect, thank you again!

The seminar ends, I rush to the front desk and talk to the clerk. She slides me a key with a grin and I feel myself looking at her suspiciously. My key hits his door and as I open the room, I see my clothes folded nicely on the bed. On my skirt there is a note that reads: Susie, something came up and I have to stay another night due to business. How does dinner at Keens Steakhouse sound around 7 pm? I will be at the front counter around 6:45 pm, hope to see you then! - Chris.

Wow, who is this man? I check the time, it is 4:25 pm. I need to shower again; I don't have anything nice to even wear outside of business clothing. Quickly I decide to borrow something from one of my co-workers, Jennifer always has cute stuff, and we are the same size. I rush to Jen's room; explain my situation and she hands me a black dress and slaps my butt and says, "go get it, girl!"

Finally showered and my hair is holding a small curl. I finish my makeup and search for a pair of black panties. I begin to slip into this borrowed dress and realize it is short! Super short! Jennifer! I sigh, just go with it, it's too late now and you do not want to be late. This dress hits about 4 inches above my knee, showing more leg than Chris's boxers last night, where then I still had his shirt to cover more.

As I come down the elevator, I can see him standing near the door, with his back toward me. He is wearing a pair of black slacks, black square-toed shoes, and a white button-down shirt. As the elevator doors close behind me, he turns and looks. His face lights up so bright and I notice the top 4 buttons on his shirt are undone again. I cannot wait to see what is in store for tonight. Last night played out in the most unexpected of ways, there is no way to even predict how this evening will go. All I know is, this is the most excitement I have ever experienced, and I want to feel every minute of it. A trip to California might have to be planned sooner than later.

Love
3

About the Creator

Malani Arnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.